IllinoisTimes - Band Spotlight http://illinoistimes.com/articles.sec-71-1-band-spotlight.html Fri, 03 Jul 15 00:00:00 -0500 en hourly 1 10 Years http://illinoistimes.com/article-15808-10-years.html 10 Years
Formed in Knoxville, Tenn., some ten years ago, 10 Years is a hard-working, hard-rocking, hard-playing band out to conquer the world on their own terms. Hitting the road to promote Birth and Burial, t...]]>
New City Road http://illinoistimes.com/article-15786-new-city-road.html New City Road
 Named after a well-traveled country blacktop south of Springfield, New City Road likes to mix it up with the audience, combining showmanship and comradeship of the band to reach listeners and br...]]>
Modern Superstar http://illinoistimes.com/article-15729-modern-superstar.html Modern Superstar
 Formed in 2010 from various musicians touring the same rock-band circuit, Modern Superstar features members from Chicago, Ohio, Florida, Kentucky and right here in Springfield. No strangers to t...]]>
F5 http://illinoistimes.com/article-15616-f5.html F5
 Here’s one F5 central Illinois can be happy about seeing again, as the extremely popular band of some years ago rekindles the magic to bring back the sounds that filled dance floors at bars, f...]]>
Piston Broke http://illinoistimes.com/article-15577-piston-broke.html Piston Broke
 How nice is it that a band with five members each bringing decades of music-making experience to the fold has a debut performance? Members come with nicknames included, as Jeff “Drum Junkie”...]]>
Unity the Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-15543-unity-the-band.html Unity the Band
 How a native of Fuji ended up playing reggae in an award-winning band all over the Midwest is one part of Unity’s story, but what keeps them coming back to venues is the real story and that’...]]>
Marina V http://illinoistimes.com/article-15478-marina-v.html Marina V
 Always on the move and in the groove, Russian-born, singer-songwriter-keyboardist Marina V stops in town to perform her expressive, original songs. As a high-schooler in Moscow, she won a contes...]]>
Frank’s Discount Lounge Act http://illinoistimes.com/article-15448-frank%25E2%2580%2599s-discount-lounge-act.html Frank’s Discount Lounge Act
 Remember those entertainment relics called “lounge singers” who could somewhat sleazily, but mostly cheesily, easily charm the pants off a mannequin? Bill Murray famously portrayed one in th...]]>
Big Sandy & His Fly-Rite Boys http://illinoistimes.com/article-15418-big-sandy-his-fly-rite-boys.html Big Sandy & His Fly-Rite Boys
 Big Sandy is no stranger to Springfield, and you can bet in his 25-plus years of travels with the Fly-Rite Boys this guy made some stops across the country. A frequent guest of Sangamon Valley R...]]>
Dwayne Dopsie and the Zydeco Hellraisers http://illinoistimes.com/article-15385-dwayne-dopsie-and-the-zydeco-hellraisers.html Dwayne Dopsie and the Zydeco Hellraisers
 Son of the legendary accordion player and Zydeco master Rockin’ Dopsie Sr., Dwayne “Dopsie” Rubin comes by his heritage honestly. He knows how to make a party happen whether on his Europea...]]>
The Boxmasters http://illinoistimes.com/article-15355-the-boxmasters.html The Boxmasters
 So you’ve never heard of a band called The Boxmasters? How about an actor known as Billy Bob Thornton? Ah, there we go. He’s in the band as singer and shaker, making the group an accessible ...]]>
Arlin Peebles http://illinoistimes.com/article-15317-arlin-peebles.html Arlin Peebles
 Arlin Peebles has composed songs and played in bands (Cleanray, Young Loves) for nearly two decades and spent the last eight or so years working on songs that made it onto his first solo release...]]>
Chris Bradley & Jennifer Hood http://illinoistimes.com/article-15284-chris-bradley-jennifer-hood.html Chris Bradley & Jennifer Hood
 In an unpredictable world, it’s so nice to hear a pair of studied and stellar music makers playing good songs well. Jen learned her singing lessons bluegrass song-style, at home from the famil...]]>
Supersuckers http://illinoistimes.com/article-15256-supersuckers.html Supersuckers
 By calling themselves the “Greatest Rock-n-Roll Band in the World” these guys don’t lack in confidence or go much for modesty, but without mustering bluster and blasting out the jams, thes...]]>
Iron Orchard http://illinoistimes.com/article-15240-iron-orchard.html Iron Orchard
 Claiming to come from a “downtrodden region of Illinois known as Forgottonia” that others might call Western Illinois (Macomb to be more specific), this hard-hitting quartet is out to set th...]]>
