IllinoisTimes - Band Spotlight http://illinoistimes.com/articles.sec-71-1-band-spotlight.html Thu, 05 Mar 15 00:00:00 -0600 en hourly 1 Dexter O’Neal and Funk Yard http://illinoistimes.com/article-15171-dexter-o%25E2%2580%2599neal-and-funk-yard.html Dexter O’Neal and Funk Yard
 Currently based out of Peoria, singer-guitarist-performer Dexter O’Neal was born in Ferriday, La. His earliest musical memories are from that area, singing in one room churches with his grandm...]]>
The Tossers http://illinoistimes.com/article-15155-the-tossers.html The Tossers
 Boasting the largest population of Irish descendents in the Midwest, Chicago’s a good place to come from if your thing is playing Irish music. That’s exactly the case for The Tossers, a sout...]]>
RJ Mischo & His Red Hot Blues Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-15113-rj-mischo-his-red-hot-blues-band.html RJ Mischo & His Red Hot Blues Band
 RJ Mischo is nothing short of a phenomenon. He’s traveled the globe for more than 20 years as a touring blues artist, released nine internationally distributed CDs and played on an additional ...]]>
DJ Hish http://illinoistimes.com/article-15085-dj-hish.html DJ Hish
This may be the first (and possibly the last) time an official record-spinning, mix-making, beat-inducing DJ makes our band spotlight. But DJ Hish does something different than most mixers out there:...]]>
Kilborn Alley Blues Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-15062-kilborn-alley-blues-band.html Kilborn Alley Blues Band
 The blues came to visit a young Andrew Duncanson, and he answered the call of the crossroads. In high school, the singing blues guitarist’s chance meeting with Josh Stimmel over a Jimi Hendrix...]]>
Tennessee Borderline http://illinoistimes.com/article-15027-tennessee-borderline.html Tennessee Borderline
 Playing a mixture of modern and classic country combined with Southern and classic rock, this area-based quintet fits the bill for a classic, central Illinois cover band. Moving from Miranda Lam...]]>
Maurice John Vaughn http://illinoistimes.com/article-15016-maurice-john-vaughn.html Maurice John Vaughn
 Once again the Illinois Central Blues Club delivers, sponsoring a show by one of Chicagoland’s most respected and versatile blues artists. Maurice John Vaughn started out playing the saxophone...]]>
Big Smo http://illinoistimes.com/article-14965-big-smo.html Big Smo
 Call it “hick hop” or “country rap,” but whatever you aim to name this style of combining country lyric themes with rap production and attitudes, John Lee Smith, better known as Big Smo,...]]>
Sleeping Dogzz http://illinoistimes.com/article-14950-sleeping-dogzz.html Sleeping Dogzz
 Longevity and loyalty aren’t words often associated with bands. Most groups come from members of other groups that disbanded and reformed then changed names and began again. That’s why it’...]]>
John Nemeth http://illinoistimes.com/article-14916-john-nemeth.html John Nemeth
 Start your New Year off with a winner, the winner of the 2014 Blues Music Award, Soul Blues Artist of the Year, that is. Also nominated for six other BMA’s, including BB King Artist of the Yea...]]>
Monica Morris & Josie Lowder http://illinoistimes.com/article-14889-monica-morris-josie-lowder.html Monica Morris & Josie Lowder
 Monica and Josie are heading back to Memphis to participate in the annual International Blues Challenge competition, bringing their own brand of blues highlighted by a special blend of guitar pl...]]>
Cats on Holiday http://illinoistimes.com/article-14843-cats-on-holiday.html Cats on Holiday
 The Cats are back! For anyone around the Springfield music scene from the 80s on, that can mean only one thing. Yes, that’s right, Cats on Holiday are back in town for a one night only Holiday...]]>
Milk N Cookies http://illinoistimes.com/article-14817-milk-n-cookies.html Milk N Cookies
 Identical twin brothers James and Paul McElwain, or if you prefer, Dorian and Adrian Westwood, or just plain Milk N Cookies, or best yet, “ice devouring sex tornadoes” are one of the hottest...]]>
ClusterPluck http://illinoistimes.com/article-14787-clusterpluck.html ClusterPluck
 Utilizing acoustic instruments in a bluegrass-folk-pop-ish style, the five players in ClusterPluck (don’t you just love saying that name?!) bring it on and score high. Chris Rader (vocals, ban...]]>
Idol Rumors http://illinoistimes.com/article-14756-idol-rumors.html Idol Rumors
 No one does classic rock like the guys who learned the songs before they were classics. When bands like Queen, Kiss, Boston, Judas Priest and Aerosmith rocked our world, local musicians Rusty Le...]]>
