IllinoisTimes - Band Spotlight http://illinoistimes.com/articles.sec-71-1-band-spotlight.html Wed, 07 Dec 16 00:00:00 -0600 en hourly 1 Paul Barrere and Fred Tackett http://illinoistimes.com/article-17997-paul-barrere-and-fred-tackett.html Paul Barrere and Fred Tackett
 As their promo blurb says, these guys “are guitar players. In fact, they are guitar players with the legendary band Little Feat,” and from there, the blurb goes on describing the incredible...]]>
Big Bad Blues Machine featuring Hurricane Ruth LaMaster http://illinoistimes.com/article-17951-big-bad-blues-machine-featuring-hurricane-ruth-lamaster.html Big Bad Blues Machine featuring Hurricane Ruth LaMaster
This marks the second annual reunion show with Hurricane Ruth and the Big Bad Blues Machine, but this one is special. Last January the BBBM lost “our brother in music” Tom Poludniak, a Springfield...]]>
Big Sandy and His Fly-Rite Boys http://illinoistimes.com/article-17924-big-sandy-and-his-fly-rite-boys.html Big Sandy and His Fly-Rite Boys
 On the trail of making marvelous music since 1988, Robert “Big Sandy” Williams brings the boys back to town one more time for a go around the stage. The 2016 tour takes the fellers across th...]]>
The Kitchens http://illinoistimes.com/article-17896-the-kitchens.html The Kitchens
 This father and daughter singing and music-making team covers more ground in gigs played, recordings made and joy displayed than about any other combo in town. Al has been a stalwart in the area...]]>
Anna Fermin’s Trigger Gospel http://illinoistimes.com/article-17883-anna-fermin%25E2%2580%2599s-trigger-gospel.html Anna Fermin’s Trigger Gospel
 She’s been called “the voice of Chicago” and “one of Chicago’s most treasured voices” by respectable critics in the Windy City, and this charming, Americana-based singer-songwriter i...]]>
The Lustre Kings http://illinoistimes.com/article-17853-the-lustre-kings.html The Lustre Kings
 Hailing from Albany, New York, this hot-time trio plays rock and roll the way it was invented to be done. Mark Gamsjager is the lifeblood of the band and totes his Gretsch, the rockabilly guitar...]]>
OddsLane http://illinoistimes.com/article-17833-oddslane.html OddsLane
 This St. Louis-based contemporary duo started out as a musical vehicle for songwriters Doug Byrkit (guitar, vocals) and Brian Zielie (drums) to express songs that had no outlet in their other mu...]]>
The Black Lillies http://illinoistimes.com/article-17811-the-black-lillies.html The Black Lillies
 Roaring out of Knoxville, Tenn., in 2009, this award-winning, Americana-styled, country-flavored, sweet-rockin’ band hit the road hard, including shows at Bonnaroo, Ryman Auditorium, Grand Ole...]]>
Waterloo German Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-17776-waterloo-german-band.html Waterloo German Band
 Based out of Waterloo in Monroe County, the Waterloo German Band began in 1939 then fell apart during the war for obvious reasons. By 1952, Waterloo resident and U.S. Marine Harry Wolf got the b...]]>
Wonky Tonk http://illinoistimes.com/article-17748-wonky-tonk.html Wonky Tonk
 Raised in Kentucky with side trips to Denmark and Montana, this one-woman band of gypsies landed in Cincinnati where she established herself as a potent force in the local kinda-country scene. B...]]>
Black Queen http://illinoistimes.com/article-17724-black-queen.html Black Queen
 Back in 2009 when Caleb Smith showed up at an open mic run by Bruce Williams and sang Queen songs, the two self-described “huge fans” of the supergroup decided to start a tribute band. They...]]>
Wilderness Alive http://illinoistimes.com/article-17708-wilderness-alive.html Wilderness Alive
 An emo-indie-alternative rock band out of Nashville, Tenn., this quartet of Peyton Rodeffer (vocals, guitar), Sean Jensen (bass), Dagan Crews (drums, vocals) and Andy Pollitt (guitar) started as...]]>
The Deep Hollow http://illinoistimes.com/article-17674-the-deep-hollow.html The Deep Hollow
 Since the inception of this harmony-driven, original music acoustic trio of Micah Walk, Elizabeth Eckert and Dave Littrell, the attraction between audience and act was obvious and powerful. Also...]]>
The Junior Varsity http://illinoistimes.com/article-17630-the-junior-varsity.html The Junior Varsity
 From 2002-07, The Junior Varsity (Asa Dawson of Griggsville, Andy Wildrick of Jacksonville, Sergio Coronado of Danville, Nick Dodson of Jacksonville and Chris Birch of Edwardsville) joined force...]]>
Pat Travers Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-17608-pat-travers-band.html Pat Travers Band
Known for decades as one of the premier rock guitarists of a generation, Pat Travers has done it all and just keeps doing it. Best known to the masses as the hit maker of “Boom Boom (Out Go The Ligh...]]>
