IllinoisTimes - Band Spotlight http://illinoistimes.com/articles.sec-71-1-band-spotlight.html Sat, 29 Aug 15 00:00:00 -0500 en hourly 1 GirlBilly http://illinoistimes.com/article-16066-girlbilly.html GirlBilly
 When two attractive, talented, ambitious and nice girls meet up in Nashville by coincidence and hit it off immediately, what should they do? Start a duo and take the entertainment world by storm...]]>
2nd Chance Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-16034-2nd-chance-band.html 2nd Chance Band
 When you get a second chance you best make the most of it, and longtime local musicians Doug Bernet (drums), Marc Camp (vocals), Ralph Carbonell (guitar, vocals), Tom Jackson (bass, vocals) and...]]>
The Shunpikers http://illinoistimes.com/article-15993-the-shunpikers.html The Shunpikers
 Originally formed in late 2013 as a one-time get-together of friends to play a benefit show, The Shunpikers hit it off so well they just kept going. Current bandmates include area stalwarts of t...]]>
Broseph E. Lee http://illinoistimes.com/article-15967-broseph-e-lee.html Broseph E. Lee
 On the move and in the groove, this six-piece, self-proclaimed “country-rock” band covers contemporary and country classics, but what really sets Broseph E. Lee apart is their catchy songwri...]]>
The Cadillac Three http://illinoistimes.com/article-15934-the-cadillac-three.html The Cadillac Three
Hailing from the other side of the tracks in Nashville, the long-haired trio of Jaren Johnston (lead vocals, guitar), Kelby Ray (bass guitar, Dobro, acoustic guitar, vocals) and Neil Mason (drums, voc...]]>
The Way Down Wanderers http://illinoistimes.com/article-15900-the-way-down-wanderers.html The Way Down Wanderers
 Originally from Peoria and now based out of Chicago, this active and alternative folk quintet is on the move. Bandmates Austin Thompson (vocals, guitar), Collin Krause (vocals, mandolin, violin,...]]>
Anni Piper http://illinoistimes.com/article-15868-anni-piper.html Anni Piper
 This bass-playing, award-winning, world-traveling blues vocalist recently relocated from her native Australia to Cocoa Beach, Florida, all the while continuing her scorching career in the world...]]>
Broadside http://illinoistimes.com/article-15855-broadside.html Broadside
 Formed in 2010 in Richmond, Virginia, Broadside took the time to cultivate, promulgate and perpetuate music worth hearing and a concert worth seeing. Recently signed to Chicago’s Victory Recor...]]>
Bacon and bands http://illinoistimes.com/article-15856-bacon-and-bands.html Bacon and bands
 Here’s a delectable new festival that we’re excited to see in the streets of downtown Springfield: the first annual Downtown Bacon Throwdown and Music Fest, hosted by Downtown Springfield, I...]]>
10 Years http://illinoistimes.com/article-15808-10-years.html 10 Years
Formed in Knoxville, Tenn., some ten years ago, 10 Years is a hard-working, hard-rocking, hard-playing band out to conquer the world on their own terms. Hitting the road to promote Birth and Burial, t...]]>
New City Road http://illinoistimes.com/article-15786-new-city-road.html New City Road
 Named after a well-traveled country blacktop south of Springfield, New City Road likes to mix it up with the audience, combining showmanship and comradeship of the band to reach listeners and br...]]>
Modern Superstar http://illinoistimes.com/article-15729-modern-superstar.html Modern Superstar
 Formed in 2010 from various musicians touring the same rock-band circuit, Modern Superstar features members from Chicago, Ohio, Florida, Kentucky and right here in Springfield. No strangers to t...]]>
F5 http://illinoistimes.com/article-15616-f5.html F5
 Here’s one F5 central Illinois can be happy about seeing again, as the extremely popular band of some years ago rekindles the magic to bring back the sounds that filled dance floors at bars, f...]]>
Piston Broke http://illinoistimes.com/article-15577-piston-broke.html Piston Broke
 How nice is it that a band with five members each bringing decades of music-making experience to the fold has a debut performance? Members come with nicknames included, as Jeff “Drum Junkie”...]]>
Unity the Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-15543-unity-the-band.html Unity the Band
 How a native of Fuji ended up playing reggae in an award-winning band all over the Midwest is one part of Unity’s story, but what keeps them coming back to venues is the real story and that’...]]>
Marina V http://illinoistimes.com/article-15478-marina-v.html Marina V