The Emerald Underground http://illinoistimes.com/article-15203-the-emerald-underground.html The Emerald Underground
 Of all the Celtic-influenced bands now in the Springfield area, The Emerald Underground was the first on the scene way back in 2002. Then called Stone Ring Circle, the group debuted 14 years ago...]]>
Dexter O’Neal and Funk Yard http://illinoistimes.com/article-15171-dexter-o%25E2%2580%2599neal-and-funk-yard.html Dexter O’Neal and Funk Yard
 Currently based out of Peoria, singer-guitarist-performer Dexter O’Neal was born in Ferriday, La. His earliest musical memories are from that area, singing in one room churches with his grandm...]]>
The Tossers http://illinoistimes.com/article-15155-the-tossers.html The Tossers
 Boasting the largest population of Irish descendents in the Midwest, Chicago’s a good place to come from if your thing is playing Irish music. That’s exactly the case for The Tossers, a sout...]]>
RJ Mischo & His Red Hot Blues Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-15113-rj-mischo-his-red-hot-blues-band.html RJ Mischo & His Red Hot Blues Band
 RJ Mischo is nothing short of a phenomenon. He’s traveled the globe for more than 20 years as a touring blues artist, released nine internationally distributed CDs and played on an additional ...]]>
DJ Hish http://illinoistimes.com/article-15085-dj-hish.html DJ Hish
This may be the first (and possibly the last) time an official record-spinning, mix-making, beat-inducing DJ makes our band spotlight. But DJ Hish does something different than most mixers out there:...]]>
Kilborn Alley Blues Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-15062-kilborn-alley-blues-band.html Kilborn Alley Blues Band
 The blues came to visit a young Andrew Duncanson, and he answered the call of the crossroads. In high school, the singing blues guitarist’s chance meeting with Josh Stimmel over a Jimi Hendrix...]]>
Tennessee Borderline http://illinoistimes.com/article-15027-tennessee-borderline.html Tennessee Borderline
 Playing a mixture of modern and classic country combined with Southern and classic rock, this area-based quintet fits the bill for a classic, central Illinois cover band. Moving from Miranda Lam...]]>
Maurice John Vaughn http://illinoistimes.com/article-15016-maurice-john-vaughn.html Maurice John Vaughn
 Once again the Illinois Central Blues Club delivers, sponsoring a show by one of Chicagoland’s most respected and versatile blues artists. Maurice John Vaughn started out playing the saxophone...]]>
Big Smo http://illinoistimes.com/article-14965-big-smo.html Big Smo
 Call it “hick hop” or “country rap,” but whatever you aim to name this style of combining country lyric themes with rap production and attitudes, John Lee Smith, better known as Big Smo,...]]>
Sleeping Dogzz http://illinoistimes.com/article-14950-sleeping-dogzz.html Sleeping Dogzz
 Longevity and loyalty aren’t words often associated with bands. Most groups come from members of other groups that disbanded and reformed then changed names and began again. That’s why it’...]]>
John Nemeth http://illinoistimes.com/article-14916-john-nemeth.html John Nemeth
 Start your New Year off with a winner, the winner of the 2014 Blues Music Award, Soul Blues Artist of the Year, that is. Also nominated for six other BMA’s, including BB King Artist of the Yea...]]>
Monica Morris & Josie Lowder http://illinoistimes.com/article-14889-monica-morris-josie-lowder.html Monica Morris & Josie Lowder
 Monica and Josie are heading back to Memphis to participate in the annual International Blues Challenge competition, bringing their own brand of blues highlighted by a special blend of guitar pl...]]>
Cats on Holiday http://illinoistimes.com/article-14843-cats-on-holiday.html Cats on Holiday
 The Cats are back! For anyone around the Springfield music scene from the 80s on, that can mean only one thing. Yes, that’s right, Cats on Holiday are back in town for a one night only Holiday...]]>
Milk N Cookies http://illinoistimes.com/article-14817-milk-n-cookies.html Milk N Cookies
 Identical twin brothers James and Paul McElwain, or if you prefer, Dorian and Adrian Westwood, or just plain Milk N Cookies, or best yet, “ice devouring sex tornadoes” are one of the hottest...]]>
ClusterPluck http://illinoistimes.com/article-14787-clusterpluck.html ClusterPluck
 Utilizing acoustic instruments in a bluegrass-folk-pop-ish style, the five players in ClusterPluck (don’t you just love saying that name?!) bring it on and score high. Chris Rader (vocals, ban...]]>