IllinoisTimes - Band Spotlight http://illinoistimes.com/articles.sec-71-1-band-spotlight.html Sat, 29 Apr 17 00:00:00 -0500 en hourly 1 JC Brooks http://illinoistimes.com/article-18582-jc-brooks.html JC Brooks
 A force on the national scene for several years now, what started as a lark with a band called Uptown Sound has morphed into a major career of increasing proportions for JC Brooks. Based out of...]]>
Kofi Baker’s Cream Experience http://illinoistimes.com/article-18558-kofi-baker%25E2%2580%2599s-cream-experience.html Kofi Baker’s Cream Experience
 What does the son of legendary, iconic drummer Ginger Baker do with the drumming gene? He plays music on the drums, and that’s what Kofi Baker does. Beginning with a drumming debut TV experien...]]>
Baaad Boyz http://illinoistimes.com/article-18530-baaad-boyz.html Baaad Boyz
 When music works, it works, and when these bad boys play, they are truly Baaad Boyz. Bandmates Tony Young (vocals), Marcus Taylor (drums), Charles Foxx (bass), Jerry Cole (keyboards) and John Vi...]]>
The Good Companions http://illinoistimes.com/article-18484-the-good-companions.html The Good Companions
 Founded in 2014 “out of a mutual love of good songcraft and honest live performance,” bandmates Colin Helton (guitar, vocals) and Danny Kerwin (bass, vocals) started out, as all good musical...]]>
Andy Logan and the O.C. 75s http://illinoistimes.com/article-18457-andy-logan-and-the-oc-75s.html Andy Logan and the O.C. 75s
If you’ve got a hankering for some electric blues, rock or psychedelic, guitar-based music, look no further than Andy Logan and the O.C. 75s. Mr. Logan, along with John Hussey, his comrade in the 80...]]>
Fireside Relics http://illinoistimes.com/article-18432-fireside-relics.html Fireside Relics
 With the release of Shot Out the Saddle, the second, full-length recording of original material from Fireside Relics, the band looks to “establish themselves as heavy hitters” within the Spr...]]>
Lyman Ellerman and the Cause http://illinoistimes.com/article-18403-lyman-ellerman-and-the-cause.html Lyman Ellerman and the Cause
 Whenever Lyman Ellerman returns to the home turf from his songwriter life in Nashville, Tennessee, be prepared for a full onslaught of original Southern rock tunes done Ellerman-style with an at...]]>
The Emerald Underground http://illinoistimes.com/article-18377-the-emerald-underground.html The Emerald Underground
 Our longest-running Celtic-influenced band continues performing like nobody’s business during the St. Patrick’s Day celebration in Springfield, albeit with a new lineup in action. Though the...]]>
Galen Weston Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-18347-galen-weston-band.html Galen Weston Band
 Blazing a trail from Toronto across the world in the jazz-fusion-blues crossroads of music, Galen Weston is the guy who gets quotes like “a guitar tour de force, the kind they just don’t mak...]]>
Rockin’ Johnny Burgin http://illinoistimes.com/article-18323-rockin%25E2%2580%2599-johnny-burgin.html Rockin’ Johnny Burgin
 A man on the move, Rockin’ Johnny has really been rocking in the past year. He relocated to California from Chicago, toured mainland Europe between Halloween and Christmas, promoted a CD, reco...]]>
Ty Brando http://illinoistimes.com/article-18307-ty-brando.html Ty Brando
 Originally from the Taylorville area, Ty took off for Nashville about 10 years ago with dreams of becoming a songwriter in Music City, U.S.A. By that time, he’d been a writer and performer sin...]]>
Great American Taxi http://illinoistimes.com/article-18275-great-american-taxi.html Great American Taxi
 With a new album out (Dr. Feelgood’s Traveling Medicine Show released on Feb. 3) featuring production work by Tim Carbone of Railroad Earth and new member Arthur Lee Land (guitar, banjo, vocal...]]>
The Loops http://illinoistimes.com/article-18230-the-loops.html The Loops
 After a year of working out the kinks and playing “sparingly” around town, The Loops are now ready to roll onto the local scene in full force. With names you’ll recognize as familiar faces...]]>
Switchback http://illinoistimes.com/article-18202-switchback.html Switchback
 Since 1993, Martin McCormack (bass, vocals) and Brian FitzGerald (guitar, mandolin, vocals), known as the duo Switchback, have released several CDs of Celtic and Americana music and traveled a g...]]>
Ultraviolet http://illinoistimes.com/article-18173-ultraviolet.html Ultraviolet
 Back in 2003, Suzie Stephens decided to get a group together to expand and expose her love of music and performance, creating Ultraviolet in the process. Born a fourth cousin (really) to Bill Mo...]]>