Selector Dub Narcotic http://illinoistimes.com/article-17570-selector-dub-narcotic.html Selector Dub Narcotic
 Calvin Johnson, who will perform this Wednesday as Selector Dub Narcotic, has had a lasting influence on independent and underground music that is hard to overestimate. Beginning way back in 198...]]>
The Cell Phones http://illinoistimes.com/article-17545-the-cell-phones.html The Cell Phones
 Rolling in from Chicagoland to promote their sophomore release, No, out this fall on No Trend Records, this “extreme pop power” trio stakes claim to playing “aggressive rock and roll with...]]>
Sally Barris http://illinoistimes.com/article-17523-sally-barris.html Sally Barris
 A Minnesota native, this class act singer and songwriter moved to Nashville many years ago and carved out a comfortable niche as a personality, performer and writer. With her songs covered by th...]]>
Kelsey Hickman http://illinoistimes.com/article-17504-kelsey-hickman.html Kelsey Hickman
 From her days as a teenage singer fronting Still Kickin’, the popular Midwest band based out of Springfield, Kelsey Hickman seemed poised for stardom. After Still Kickin’ split in 2013, Kels...]]>
Reed Turchi & The Caterwauls http://illinoistimes.com/article-17469-reed-turchi-the-caterwauls.html Reed Turchi & The Caterwauls
 Native of the Asheville, North Carolina, Swannanoa Valley area, Reed Turchi grew up playing boogie-woogie blues piano, became infatuated with the slide guitar sounds of Northern Mississippi and...]]>
Rockin’ Johnny Burgin & Aki Kumar http://illinoistimes.com/article-17446-rockin%25E2%2580%2599-johnny-burgin-aki-kumar.html Rockin’ Johnny Burgin & Aki Kumar
 A true dynamic duo, Rockin’ Johnny Burgin and Aki Kumar come ready to play at the weekly Blue Monday jam hosted by our Illinois Central Blues Club. Johnny has graced us before with his peculia...]]>
The Suburban Mystics http://illinoistimes.com/article-17436-the-suburban-mystics.html The Suburban Mystics
 Formed by friends interested in playing interesting music together, this local Springfield group includes members of such renowned area bands as The Aspect, Mr. Opporknockity, Winky and the Love...]]>
The Dead Hands http://illinoistimes.com/article-17403-the-dead-hands.html The Dead Hands
 These Chicago guys got a good start in the business by winning WGN’s Breakthrough Band competition in 2014 with their first single, “Grind Your Teeth.” After spending 2015 promoting and pl...]]>
Joel DaSilva & the Midnight Howl http://illinoistimes.com/article-17364-joel-dasilva-the-midnight-howl.html Joel DaSilva & the Midnight Howl
 Using Chicago and Florida as home bases, this traveling, genre-hopping roots rocker is calling the road home these last few months. Fresh from an Alamo Blue Monday show, Joel and the boys made a...]]>
New City Road http://illinoistimes.com/article-17352-new-city-road.html New City Road
 Named after a blacktop south of town heading out to the country through New City, this band is like family to each other and plays to the crowd with the dedication and closeness of relatives. Wi...]]>
John Byrne Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-17309-john-byrne-band.html John Byrne Band
 Born in Dublin, Ireland, and now living in Philadelphia, Penn., John Byrne takes Celtic and American music of folk origins and keeps it alive by continuing musical traditions while making it all...]]>
Mark Mills & the Lifesavers http://illinoistimes.com/article-17282-mark-mills-the-lifesavers.html Mark Mills & the Lifesavers
 After years of playing music in cover bands (including the crazy-popular rockabilly group Meerkat Mobsters), Mark Mills decided to do it “his way” and proceeded to knock out a collection of...]]>
Legendary Shack Shakers http://illinoistimes.com/article-17260-legendary-shack-shakers.html Legendary Shack Shakers
 Celebrating 20 years as an entity on the scene, head Shack Shaker J.D. Wilkes (now an official Kentucky colonel as bestowed by the state’s governor) brings his fellow bandmates bassist Mark Ro...]]>
Brandon Santini http://illinoistimes.com/article-17232-brandon-santini.html Brandon Santini
 When he was 15 years old, this North Carolina native bought a harmonica after asking his mom to take him to a music store, and, as they say, the rest is history. Several years ago Brandon Santin...]]>
Bob Zany http://illinoistimes.com/article-17191-bob-zany.html Bob Zany
 Not only is he not a band, Bob Zany isn’t even a musician. However, he is one of the funniest guys on the planet, and he’s coming to a comedy club near you (about 43 minutes away in Mason Ci...]]>