IllinoisTimes - Band Spotlight http://illinoistimes.com/articles.sec-71-1-band-spotlight.html Tue, 28 Jun 16 00:00:00 -0500 en hourly 1 Joel DaSilva & the Midnight Howl http://illinoistimes.com/article-17364-joel-dasilva-the-midnight-howl.html Joel DaSilva & the Midnight Howl
 Using Chicago and Florida as home bases, this traveling, genre-hopping roots rocker is calling the road home these last few months. Fresh from an Alamo Blue Monday show, Joel and the boys made a...]]>
New City Road http://illinoistimes.com/article-17352-new-city-road.html New City Road
 Named after a blacktop south of town heading out to the country through New City, this band is like family to each other and plays to the crowd with the dedication and closeness of relatives. Wi...]]>
John Byrne Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-17309-john-byrne-band.html John Byrne Band
 Born in Dublin, Ireland, and now living in Philadelphia, Penn., John Byrne takes Celtic and American music of folk origins and keeps it alive by continuing musical traditions while making it all...]]>
Mark Mills & the Lifesavers http://illinoistimes.com/article-17282-mark-mills-the-lifesavers.html Mark Mills & the Lifesavers
 After years of playing music in cover bands (including the crazy-popular rockabilly group Meerkat Mobsters), Mark Mills decided to do it “his way” and proceeded to knock out a collection of...]]>
Legendary Shack Shakers http://illinoistimes.com/article-17260-legendary-shack-shakers.html Legendary Shack Shakers
 Celebrating 20 years as an entity on the scene, head Shack Shaker J.D. Wilkes (now an official Kentucky colonel as bestowed by the state’s governor) brings his fellow bandmates bassist Mark Ro...]]>
Brandon Santini http://illinoistimes.com/article-17232-brandon-santini.html Brandon Santini
 When he was 15 years old, this North Carolina native bought a harmonica after asking his mom to take him to a music store, and, as they say, the rest is history. Several years ago Brandon Santin...]]>
Bob Zany http://illinoistimes.com/article-17191-bob-zany.html Bob Zany
 Not only is he not a band, Bob Zany isn’t even a musician. However, he is one of the funniest guys on the planet, and he’s coming to a comedy club near you (about 43 minutes away in Mason Ci...]]>
Eilen Jewell http://illinoistimes.com/article-17164-eilen-jewell.html Eilen Jewell
 Sporting a lyrically and physically captivating voice and backed by a band producing rockabilly, Americana and folk-influenced sounds, Eilen Jewell is a treasure of song, patiently waiting to be...]]>
The Mix http://illinoistimes.com/article-17143-the-mix.html The Mix
 Back in January of 2014 plans were made to develop a band capable of knocking out current and popular radio dance hits live, without tracks. Band founder Pete Jeffers (drums) was joined by Ed Bo...]]>
2 Tenutos as The Joey Tenuto Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-17103-2-tenutos-as-the-joey-tenuto-band.html 2 Tenutos as The Joey Tenuto Band
 Many of us blues-rock fans and fans of other music will remember a fiery guitarist and singer from the Springfield area named Joe Tenuto who played the scene back in the day. Big, blonde Joe mov...]]>
King Neptune Blues http://illinoistimes.com/article-17088-king-neptune-blues.html King Neptune Blues
 Mr. Neptune began studying classical music in Philadelphia before being bitten by the blues bug via Blind Blake. He applied his years of studies of the classics to arranging and learning the blu...]]>
Livin’ Thing http://illinoistimes.com/article-17053-livin%25E2%2580%2599-thing.html Livin’ Thing
 Another creative, hard-hitting, pull-no-punches band from Springfield’s continuously burgeoning punk-and-DIY scene knocks off a cool show and record release event. Livin’ Thing is putting ou...]]>
Kickapoo Junction http://illinoistimes.com/article-17006-kickapoo-junction.html Kickapoo Junction
 Rolling down the line from Peoria way comes a central Illinois standard-bearer of modern country with a promise of “going full throttle to bring their high-energy, rockin’ country show to a...]]>
Matt Poss Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-16977-matt-poss-band.html Matt Poss Band
 For more than a decade, this band of musical brothers from the Effingham area have pounded the pavement and graced the stage to bring their proven and provocative mix of country, bluegrass, rock...]]>
Deep Lunar Blue http://illinoistimes.com/article-16951-deep-lunar-blue.html Deep Lunar Blue
 When a group calls itself an “American rock band from Springfield, Illinois” on their website’s homepage, you know they better mean it. Deep Lunar Blue has been setting a standard of origi...]]>
