IllinoisTimes - Band Spotlight http://illinoistimes.com/articles.sec-71-1-band-spotlight.html Mon, 27 Feb 17 00:00:00 -0600 en hourly 1 Rockin’ Johnny Burgin http://illinoistimes.com/article-18323-rockin%25E2%2580%2599-johnny-burgin.html Rockin’ Johnny Burgin
 A man on the move, Rockin’ Johnny has really been rocking in the past year. He relocated to California from Chicago, toured mainland Europe between Halloween and Christmas, promoted a CD, reco...]]>
Ty Brando http://illinoistimes.com/article-18307-ty-brando.html Ty Brando
 Originally from the Taylorville area, Ty took off for Nashville about 10 years ago with dreams of becoming a songwriter in Music City, U.S.A. By that time, he’d been a writer and performer sin...]]>
Great American Taxi http://illinoistimes.com/article-18275-great-american-taxi.html Great American Taxi
 With a new album out (Dr. Feelgood’s Traveling Medicine Show released on Feb. 3) featuring production work by Tim Carbone of Railroad Earth and new member Arthur Lee Land (guitar, banjo, vocal...]]>
The Loops http://illinoistimes.com/article-18230-the-loops.html The Loops
 After a year of working out the kinks and playing “sparingly” around town, The Loops are now ready to roll onto the local scene in full force. With names you’ll recognize as familiar faces...]]>
Switchback http://illinoistimes.com/article-18202-switchback.html Switchback
 Since 1993, Martin McCormack (bass, vocals) and Brian FitzGerald (guitar, mandolin, vocals), known as the duo Switchback, have released several CDs of Celtic and Americana music and traveled a g...]]>
Ultraviolet http://illinoistimes.com/article-18173-ultraviolet.html Ultraviolet
 Back in 2003, Suzie Stephens decided to get a group together to expand and expose her love of music and performance, creating Ultraviolet in the process. Born a fourth cousin (really) to Bill Mo...]]>
Last Call http://illinoistimes.com/article-18147-last-call.html Last Call
 Filled with years of experience of rocking bars all night long while playing in local bands such as Kicked to the Curb, Zack Fedor and the Backseat Drivers, Piston Broke, Porkpie and the Northen...]]>
Barry Cloyd http://illinoistimes.com/article-18128-barry-cloyd.html Barry Cloyd
 A talented, hardworking artist of stature, this Peoria native plays steady all year, making a living making music, and he does it by making people feel good. A versatile, multi-instrumentalist o...]]>
Hipbone Sam Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-18096-hipbone-sam-band.html Hipbone Sam Band
 After nearly eight years of playing and racking up almost 1,000 shows, the Hipbone Sam Band is ceasing their seemingly ceaseless touring schedule with a final performance on New Year’s Day. Du...]]>
Attic Salt http://illinoistimes.com/article-18068-attic-salt.html Attic Salt
 Emerging from the remnants of several Springfield punk-pop-rock bands comes Andy Harmon, Alyssa Currie, Fred Malcom and Cory VanMeter to become a group self-described as, “pop, dusty, indie ro...]]>
Juke House http://illinoistimes.com/article-18040-juke-house.html Juke House
 Five longtime, local musicians by the names of Brian Moore (lead vocals, sax), Tim Bahn (piano, vocals), Mark Sanders (drums), Mike Lang (bass) and Manley Mallard (guitar) got together after Bri...]]>
Paul Barrere and Fred Tackett http://illinoistimes.com/article-17997-paul-barrere-and-fred-tackett.html Paul Barrere and Fred Tackett
 As their promo blurb says, these guys “are guitar players. In fact, they are guitar players with the legendary band Little Feat,” and from there, the blurb goes on describing the incredible...]]>
Big Bad Blues Machine featuring Hurricane Ruth LaMaster http://illinoistimes.com/article-17951-big-bad-blues-machine-featuring-hurricane-ruth-lamaster.html Big Bad Blues Machine featuring Hurricane Ruth LaMaster
This marks the second annual reunion show with Hurricane Ruth and the Big Bad Blues Machine, but this one is special. Last January the BBBM lost “our brother in music” Tom Poludniak, a Springfield...]]>
Big Sandy and His Fly-Rite Boys http://illinoistimes.com/article-17924-big-sandy-and-his-fly-rite-boys.html Big Sandy and His Fly-Rite Boys
 On the trail of making marvelous music since 1988, Robert “Big Sandy” Williams brings the boys back to town one more time for a go around the stage. The 2016 tour takes the fellers across th...]]>
The Kitchens http://illinoistimes.com/article-17896-the-kitchens.html The Kitchens
 This father and daughter singing and music-making team covers more ground in gigs played, recordings made and joy displayed than about any other combo in town. Al has been a stalwart in the area...]]>