Fumée Gypsy Project http://illinoistimes.com/article-14724-fumee-gypsy-project.html Fumée Gypsy Project
 What sounds come to mind when gypsy-jazz music gets mentioned? If it’s soaring vocals, speedy guitars and swinging bass you are in the realm of the Chicago-based Fumée Gypsy Project. This las...]]>
Fireside Relics http://illinoistimes.com/article-14694-fireside-relics.html Fireside Relics
 Starting out as mainly a cover band in 2009 after members met at an open mic, by 2013 Fireside Relics had undergone a few personnel changes while setting a new direction toward original music. T...]]>
Royal Son of a Guns http://illinoistimes.com/article-14662-royal-son-of-a-guns.html Royal Son of a Guns
 Hailing and railing from Chicago, while curtailing nothing pertaining to righteousness and proper behavior, this trio describes themselves as “barstool smashing miscreants” ready and willing...]]>
Todd Wolfe Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-14647-todd-wolfe-band.html Todd Wolfe Band
 Todd Wolfe befriended Sheryl Crow when she was a struggling backup singer in New York City and he too was “trying to make it” in the music business. Later, he joined her first live band in t...]]>
Charlie Parr  http://illinoistimes.com/article-14611-charlie-parr%25C2%25A0.html Charlie Parr 
 Often musicians who emulate a sound from the past are destined to succumb to the public perception of revivalist or tribute artist, but Charlie Parr consistently rises above such notions while p...]]>
Icon for Hire  http://illinoistimes.com/article-14585-icon-for-hire%25C2%25A0.html Icon for Hire 
 Originally from Decatur, our neighbor city to the east, this ambitious and inventive combo creates pop-punk, near-rap, electronic-alternative rock music that reaches into the collective consciou...]]>
Jarekus Singleton Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-14556-jarekus-singleton-band.html Jarekus Singleton Band
 Brand new is not a term often associated with the blues, a genre steeped in tradition and rooted in form, but the talent and energy of Jarekus Singleton is challenging that conception. Combining...]]>
Kris Bell Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-14526-kris-bell-band.html Kris Bell Band
 Billed as an “American Rock” band with “rockin’ your ass and meltin’ your face!” as a motto, the Kris Bell Band makes powerful rock with a groove, laden with melodic hooks and blazin...]]>
Koffin Kats http://illinoistimes.com/article-14498-koffin-kats.html Koffin Kats
 The hole was dug for the Koffin Kats back in 2003 near Detroit, Michigan, when Vic Victor (lead vocals, upright bass) hooked up with longtime friend Tommy Koffin (guitar), then added Damian Detr...]]>
Jukebox Casanova http://illinoistimes.com/article-14486-jukebox-casanova.html Jukebox Casanova
 Any telling of the story of this band comes drenched in sadness with the recent loss of founding member Ben Underwood (mandolin, vocals, occasional drums). But as co-founder Bernie Flesch (vocal...]]>
The Whistle Pigs http://illinoistimes.com/article-14433-the-whistle-pigs.html The Whistle Pigs
 Named after a large rodent otherwise known as a groundhog or sometimes as a woodchuck, these fellers are a trio of dyed-in-the-wool, hillbilly honky-tonkers out to have fun and make music. Haili...]]>
John Byrne Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-14405-john-byrne-band.html John Byrne Band
 John Byrne grew up listening to and playing the most traditional of old Irish songs in his homeland hometown of Dublin, Ireland, but also fell under the influence of American and British rock an...]]>
Ocean State http://illinoistimes.com/article-14377-ocean-state.html Ocean State
 Formed in early 2014, Ocean State performs a classic selection of American country, blues and jazz standards along with a good splash of Brazilian-based, samba-influenced compositions. The can�...]]>
Micah Walk http://illinoistimes.com/article-14346-micah-walk.html Micah Walk
 From his prolific recording output to consistent live music performances in an array of combos, singer-songwriter, guitarist and bandleader Micah Walk is an integral part of making music around ...]]>
Mike Miller http://illinoistimes.com/article-14312-mike-miller.html Mike Miller
 As a founder and longtime member of the popular “trop rock” band Boat Drunks, Mike Miller spends his time making music. He retired from the BDs in 2008 after several successful years, then r...]]>