IllinoisTimes - Band Spotlight http://illinoistimes.com/articles.sec-71-1-band-spotlight.html Thu, 11 Feb 16 00:00:00 -0600 en hourly 1 Old Smoke Band with Trina Madonia http://illinoistimes.com/article-16786-old-smoke-band-with-trina-madonia.html Old Smoke Band with Trina Madonia
 Coming from nearby Bloomington to celebrate Old Abe’s birthday, Old Smoke Band invited Springfield’s own Trina Madonia to sing some lead and background vocals for the occasion. Starting out...]]>
Dan Hubbard http://illinoistimes.com/article-16755-dan-hubbard.html Dan Hubbard
 Known to Springfield fans as a headline performer at SOHO festival pasts, as well as other venues with his band The Humadors, Dan Hubbard is on a brand new adventure and invites you to come alon...]]>
SOHI House Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-16724-sohi-house-band.html SOHI House Band
 A Springfield-based, indie-rock group citing heavy influences from the hip-hop, R&B and rap genres, the SOHI House Band plays a rather different role than most local music groups. Signed to...]]>
Hipbone Sam http://illinoistimes.com/article-16689-hipbone-sam.html Hipbone Sam
 Together for over six years now, it’s hard to imagine a time when Hipbone Sam wasn’t on the scene. Bandmates Kevin Hawkins as Hipbone Sam (lead vocals, rhythm guitar), Rick Mari (lead guitar...]]>
Angela Perley & the Howlin Moons http://illinoistimes.com/article-16667-angela-perley-the-howlin-moons.html Angela Perley & the Howlin Moons
 Hailing from Columbus, Ohio and hitting towns all over the Midwest since 2009 with the sound and the fury of a modern American rock and roll band on a mission, Angela Perley (vocals, electric gu...]]>
Lyman Ellerman http://illinoistimes.com/article-16640-lyman-ellerman.html Lyman Ellerman
 Riverton native and current Nashville resident, songwriter, guitarist, vocalist and performer, Lyman Ellerman is a man of many musical talents. The good news for us is that he keeps refining and...]]>
Jackson Taylor and the Sinners http://illinoistimes.com/article-16599-jackson-taylor-and-the-sinners.html Jackson Taylor and the Sinners
Born just outside Austin, Texas, Jackson Taylor spent his formative years traveling and soaking up the sounds of real country music with his migrant worker family. When, as a young man, he made a move...]]>
Lowder & Manning http://illinoistimes.com/article-16585-lowder-manning.html Lowder & Manning
 Considered by many as one of our area’s music-making treasures, Jaigh Lowder and Jill Manning play original songs at an exceptional level of composition and performance. Jaigh’s guitar prowe...]]>
Hospital Job http://illinoistimes.com/article-16543-hospital-job.html Hospital Job
 Yes, there is a punk band from Springfield called Hospital Job. Yes, they’ve toured the U.S. twice and western Europe. Yes, they have plans in the works for a 2016 East Coast tour and dates at...]]>
The Love Hogs http://illinoistimes.com/article-16515-the-love-hogs.html The Love Hogs
 Playing only their second show in 15 years, the legendary Love Hogs return to a Springfield stage after coming out of a pen from the past to play the Downhome Music, Art & Beer Festival last...]]>
Kilborn Alley Blues Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-16485-kilborn-alley-blues-band.html Kilborn Alley Blues Band
 Continuing the terrific run of early Thursday shows at The Alamo, sponsored by the Illinois Central Blues Club and presented by James Armstrong, Kilborn Alley drops in from our neighboring city...]]>
Captain Geech and the Shrimp Shack Shooters http://illinoistimes.com/article-16460-captain-geech-and-the-shrimp-shack-shooters.html Captain Geech and the Shrimp Shack Shooters
 Winners of the Rock Band award in our “Best of Springfield” poll for 2015, this band has steadily won a “Best of” category in music for the last several years. Considered the go-to popul...]]>