 Always on the move and in the groove, Russian-born, singer-songwriter-keyboardist Marina V stops in town to perform her expressive, original songs. As a high-schooler in Moscow, she won a contes...]]>
Frank’s Discount Lounge Act http://illinoistimes.com/article-15448-frank%25E2%2580%2599s-discount-lounge-act.html Frank’s Discount Lounge Act
 Remember those entertainment relics called “lounge singers” who could somewhat sleazily, but mostly cheesily, easily charm the pants off a mannequin? Bill Murray famously portrayed one in th...]]>
Big Sandy & His Fly-Rite Boys http://illinoistimes.com/article-15418-big-sandy-his-fly-rite-boys.html Big Sandy & His Fly-Rite Boys
 Big Sandy is no stranger to Springfield, and you can bet in his 25-plus years of travels with the Fly-Rite Boys this guy made some stops across the country. A frequent guest of Sangamon Valley R...]]>
Dwayne Dopsie and the Zydeco Hellraisers http://illinoistimes.com/article-15385-dwayne-dopsie-and-the-zydeco-hellraisers.html Dwayne Dopsie and the Zydeco Hellraisers
 Son of the legendary accordion player and Zydeco master Rockin’ Dopsie Sr., Dwayne “Dopsie” Rubin comes by his heritage honestly. He knows how to make a party happen whether on his Europea...]]>
The Boxmasters http://illinoistimes.com/article-15355-the-boxmasters.html The Boxmasters
 So you’ve never heard of a band called The Boxmasters? How about an actor known as Billy Bob Thornton? Ah, there we go. He’s in the band as singer and shaker, making the group an accessible ...]]>
Arlin Peebles http://illinoistimes.com/article-15317-arlin-peebles.html Arlin Peebles
 Arlin Peebles has composed songs and played in bands (Cleanray, Young Loves) for nearly two decades and spent the last eight or so years working on songs that made it onto his first solo release...]]>
Chris Bradley & Jennifer Hood http://illinoistimes.com/article-15284-chris-bradley-jennifer-hood.html Chris Bradley & Jennifer Hood
 In an unpredictable world, it’s so nice to hear a pair of studied and stellar music makers playing good songs well. Jen learned her singing lessons bluegrass song-style, at home from the famil...]]>
Supersuckers http://illinoistimes.com/article-15256-supersuckers.html Supersuckers
 By calling themselves the “Greatest Rock-n-Roll Band in the World” these guys don’t lack in confidence or go much for modesty, but without mustering bluster and blasting out the jams, thes...]]>
Iron Orchard http://illinoistimes.com/article-15240-iron-orchard.html Iron Orchard
 Claiming to come from a “downtrodden region of Illinois known as Forgottonia” that others might call Western Illinois (Macomb to be more specific), this hard-hitting quartet is out to set th...]]>
The Emerald Underground http://illinoistimes.com/article-15203-the-emerald-underground.html The Emerald Underground
 Of all the Celtic-influenced bands now in the Springfield area, The Emerald Underground was the first on the scene way back in 2002. Then called Stone Ring Circle, the group debuted 14 years ago...]]>
Dexter O’Neal and Funk Yard http://illinoistimes.com/article-15171-dexter-o%25E2%2580%2599neal-and-funk-yard.html Dexter O’Neal and Funk Yard
 Currently based out of Peoria, singer-guitarist-performer Dexter O’Neal was born in Ferriday, La. His earliest musical memories are from that area, singing in one room churches with his grandm...]]>
The Tossers http://illinoistimes.com/article-15155-the-tossers.html The Tossers
 Boasting the largest population of Irish descendents in the Midwest, Chicago’s a good place to come from if your thing is playing Irish music. That’s exactly the case for The Tossers, a sout...]]>
RJ Mischo & His Red Hot Blues Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-15113-rj-mischo-his-red-hot-blues-band.html RJ Mischo & His Red Hot Blues Band
 RJ Mischo is nothing short of a phenomenon. He’s traveled the globe for more than 20 years as a touring blues artist, released nine internationally distributed CDs and played on an additional ...]]>
DJ Hish http://illinoistimes.com/article-15085-dj-hish.html DJ Hish
This may be the first (and possibly the last) time an official record-spinning, mix-making, beat-inducing DJ makes our band spotlight. But DJ Hish does something different than most mixers out there:...]]>
Kilborn Alley Blues Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-15062-kilborn-alley-blues-band.html Kilborn Alley Blues Band
 The blues came to visit a young Andrew Duncanson, and he answered the call of the crossroads. In high school, the singing blues guitarist’s chance meeting with Josh Stimmel over a Jimi Hendrix...]]>