IllinoisTimes - Band Spotlight http://illinoistimes.com/articles.sec-71-1-band-spotlight.html Sat, 01 Oct 16 00:00:00 -0500 en hourly 1 Wonky Tonk http://illinoistimes.com/article-17748-wonky-tonk.html Wonky Tonk
 Raised in Kentucky with side trips to Denmark and Montana, this one-woman band of gypsies landed in Cincinnati where she established herself as a potent force in the local kinda-country scene. B...]]>
Black Queen http://illinoistimes.com/article-17724-black-queen.html Black Queen
 Back in 2009 when Caleb Smith showed up at an open mic run by Bruce Williams and sang Queen songs, the two self-described “huge fans” of the supergroup decided to start a tribute band. They...]]>
Wilderness Alive http://illinoistimes.com/article-17708-wilderness-alive.html Wilderness Alive
 An emo-indie-alternative rock band out of Nashville, Tenn., this quartet of Peyton Rodeffer (vocals, guitar), Sean Jensen (bass), Dagan Crews (drums, vocals) and Andy Pollitt (guitar) started as...]]>
The Deep Hollow http://illinoistimes.com/article-17674-the-deep-hollow.html The Deep Hollow
 Since the inception of this harmony-driven, original music acoustic trio of Micah Walk, Elizabeth Eckert and Dave Littrell, the attraction between audience and act was obvious and powerful. Also...]]>
The Junior Varsity http://illinoistimes.com/article-17630-the-junior-varsity.html The Junior Varsity
 From 2002-07, The Junior Varsity (Asa Dawson of Griggsville, Andy Wildrick of Jacksonville, Sergio Coronado of Danville, Nick Dodson of Jacksonville and Chris Birch of Edwardsville) joined force...]]>
Pat Travers Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-17608-pat-travers-band.html Pat Travers Band
Known for decades as one of the premier rock guitarists of a generation, Pat Travers has done it all and just keeps doing it. Best known to the masses as the hit maker of “Boom Boom (Out Go The Ligh...]]>
Selector Dub Narcotic http://illinoistimes.com/article-17570-selector-dub-narcotic.html Selector Dub Narcotic
 Calvin Johnson, who will perform this Wednesday as Selector Dub Narcotic, has had a lasting influence on independent and underground music that is hard to overestimate. Beginning way back in 198...]]>
The Cell Phones http://illinoistimes.com/article-17545-the-cell-phones.html The Cell Phones
 Rolling in from Chicagoland to promote their sophomore release, No, out this fall on No Trend Records, this “extreme pop power” trio stakes claim to playing “aggressive rock and roll with...]]>
Sally Barris http://illinoistimes.com/article-17523-sally-barris.html Sally Barris
 A Minnesota native, this class act singer and songwriter moved to Nashville many years ago and carved out a comfortable niche as a personality, performer and writer. With her songs covered by th...]]>
Kelsey Hickman http://illinoistimes.com/article-17504-kelsey-hickman.html Kelsey Hickman
 From her days as a teenage singer fronting Still Kickin’, the popular Midwest band based out of Springfield, Kelsey Hickman seemed poised for stardom. After Still Kickin’ split in 2013, Kels...]]>
Reed Turchi & The Caterwauls http://illinoistimes.com/article-17469-reed-turchi-the-caterwauls.html Reed Turchi & The Caterwauls
 Native of the Asheville, North Carolina, Swannanoa Valley area, Reed Turchi grew up playing boogie-woogie blues piano, became infatuated with the slide guitar sounds of Northern Mississippi and...]]>
Rockin’ Johnny Burgin & Aki Kumar http://illinoistimes.com/article-17446-rockin%25E2%2580%2599-johnny-burgin-aki-kumar.html Rockin’ Johnny Burgin & Aki Kumar
 A true dynamic duo, Rockin’ Johnny Burgin and Aki Kumar come ready to play at the weekly Blue Monday jam hosted by our Illinois Central Blues Club. Johnny has graced us before with his peculia...]]>
The Suburban Mystics http://illinoistimes.com/article-17436-the-suburban-mystics.html The Suburban Mystics
 Formed by friends interested in playing interesting music together, this local Springfield group includes members of such renowned area bands as The Aspect, Mr. Opporknockity, Winky and the Love...]]>
The Dead Hands http://illinoistimes.com/article-17403-the-dead-hands.html The Dead Hands
 These Chicago guys got a good start in the business by winning WGN’s Breakthrough Band competition in 2014 with their first single, “Grind Your Teeth.” After spending 2015 promoting and pl...]]>
Joel DaSilva & the Midnight Howl http://illinoistimes.com/article-17364-joel-dasilva-the-midnight-howl.html Joel DaSilva & the Midnight Howl
 Using Chicago and Florida as home bases, this traveling, genre-hopping roots rocker is calling the road home these last few months. Fresh from an Alamo Blue Monday show, Joel and the boys made a...]]>
