IllinoisTimes - Cinemascoping http://illinoistimes.com/articles.sec-141-1-cinemascoping.html Thu, 19 Jul 18 00:00:00 -0500 en hourly 1 Touching “Neighbor” a Vital Reminder http://illinoistimes.com/article-20188-touching-%25E2%2580%259Cneighbor%25E2%2580%259D-a-vital-reminder.html Touching “Neighbor” a Vital Reminder
After seeing Morgan Neville’s wonderful new documentary about children’s television host Fred Rogers, Won’t You Be My Neighbor, I was left with a great many conflicting emotions.  I regret ...]]>
"Uncle Drew" Hits More Shots Than it Misses http://illinoistimes.com/article-20173-uncle-drew-hits-more-shots-than-it-misses.html "Uncle Drew" Hits More Shots Than it Misses
Some films have no purpose other than to entertain. There’s no intent to make a grand political or social statement, the whole goal is to put smiles on faces.  Charles Stone III’s Uncle ...]]>
“RBG” A Revelatory Work of the Modern Icon http://illinoistimes.com/article-20084-%25E2%2580%259Crbg%25E2%2580%259D-a-revelatory-work-of-the-modern-icon.html “RBG” A Revelatory Work of the Modern Icon
“Witch” – “Evildoer”- “Monster” – “Disgrace”- “Vile Human Being” – “Anti-American”All of these words are heard describing Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg at the...]]>
"8" a Dim Echo of "11" http://illinoistimes.com/article-20083-8-a-dim-echo-of-11.html "8" a Dim Echo of "11"
 8 a Dim Echo of 11One of the reasons Stephen Soderbergh’s Ocean’s 11 was such a success is that it contains am effortless sense of cool from a bygone era.  Perfectly cast, George Cloone...]]>
"Infinity War" Rights Itself After Awkward Start http://illinoistimes.com/article-19941-infinity-war-rights-itself-after-awkward-start.html "Infinity War" Rights Itself After Awkward Start
Let’s be honest, directors Anthony and Joe Russo as well as producer Kevin Feige have painted themselves into a corner where Avengers: Infinity War is concerned.  What with an 18 movie run...]]>
Schumer and Bryant Define “Pretty” http://illinoistimes.com/article-19908-schumer-and-bryant-define-%25E2%2580%259Cpretty%25E2%2580%259D.html Schumer and Bryant Define “Pretty”
Abby Kohn and Marc Silverstein’s I Feel Pretty couldn’t be more timely.  Dealing with the issues of body shaming and low self-esteem, both perpetuated by the constant parading of unreali...]]>
Hamm, Script Drive “Beirut” http://illinoistimes.com/article-19909-hamm-script-drive-%25E2%2580%259Cbeirut%25E2%2580%259D.html Hamm, Script Drive “Beirut”
I missed out on the whole Mad Men thing (Yes, I know, shame on me; its on the massive list of things I should watch), so I was unprepared for everything that is Jon Hamm. While I have seen him do...]]>
Ponderous Tone, Pace Sinks "Chappaquiddick" http://illinoistimes.com/article-19866-ponderous-tone-pace-sinks-chappaquiddick.html Ponderous Tone, Pace Sinks "Chappaquiddick"
John Cullen’s Chappaquiddick is a film that’s long overdue.  This recounting of the tragic death of Mary Jo Kopechne and Senator Ted Kennedy’s involvement in it couldn’t be...]]>
Intense Foy Salvages “Unsane” http://illinoistimes.com/article-19822-intense-foy-salvages-%25E2%2580%259Cunsane%25E2%2580%259D.html Intense Foy Salvages “Unsane”
Steven Soderbergh is our most restless director. He’s done all-star epics (Ocean’s 11), socially relevant dramas (Traffic), Oscar-winning features (“Erin Brockovich), experimental films (“Bu...]]>
Tantalizing "Annihilation" Fails to Come Together http://illinoistimes.com/article-19725-tantalizing-annihilation-fails-to-come-together.html Tantalizing "Annihilation" Fails to Come Together
With two films under his belt, it’s obvious that director Alex Garland has a keen eye, is able to create a slowly developing sense of doom and is eager to tackle intriguing sci-fi material.  ...]]>
“15:17” a Well-Intended Misfire http://illinoistimes.com/article-19703-%25E2%2580%259C1517%25E2%2580%259D-a-well-intended-misfire.html “15:17” a Well-Intended Misfire
