Home / Articles / News / Cap City / AWARDS FOR ALL
Print this Article
Thursday, Feb. 17, 2011 04:26 am


Instead of choosing one person to receive its first annual community service award, the Harriet Tubman Susan B. Anthony Center selected each and every one of its eight nominees to honor at a dinner and awards ceremony held earlier this week.

With live jazz, dancing and comedy to round out the evening, community members thanked the nominees with award certificates for “outstanding community service helping mothers, fathers and children in Springfield.” The nominees were selected by the center’s board members.

Award winners included: Robert Blackwell, regional administrator of the Department of Child and Family Services; Kevin Gamble, Providence College basketball coach and owner of the building which now houses the center; Preston Jackson, artist who created the bronze Race Riot sculpture in Union Square Park; Silas Johnson, pastor of Calvary Baptist Church and President of Nehemiah Expansion, Inc.; Linda Shanklin, Boys and Girls Club board member; Gail Simpson, Ward 2 Springfield alderman; Mike Stratton, executive director of the Springfield Park District; and Doris Turner, Sangamon County board member for District 19.

The Harriet Tubman Susan B. Anthony Center is at 2519 South Grand Avenue. For more information about the center and its activities call 217-670-2113.
Log in to use your Facebook account with

Login With Facebook Account

Recent Activity on IllinoisTimes


  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed