IllinoisTimes - Band Spotlight http://illinoistimes.com/articles.sec-71-1-band-spotlight.html Wed, 27 Aug 14 00:00:00 -0500 en hourly 1 Micah Walk http://illinoistimes.com/article-14346-micah-walk.html Micah Walk
 From his prolific recording output to consistent live music performances in an array of combos, singer-songwriter, guitarist and bandleader Micah Walk is an integral part of making music around ...]]>
Mike Miller http://illinoistimes.com/article-14312-mike-miller.html Mike Miller
 As a founder and longtime member of the popular “trop rock” band Boat Drunks, Mike Miller spends his time making music. He retired from the BDs in 2008 after several successful years, then r...]]>
Clare Dunn http://illinoistimes.com/article-14283-clare-dunn.html Clare Dunn
From her rural raisings in southeast Colorado, farm girl Clare Dunn came out from behind the plow to plant seeds into country music’s field of opportunity. Once, she spent her time driving trucks an...]]>
Captain Geech and the Shrimp Shack Shooters http://illinoistimes.com/article-14252-captain-geech-and-the-shrimp-shack-shooters.html Captain Geech and the Shrimp Shack Shooters
 Born in 2001 from an epiphany reached by J Bird (drums, lead vocals) after watching the 1996 Tom Hanks’ film That Thing You Do!, and raised with the consciousness to please a crowd, especially...]]>
Marina V http://illinoistimes.com/article-14220-marina-v.html Marina V
 From Russia with love comes the irrepressible Marina V (short for Verenikina) dashing across the U.S. with her “C Minor to Shining Sea” summer tour in full swing. Some years ago, the Russian...]]>
Cats on Holiday http://illinoistimes.com/article-14189-cats-on-holiday.html Cats on Holiday
 No doubt one of the most popular hometown bands (if not the one) in Springfield rock history, Cats on Holiday continue to draw big time, some 30 years after conception. The core group...]]>
The Driftaways http://illinoistimes.com/article-14162-the-driftaways.html The Driftaways
 Music travels beyond the boundaries of regions, allowing for things like this: One of the best reggae-influenced bands in the Midwest comes from the St. Louis area. Mixing up a whole bunch of Ja...]]>
Albert Castiglia http://illinoistimes.com/article-14135-albert-castiglia.html Albert Castiglia
 When your break in the blues world comes from being discovered by an iconic character such as the great harmonica man Junior Wells (with Buddy Guy for years), things are just going your way. &nb...]]>
Young Luck http://illinoistimes.com/article-14109-young-luck.html Young Luck
 How lucky it is to be young and in a band! Young Luck began in mid-November of 2012 when Fedor and the Power Trio morphed into a kicking band blowing down the road like a rock ’n’ roll freig...]]>
Tom Keifer http://illinoistimes.com/article-14083-tom-keifer.html Tom Keifer
 Best known as the voice of blues-rock band Cinderella, famed for such cuts as “Nobody’s Fool” and “Don’t Know What You Got,” Tom Keifer began working on his solo album right after th...]]>
Big Guy and the Mob http://illinoistimes.com/article-14055-big-guy-and-the-mob.html Big Guy and the Mob
 What could be more fitting for a Father’s Day weekend show than a band formed by a father and stepson? Mark Bott (lead vocals) and Danny “the Kid” Schroeder (lead guitar), seasoned musicia...]]>
New City Road http://illinoistimes.com/article-13997-new-city-road.html New City Road
 Named after a blacktop south of town, New City Road plays country music of the hot and modern type, keeping the traditions alive while still rockin’. Originally formed a year or so ago, the ba...]]>
Tok http://illinoistimes.com/article-13965-tok.html Tok
 Coming to rock Springfield for the first time, brothers Bryan and Matt Basler make a “power-duo” unlike any other. Voted the best rock band in St. Louis for 2013 by readers of the Riverfront...]]>
Dog of Panic http://illinoistimes.com/article-13931-dog-of-panic.html Dog of Panic
 For five years running, Dan Rohde (guitar, lead vocals), Josh Begue (bass, vocals) and Jesse Miller (drums, vocals) made Dog of Panic one of the area’s most interesting bands. Playing original...]]>
Fallen Angel http://illinoistimes.com/article-13901-fallen-angel.html Fallen Angel
 For the last two years Fallen Angel fell out of sight, but now they’re back, brandishing their proud and proper tribute to the incredibly popular 80’s band Poison for public perusal. Origina...]]>