If good intentions were all that were needed to craft a successful motion picture, Clint Eastwood’s The 15:17 to Paris, would be one of the finest films in the director’s long and storied career. ...]]>
Nonsensical "Paradox" a "Cloverfield" Reject http://illinoistimes.com/article-19675-nonsensical-paradox-a-cloverfield-reject.html Nonsensical "Paradox" a "Cloverfield" Reject
 A funny thing happened amidst the hoopla that was Super Bowl LII.  Netflix ran the first trailer for The Cloverfield Paradox, the next entry in J.J. Abrams unorthodox sci-fi franchise…a...]]>
Runner Goes Nowhere Fast with Cure http://illinoistimes.com/article-19653-runner-goes-nowhere-fast-with-cure.html Runner Goes Nowhere Fast with Cure
While the film adaptations of The Hunger Games took full advantage of the dystopian adventure craze that swept through the youth literature sector, the similarly-plotted Divergent movies petered out...]]>
Robbie Skates for Gold in “I, Tonya” http://illinoistimes.com/article-19606-robbie-skates-for-gold-in-%25E2%2580%259Ci-tonya%25E2%2580%259D.html Robbie Skates for Gold in “I, Tonya”
The saga of Tonya Harding was reality television before the term even existed. As a college student, I remember turning on the news each night as the attack of her rival Nancy Kerrigan was investigate...]]>
Ponderous "Last Key" Crawls Towards Scares http://illinoistimes.com/article-19559-ponderous-last-key-crawls-towards-scares.html Ponderous "Last Key" Crawls Towards Scares
Defying the notion that crisp pacing is essential to the success of any movie, particularly a horror film, Insidious: The Last Key meanders along without a care in the world, seemingly caring not a ...]]>
Compelling "Molly’s Game" Seems Incomplete http://illinoistimes.com/article-19560-compelling-molly%25E2%2580%2599s-game-seems-incomplete.html Compelling "Molly’s Game" Seems Incomplete
More martyr than manipulator, Molly Bloom comes off as a fall gal for the rich and famous in Aaron Sorkin’s directorial debut Molly’s Game, a true-life tale of high rollers, lowlifes, movie star...]]>
“All the Money” Worth All the Trouble http://illinoistimes.com/article-19498-%25E2%2580%259Call-the-money%25E2%2580%259D-worth-all-the-trouble.html “All the Money” Worth All the Trouble
The notion in public relations is that there’s no such thing as bad publicity.  That certainly has been disproven this year what with the many accusations of sexual assault leveled at many i...]]>
"Showman" an Empty Spectacle http://illinoistimes.com/article-19497-showman-an-empty-spectacle.html "Showman" an Empty Spectacle
Director Cecil B. DeMille, amassed a fortune, entertained millions and skewed their perception history with his historical epics.  With King of Kings, The Plainsman, The Buccaneer and many othe...]]>
Veteran Cast Saves Jumanji Redux http://illinoistimes.com/article-19495-veteran-cast-saves-jumanji-redux.html Veteran Cast Saves Jumanji Redux
Reboot, remake, homage, rip-off, call them what you will, films that recycle old ideas have been with us since the early days of cinema.  If it’s successful once on the silver screen, studio...]]>
Passable "Ferdinand" a Sweet, Timely Fable http://illinoistimes.com/article-19496-passable-ferdinand-a-sweet-timely-fable.html Passable "Ferdinand" a Sweet, Timely Fable
Used as a metaphor in The Blind Side and originally seen as a piece of political propaganda, Munro Leaf’s The Story of Ferdinand has been a staple of children’s libraries since the 1940’s, selli...]]>
Winslet Spins Familiar Wheel http://illinoistimes.com/article-19459-winslet-spins-familiar-wheel.html Winslet Spins Familiar Wheel
Ford, Hawks, Hitchcock, Scorsese, Eastwood and Spielberg, as well as too many other filmmakers to count, have returned time and again to familiar themes to explore at various points in their careers...]]>
Performances, Sharp Writing Propel “Three Billboards.” http://illinoistimes.com/article-19410-performances-sharp-writing-propel-%25E2%2580%259Cthree-billboards%25E2%2580%259D.html Performances, Sharp Writing Propel “Three Billboards.”
