Home / Articles / By Phil Funkenbusch

Top Articles from Phil Funkenbusch

No articles in this section
 
Feature
Thursday, June 3, 2004 12:00 am
Summertime on area stages always seems to hark back to the old days of summer stock -- big tried-and-true musicals, comedies, light fare. That's mostly the case for the summer of 2004, but a fe
Books
Thursday, June 3, 2004 12:00 am
In her last book, Nine Nights on the Windy Tree, Martha Miller introduced Bertha Brannon, a Springfield lawyer who finds herself involved in a mystery. It was a good read, and I was looking for
Performing Art
Thursday, May 13, 2004 12:00 am
Springfield stages are busy these days, with more new and experimental works being staged here than in most communities of comparable size. Here are just a few of the new shows being hatched loc
Performing Art
Thursday, April 29, 2004 12:00 am
The new Center for the Arts is showcasing the talents of its tenants with a gala on Saturday, May 1. Titled "Beyond Our Dream," the fundraiser and celebration features performances running simultaneou
Performing Art
Thursday, April 15, 2004 12:00 am
Forever Plaid, the tuneful show that was an off-Broadway hit in 1990 and has played here several times, is back for two weeks at the Springfield Center for the Arts. The Gordon Productions show, which
Performing Art
Thursday, March 25, 2004 12:00 am
Sacred Heart-Griffin High School this week reprises the musical Children of Eden, which was produced there a few years back and eventually was performed at Muni Opera. The show, which tells the Old Te
Performing Art
Thursday, March 11, 2004 12:00 am
Shakespeare's As You Like It, staged by Michael Savage at Springfield Theatre Centre, concludes its run this weekend, at 8 p.m. Friday and Saturday, March 12-13, and 2 p.m. Sunday, March 13. Utilizin
Performing Art
Thursday, Feb. 26, 2004 12:00 am
When Roxy Group's Swingtime Canteen opens this weekend at the Center for the Arts, many will remember the weekend after 9/11 when this valentine to the World War II-era USO shows first played a
Performing Art
Thursday, Feb. 19, 2004 12:00 am
Auditions for Noel Coward's classic 1925 comedy Hay Fevertake place on Sunday and Monday, Feb. 22-23, at the UIS Studio Theatre from 7 p.m. to 10 p.m. Callbacks are on Tuesday, Feb. 24. The show,

Calendar

  • Mon
    20
  • Tue
    21
  • Wed
    22
  • Thu
    23
  • Fri
    24
  • Sat
    25
  • Sun
    26