Anna Fermin’s Trigger Gospel http://illinoistimes.com/article-17883-anna-fermin%25E2%2580%2599s-trigger-gospel.html Anna Fermin’s Trigger Gospel
 She’s been called “the voice of Chicago” and “one of Chicago’s most treasured voices” by respectable critics in the Windy City, and this charming, Americana-based singer-songwriter i...]]>
The Lustre Kings http://illinoistimes.com/article-17853-the-lustre-kings.html The Lustre Kings
 Hailing from Albany, New York, this hot-time trio plays rock and roll the way it was invented to be done. Mark Gamsjager is the lifeblood of the band and totes his Gretsch, the rockabilly guitar...]]>
OddsLane http://illinoistimes.com/article-17833-oddslane.html OddsLane
 This St. Louis-based contemporary duo started out as a musical vehicle for songwriters Doug Byrkit (guitar, vocals) and Brian Zielie (drums) to express songs that had no outlet in their other mu...]]>
The Black Lillies http://illinoistimes.com/article-17811-the-black-lillies.html The Black Lillies
 Roaring out of Knoxville, Tenn., in 2009, this award-winning, Americana-styled, country-flavored, sweet-rockin’ band hit the road hard, including shows at Bonnaroo, Ryman Auditorium, Grand Ole...]]>
Waterloo German Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-17776-waterloo-german-band.html Waterloo German Band
 Based out of Waterloo in Monroe County, the Waterloo German Band began in 1939 then fell apart during the war for obvious reasons. By 1952, Waterloo resident and U.S. Marine Harry Wolf got the b...]]>
Wonky Tonk http://illinoistimes.com/article-17748-wonky-tonk.html Wonky Tonk
 Raised in Kentucky with side trips to Denmark and Montana, this one-woman band of gypsies landed in Cincinnati where she established herself as a potent force in the local kinda-country scene. B...]]>
Black Queen http://illinoistimes.com/article-17724-black-queen.html Black Queen
 Back in 2009 when Caleb Smith showed up at an open mic run by Bruce Williams and sang Queen songs, the two self-described “huge fans” of the supergroup decided to start a tribute band. They...]]>
Wilderness Alive http://illinoistimes.com/article-17708-wilderness-alive.html Wilderness Alive
 An emo-indie-alternative rock band out of Nashville, Tenn., this quartet of Peyton Rodeffer (vocals, guitar), Sean Jensen (bass), Dagan Crews (drums, vocals) and Andy Pollitt (guitar) started as...]]>
The Deep Hollow http://illinoistimes.com/article-17674-the-deep-hollow.html The Deep Hollow
 Since the inception of this harmony-driven, original music acoustic trio of Micah Walk, Elizabeth Eckert and Dave Littrell, the attraction between audience and act was obvious and powerful. Also...]]>
The Junior Varsity http://illinoistimes.com/article-17630-the-junior-varsity.html The Junior Varsity
 From 2002-07, The Junior Varsity (Asa Dawson of Griggsville, Andy Wildrick of Jacksonville, Sergio Coronado of Danville, Nick Dodson of Jacksonville and Chris Birch of Edwardsville) joined force...]]>
Pat Travers Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-17608-pat-travers-band.html Pat Travers Band
Known for decades as one of the premier rock guitarists of a generation, Pat Travers has done it all and just keeps doing it. Best known to the masses as the hit maker of “Boom Boom (Out Go The Ligh...]]>
Selector Dub Narcotic http://illinoistimes.com/article-17570-selector-dub-narcotic.html Selector Dub Narcotic
 Calvin Johnson, who will perform this Wednesday as Selector Dub Narcotic, has had a lasting influence on independent and underground music that is hard to overestimate. Beginning way back in 198...]]>
The Cell Phones http://illinoistimes.com/article-17545-the-cell-phones.html The Cell Phones
 Rolling in from Chicagoland to promote their sophomore release, No, out this fall on No Trend Records, this “extreme pop power” trio stakes claim to playing “aggressive rock and roll with...]]>
Sally Barris http://illinoistimes.com/article-17523-sally-barris.html Sally Barris
 A Minnesota native, this class act singer and songwriter moved to Nashville many years ago and carved out a comfortable niche as a personality, performer and writer. With her songs covered by th...]]>
Kelsey Hickman http://illinoistimes.com/article-17504-kelsey-hickman.html Kelsey Hickman
 From her days as a teenage singer fronting Still Kickin’, the popular Midwest band based out of Springfield, Kelsey Hickman seemed poised for stardom. After Still Kickin’ split in 2013, Kels...]]>