New City Road http://illinoistimes.com/article-17352-new-city-road.html New City Road
 Named after a blacktop south of town heading out to the country through New City, this band is like family to each other and plays to the crowd with the dedication and closeness of relatives. Wi...]]>
John Byrne Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-17309-john-byrne-band.html John Byrne Band
 Born in Dublin, Ireland, and now living in Philadelphia, Penn., John Byrne takes Celtic and American music of folk origins and keeps it alive by continuing musical traditions while making it all...]]>
Mark Mills & the Lifesavers http://illinoistimes.com/article-17282-mark-mills-the-lifesavers.html Mark Mills & the Lifesavers
 After years of playing music in cover bands (including the crazy-popular rockabilly group Meerkat Mobsters), Mark Mills decided to do it “his way” and proceeded to knock out a collection of...]]>
Legendary Shack Shakers http://illinoistimes.com/article-17260-legendary-shack-shakers.html Legendary Shack Shakers
 Celebrating 20 years as an entity on the scene, head Shack Shaker J.D. Wilkes (now an official Kentucky colonel as bestowed by the state’s governor) brings his fellow bandmates bassist Mark Ro...]]>
Brandon Santini http://illinoistimes.com/article-17232-brandon-santini.html Brandon Santini
 When he was 15 years old, this North Carolina native bought a harmonica after asking his mom to take him to a music store, and, as they say, the rest is history. Several years ago Brandon Santin...]]>
Bob Zany http://illinoistimes.com/article-17191-bob-zany.html Bob Zany
 Not only is he not a band, Bob Zany isn’t even a musician. However, he is one of the funniest guys on the planet, and he’s coming to a comedy club near you (about 43 minutes away in Mason Ci...]]>
Eilen Jewell http://illinoistimes.com/article-17164-eilen-jewell.html Eilen Jewell
 Sporting a lyrically and physically captivating voice and backed by a band producing rockabilly, Americana and folk-influenced sounds, Eilen Jewell is a treasure of song, patiently waiting to be...]]>
The Mix http://illinoistimes.com/article-17143-the-mix.html The Mix
 Back in January of 2014 plans were made to develop a band capable of knocking out current and popular radio dance hits live, without tracks. Band founder Pete Jeffers (drums) was joined by Ed Bo...]]>
2 Tenutos as The Joey Tenuto Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-17103-2-tenutos-as-the-joey-tenuto-band.html 2 Tenutos as The Joey Tenuto Band
 Many of us blues-rock fans and fans of other music will remember a fiery guitarist and singer from the Springfield area named Joe Tenuto who played the scene back in the day. Big, blonde Joe mov...]]>
King Neptune Blues http://illinoistimes.com/article-17088-king-neptune-blues.html King Neptune Blues
 Mr. Neptune began studying classical music in Philadelphia before being bitten by the blues bug via Blind Blake. He applied his years of studies of the classics to arranging and learning the blu...]]>
Livin’ Thing http://illinoistimes.com/article-17053-livin%25E2%2580%2599-thing.html Livin’ Thing
 Another creative, hard-hitting, pull-no-punches band from Springfield’s continuously burgeoning punk-and-DIY scene knocks off a cool show and record release event. Livin’ Thing is putting ou...]]>
Kickapoo Junction http://illinoistimes.com/article-17006-kickapoo-junction.html Kickapoo Junction
 Rolling down the line from Peoria way comes a central Illinois standard-bearer of modern country with a promise of “going full throttle to bring their high-energy, rockin’ country show to a...]]>
Matt Poss Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-16977-matt-poss-band.html Matt Poss Band
 For more than a decade, this band of musical brothers from the Effingham area have pounded the pavement and graced the stage to bring their proven and provocative mix of country, bluegrass, rock...]]>
Deep Lunar Blue http://illinoistimes.com/article-16951-deep-lunar-blue.html Deep Lunar Blue
 When a group calls itself an “American rock band from Springfield, Illinois” on their website’s homepage, you know they better mean it. Deep Lunar Blue has been setting a standard of origi...]]>
The Emerald Underground http://illinoistimes.com/article-16906-the-emerald-underground.html The Emerald Underground
 As witnessed above, this is definitely the busiest band in Celtic show business during the St. Patrick’s Day celebrations in Springfield. 2016 marks the 15th year in the existence of The Emera...]]>