There’s a righteous anger propelling Martin McDonagh’s Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri and it doesn’t pertain simply to the plight of its main character, grieving mother Mildred Hayes...]]>
Darkness and Light Perfectly Balanced in "Christmas" http://illinoistimes.com/article-19395-darkness-and-light-perfectly-balanced-in-christmas.html Darkness and Light Perfectly Balanced in "Christmas"
A fascinating man with many conflicting attitudes and personae, Charles Dickens was a major celebrity from 1840 until his death in 1870.  His serialized stories were a sensation, captivating r...]]>
Familiar “Daddy’s Home 2” Still Effective http://illinoistimes.com/article-19348-familiar-%25E2%2580%259Cdaddy%25E2%2580%2599s-home-2%25E2%2580%259D-still-effective.html Familiar “Daddy’s Home 2” Still Effective
There’s nothing new in Daddy’s Home 2, something that works to its advantage and detriment. The comedic dynamic between stars Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg, the former doing his patented overgr...]]>
Brothers in Arms - Teller, Hall & Schumann Discuss “Thank You for Your Service.” http://illinoistimes.com/article-19285-brothers-in-arms-teller-hall-schumann-discuss-%25E2%2580%259Cthank-you-for-your-service%25E2%2580%259D.html Brothers in Arms - Teller, Hall & Schumann Discuss “Thank You for Your Service.”
 Imagine that you’ve served nearly three tours of duty in an incredibly dangerous warzone and when you return home, all that you thought you were sure of – your job, the relationship with y...]]>
“The Snowman” – Yes, It is that Bad http://illinoistimes.com/article-19286-%25E2%2580%259Cthe-snowman%25E2%2580%259D-%25E2%2580%2593-yes-it-is-that-bad.html “The Snowman” – Yes, It is that Bad
I ran into someone over the weekend who said to me, “We just came from seeing ‘The Snowman.’ With all the people in it, I didn’t believe it could be as bad as everyone’s saying it is.&nbsp...]]>
Powerful “Thank You” Recounts Vets’ Long Journey Home http://illinoistimes.com/article-19287-powerful-%25E2%2580%259Cthank-you%25E2%2580%259D-recounts-vets%25E2%2580%2599-long-journey-home.html Powerful “Thank You” Recounts Vets’ Long Journey Home
“I’m going to name my son after me so I don’t forget his name.” This is the sort of coping mechanism the veterans in Jason Hall’s impressive debut Thank You for Your Service are forced ...]]>
Chan, Brosnan Drive Smart “Foreigner” http://illinoistimes.com/article-19272-chan-brosnan-drive-smart-%25E2%2580%259Cforeigner%25E2%2580%259D.html Chan, Brosnan Drive Smart “Foreigner”
There’s no question that Jackie Chan has lost a step or three.  Yet, he’s able to do things no normal 63 year-old man should.  You need no computer-generated effects in a Jackie Chan...]]>
Cruise Makes American Made Soar http://illinoistimes.com/article-19228-cruise-makes-american-made-soar.html Cruise Makes American Made Soar
A couple of years ago, an article appeared that claimed that there were no more movies stars.  The contention was that putting any actor or actress’ name above the title didn’t sell tickets a...]]>
"Victoria and Abdul" An Entertaining, History-Lite Exercise http://illinoistimes.com/article-19229-victoria-and-abdul-an-entertaining-history-lite-exercise.html "Victoria and Abdul" An Entertaining, History-Lite Exercise
In 1887, as part of Queen Victoria’s Golden Jubliee, the monarch received two Indian servants to honor the occasion.  One of them was Hafiz Mohammed Abdul Karim, a 14 year old who was the son...]]>