The Emerald Underground http://illinoistimes.com/article-16906-the-emerald-underground.html The Emerald Underground
 As witnessed above, this is definitely the busiest band in Celtic show business during the St. Patrick’s Day celebrations in Springfield. 2016 marks the 15th year in the existence of The Emera...]]>
Dan Baird & Homemade Sin http://illinoistimes.com/article-16882-dan-baird-homemade-sin.html Dan Baird & Homemade Sin
 Original lead singer, songwriter and rhythm guitarist of popular 80s roots-rock band The Georgia Satellites (Yes, the “Keep your hands to yourself” guys), Dan Baird is a fixture in American...]]>
Ben Bedford http://illinoistimes.com/article-16868-ben-bedford.html Ben Bedford
 A stalwart on the local scene while playing folk music on regional, national and international levels, Springfield-based singer-songwriter Ben Bedford writes songs and sings them for folks. The...]]>
Fun DMC http://illinoistimes.com/article-16837-fun-dmc.html Fun DMC
 Take the cover band concept of playing popular songs and combine it with a DJ-style song mashup to make an “oddly entertaining blend of musical alchemy”, and there you have the design behind...]]>
Old Smoke Band with Trina Madonia http://illinoistimes.com/article-16786-old-smoke-band-with-trina-madonia.html Old Smoke Band with Trina Madonia
 Coming from nearby Bloomington to celebrate Old Abe’s birthday, Old Smoke Band invited Springfield’s own Trina Madonia to sing some lead and background vocals for the occasion. Starting out...]]>
Dan Hubbard http://illinoistimes.com/article-16755-dan-hubbard.html Dan Hubbard
 Known to Springfield fans as a headline performer at SOHO festival pasts, as well as other venues with his band The Humadors, Dan Hubbard is on a brand new adventure and invites you to come alon...]]>
SOHI House Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-16724-sohi-house-band.html SOHI House Band
 A Springfield-based, indie-rock group citing heavy influences from the hip-hop, R&B and rap genres, the SOHI House Band plays a rather different role than most local music groups. Signed to...]]>
Hipbone Sam http://illinoistimes.com/article-16689-hipbone-sam.html Hipbone Sam
 Together for over six years now, it’s hard to imagine a time when Hipbone Sam wasn’t on the scene. Bandmates Kevin Hawkins as Hipbone Sam (lead vocals, rhythm guitar), Rick Mari (lead guitar...]]>
Angela Perley & the Howlin Moons http://illinoistimes.com/article-16667-angela-perley-the-howlin-moons.html Angela Perley & the Howlin Moons
 Hailing from Columbus, Ohio and hitting towns all over the Midwest since 2009 with the sound and the fury of a modern American rock and roll band on a mission, Angela Perley (vocals, electric gu...]]>
Lyman Ellerman http://illinoistimes.com/article-16640-lyman-ellerman.html Lyman Ellerman
 Riverton native and current Nashville resident, songwriter, guitarist, vocalist and performer, Lyman Ellerman is a man of many musical talents. The good news for us is that he keeps refining and...]]>
Jackson Taylor and the Sinners http://illinoistimes.com/article-16599-jackson-taylor-and-the-sinners.html Jackson Taylor and the Sinners
Born just outside Austin, Texas, Jackson Taylor spent his formative years traveling and soaking up the sounds of real country music with his migrant worker family. When, as a young man, he made a move...]]>
Lowder & Manning http://illinoistimes.com/article-16585-lowder-manning.html Lowder & Manning
 Considered by many as one of our area’s music-making treasures, Jaigh Lowder and Jill Manning play original songs at an exceptional level of composition and performance. Jaigh’s guitar prowe...]]>
Hospital Job http://illinoistimes.com/article-16543-hospital-job.html Hospital Job
 Yes, there is a punk band from Springfield called Hospital Job. Yes, they’ve toured the U.S. twice and western Europe. Yes, they have plans in the works for a 2016 East Coast tour and dates at...]]>
The Love Hogs http://illinoistimes.com/article-16515-the-love-hogs.html The Love Hogs
 Playing only their second show in 15 years, the legendary Love Hogs return to a Springfield stage after coming out of a pen from the past to play the Downhome Music, Art & Beer Festival last...]]>
Kilborn Alley Blues Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-16485-kilborn-alley-blues-band.html Kilborn Alley Blues Band
 Continuing the terrific run of early Thursday shows at The Alamo, sponsored by the Illinois Central Blues Club and presented by James Armstrong, Kilborn Alley drops in from our neighboring city...]]>