Pimpin Henry http://illinoistimes.com/article-13819-pimpin-henry.html Pimpin Henry
 Fresh from a refreshing outing at last weekend’s Crowe Fest, Brad Jamison (vocals, bass), Doug Shannon (drums), Dustin Strother (guitar, vocals) and newest member Mike Tash (keys) are on a rol...]]>
Rosie Flores http://illinoistimes.com/article-13794-rosie-flores.html Rosie Flores
 A frequent visitor to Springfield since her appearance at The Alley in the early days of the Sangamon Valley Roots Revival, Rosie Flores never makes it back soon enough. The “Rockabilly Filly�...]]>
Wicked Walls http://illinoistimes.com/article-13762-wicked-walls.html Wicked Walls
 After eight years of many record releases and live performances, the highly respected and much appreciated, Champaign-Urbana based group, New Ruins, split up back in 2012. From the ashes, co-fou...]]>
The Todd Henry and Stan Kupish Show http://illinoistimes.com/article-13722-the-todd-henry-and-stan-kupish-show.html The Todd Henry and Stan Kupish Show
 If you notice a couple guys sporting goofy glasses, wacky wigs, Elvis suits complete with sideburns, jumbo jackets, silly shirts, hilarious hats, all picked and paired at a moment’s notice to...]]>
Hooten Hallers http://illinoistimes.com/article-13691-hooten-hallers.html Hooten Hallers
 Formed in Columbia, Mo., circa 2006, as a duo of John Randall on gunslinger guitar and Andy Rehm on destroyer drums, The Hooten Hallers toured the country espousing the glories of modern hillbil...]]>
Billy Don Burns http://illinoistimes.com/article-13660-billy-don-burns.html Billy Don Burns
 Every review about the music of Billy Don Burns compares him with the greats of country music such as Merle Haggard, Willie Nelson, Johnny Cash and Waylon Jennings. Indeed, Burns has rubbed shou...]]>
Stoney LaRue http://illinoistimes.com/article-13641-stoney-larue.html Stoney LaRue
An integral member of the “Red Dirt” music movement that shot out of southeastern Oklahoma several years ago to set the rock-country-roots world on fire, Stoney LaRue is well known for his fiery a...]]>
The Emerald Underground http://illinoistimes.com/article-13615-the-emerald-underground.html The Emerald Underground
 From origins as one of the first groups in central Illinois to play Celtic music with a rock feel, The Emerald Underground has evolved for over a decade, continuing to be a steady and vibrant fo...]]>
Charlie King http://illinoistimes.com/article-13559-charlie-king.html Charlie King
 After 50 years of performing and 40 years of songwriting, the quite well known and extremely well traveled, Charlie King celebrates by releasing another record and making a Midwest March tour. T...]]>
After Sunset http://illinoistimes.com/article-13533-after-sunset.html After Sunset
 An advantage of bringing together experienced members to form a new band is the immediate set list gained from finding a common ground through previously learned music. The combination of Rod Gr...]]>
Sally Barris http://illinoistimes.com/article-13504-sally-barris.html Sally Barris
 Recognized as one of the finest of the many singer-songwriters in the folky, Americana genre today, Sally Barris holds her own as both an evocative singer and striking songwriter. Ever since she...]]>
John Corbett http://illinoistimes.com/article-13471-john-corbett.html John Corbett
 Yes, it’s the same John Corbett from “Northern Exposure,” “Sex in the City,” My Big Fat Greek Wedding and Walgreen’s commercial voice-overs. He also happens to live with longtime par...]]>
Sunshine Daydream http://illinoistimes.com/article-13446-sunshine-daydream.html Sunshine Daydream
 If you are a Deadhead, that is a fan of all things Grateful Dead related, this is a show for you. With more than 50 Dead songs in the repertoire, along with a few additions from the Jerry Garcia...]]>
The Strumbellas http://illinoistimes.com/article-13416-the-strumbellas.html The Strumbellas
 Rolling in from the Great White North, to tour through the U.S. Midwest, The Strumbellas hail from Lindsay, Ontario (that’s in Canada, folks), bringing a brand new album, We Still Move on...]]>
Moot Davis http://illinoistimes.com/article-13404-moot-davis.html Moot Davis
 With 22 show dates in 23 days, Moot Davis is on the move. Leaving his home state of New Jersey on Jan. 20, the country-crooner, singer-songwriter travels cross country playing duo dates with his...]]>