Last Call http://illinoistimes.com/article-18147-last-call.html Last Call
 Filled with years of experience of rocking bars all night long while playing in local bands such as Kicked to the Curb, Zack Fedor and the Backseat Drivers, Piston Broke, Porkpie and the Northen...]]>
Barry Cloyd http://illinoistimes.com/article-18128-barry-cloyd.html Barry Cloyd
 A talented, hardworking artist of stature, this Peoria native plays steady all year, making a living making music, and he does it by making people feel good. A versatile, multi-instrumentalist o...]]>
Hipbone Sam Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-18096-hipbone-sam-band.html Hipbone Sam Band
 After nearly eight years of playing and racking up almost 1,000 shows, the Hipbone Sam Band is ceasing their seemingly ceaseless touring schedule with a final performance on New Year’s Day. Du...]]>
Attic Salt http://illinoistimes.com/article-18068-attic-salt.html Attic Salt
 Emerging from the remnants of several Springfield punk-pop-rock bands comes Andy Harmon, Alyssa Currie, Fred Malcom and Cory VanMeter to become a group self-described as, “pop, dusty, indie ro...]]>
Juke House http://illinoistimes.com/article-18040-juke-house.html Juke House
 Five longtime, local musicians by the names of Brian Moore (lead vocals, sax), Tim Bahn (piano, vocals), Mark Sanders (drums), Mike Lang (bass) and Manley Mallard (guitar) got together after Bri...]]>
Paul Barrere and Fred Tackett http://illinoistimes.com/article-17997-paul-barrere-and-fred-tackett.html Paul Barrere and Fred Tackett
 As their promo blurb says, these guys “are guitar players. In fact, they are guitar players with the legendary band Little Feat,” and from there, the blurb goes on describing the incredible...]]>
Big Bad Blues Machine featuring Hurricane Ruth LaMaster http://illinoistimes.com/article-17951-big-bad-blues-machine-featuring-hurricane-ruth-lamaster.html Big Bad Blues Machine featuring Hurricane Ruth LaMaster
This marks the second annual reunion show with Hurricane Ruth and the Big Bad Blues Machine, but this one is special. Last January the BBBM lost “our brother in music” Tom Poludniak, a Springfield...]]>
Big Sandy and His Fly-Rite Boys http://illinoistimes.com/article-17924-big-sandy-and-his-fly-rite-boys.html Big Sandy and His Fly-Rite Boys
 On the trail of making marvelous music since 1988, Robert “Big Sandy” Williams brings the boys back to town one more time for a go around the stage. The 2016 tour takes the fellers across th...]]>
The Kitchens http://illinoistimes.com/article-17896-the-kitchens.html The Kitchens
 This father and daughter singing and music-making team covers more ground in gigs played, recordings made and joy displayed than about any other combo in town. Al has been a stalwart in the area...]]>
Anna Fermin’s Trigger Gospel http://illinoistimes.com/article-17883-anna-fermin%25E2%2580%2599s-trigger-gospel.html Anna Fermin’s Trigger Gospel
 She’s been called “the voice of Chicago” and “one of Chicago’s most treasured voices” by respectable critics in the Windy City, and this charming, Americana-based singer-songwriter i...]]>
The Lustre Kings http://illinoistimes.com/article-17853-the-lustre-kings.html The Lustre Kings
 Hailing from Albany, New York, this hot-time trio plays rock and roll the way it was invented to be done. Mark Gamsjager is the lifeblood of the band and totes his Gretsch, the rockabilly guitar...]]>
OddsLane http://illinoistimes.com/article-17833-oddslane.html OddsLane
 This St. Louis-based contemporary duo started out as a musical vehicle for songwriters Doug Byrkit (guitar, vocals) and Brian Zielie (drums) to express songs that had no outlet in their other mu...]]>
The Black Lillies http://illinoistimes.com/article-17811-the-black-lillies.html The Black Lillies
 Roaring out of Knoxville, Tenn., in 2009, this award-winning, Americana-styled, country-flavored, sweet-rockin’ band hit the road hard, including shows at Bonnaroo, Ryman Auditorium, Grand Ole...]]>
Waterloo German Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-17776-waterloo-german-band.html Waterloo German Band
 Based out of Waterloo in Monroe County, the Waterloo German Band began in 1939 then fell apart during the war for obvious reasons. By 1952, Waterloo resident and U.S. Marine Harry Wolf got the b...]]>
Wonky Tonk http://illinoistimes.com/article-17748-wonky-tonk.html Wonky Tonk
 Raised in Kentucky with side trips to Denmark and Montana, this one-woman band of gypsies landed in Cincinnati where she established herself as a potent force in the local kinda-country scene. B...]]>