Home / Articles / Commentary / Editor's Note / Editor's Note 6/19/14
Print this Article
Thursday, June 19, 2014 12:01 am

Editor's Note 6/19/14

We cleaned up at the Illinois Press Association annual newspaper awards banquet last week, bringing home the top “general excellence” awards for our division in both advertising and editorial. In addition, we took eight first-place editorial awards. Bruce Rushton won five of those firsts, including the prestigious investigative reporting category for “You drink, you drive, you cruise,” his cover story on the decreasing likelihood of getting caught for drunk driving in Sangamon County. Patrick Yeagle took first for his series of reports on the costs of fracking and Scott Faingold won the feature writing category for his cover, “What makes The Whip Guy™ crack?” Our creative production team of Joe Copley and Dave Hine won the newspaper design category. We hope our readers and advertisers join in our pleasure at this recognition of the whole IT team. –Fletcher Farrar, editor and publisher

Log in to use your Facebook account with

Login With Facebook Account

Recent Activity on IllinoisTimes


  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun
  • Mon