Jason Boland & The Stragglers http://illinoistimes.com/article-16417-jason-boland-the-stragglers.html Jason Boland & The Stragglers
 These guys hail from Stillwater, Okla., and play what has become known as “Red Dirt” country music. The name comes from the color of earth you find in Oklahoma, and the band’s style lives...]]>
Enamel http://illinoistimes.com/article-16386-enamel.html Enamel
 With Kevin Wasmer (vocals, guitar) and Sam Ganci (drums) as the core of the band’s hard-hitting, melodic sound for several years, the recently recharged Enamel added Nick Beal (bass) and Tyler...]]>
Guts Club http://illinoistimes.com/article-16361-guts-club.html Guts Club
 Lindsay Baker, a former child beauty queen and inventor of incredibly adventurous and artistic videos with songs attached, is Guts Club, all by her lonesome. For a look into the life and times o...]]>
A Thousand Horses http://illinoistimes.com/article-16325-a-thousand-horses.html A Thousand Horses
 A real rock-country music band that’s having chart success while claiming influences from a “hybrid of English rock, country, American rock, soul and blues.” Michael Hobby (lead vocals), B...]]>
Rockin’ Johnny Burgin http://illinoistimes.com/article-16303-rockin%25E2%2580%2599-johnny-burgin.html Rockin’ Johnny Burgin
 Hot off a Southern California run and in between a southern Missouri romp, the very busy and very talented blues guitarist, singer and bandleader from Chicagoland makes his way to the Illinois C...]]>
Steely James http://illinoistimes.com/article-16260-steely-james.html Steely James
 Based out of Nashville, Tenn., this wandering troubadour keeps mostly on the road. He has a lot to say, mostly about social issues that need to be addressed from the progressive side. Steely Jam...]]>
Dave Alvin, Phil Alvin & The Guilty Ones http://illinoistimes.com/article-16246-dave-alvin-phil-alvin-the-guilty-ones.html Dave Alvin, Phil Alvin & The Guilty Ones
 Here’s a record with a story to tell, not only in the songs recorded but in the recording of the songs. After Brian Zilm finished tracking his latest album in Springfield at Frequincy Recordin...]]>
Jeff Cordes http://illinoistimes.com/article-16204-jeff-cordes.html Jeff Cordes
 With a winning smile and a pocketful of songs, Springfield-based singer-songwriter-entertainer Jeff Cordes brings on the music. Born in the capital city, raised in Lincoln and a graduate of Illi...]]>
Brian Zilm http://illinoistimes.com/article-16174-brian-zilm.html Brian Zilm
 Here’s a record with a story to tell, not only in the songs recorded but in the recording of the songs. After Brian Zilm finished tracking his latest album in Springfield at Frequincy Recordin...]]>
Governor Street http://illinoistimes.com/article-16144-governor-street.html Governor Street
 With a carefree and can-do motto of “music frees your mind and boogies your soul” this spirited, six-piece combo makes a debut performance at the Hut on Friday. Nate Cozadd (guitar, vocals)...]]>
CaveofswordS http://illinoistimes.com/article-16119-caveofswords.html CaveofswordS
 Based out of South City, St. Louis, CaveofswordS travels in otherworldly ways in the sound sphere, spending time in advancing the cause of art, dance, poetry and music. Calling their genre DubWa...]]>
Alter Ego http://illinoistimes.com/article-16077-alter-ego.html Alter Ego
 Band members Dave Boedecker (guitar, keyboards, vocals), Keith Dunlap (guitars, lead cowbell, vocals), Tony Grissom (drums, vocals) and Tony (A.J.) Tarro (bass, keyboards, vocals) bring a boatlo...]]>
GirlBilly http://illinoistimes.com/article-16066-girlbilly.html GirlBilly
 When two attractive, talented, ambitious and nice girls meet up in Nashville by coincidence and hit it off immediately, what should they do? Start a duo and take the entertainment world by storm...]]>
2nd Chance Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-16034-2nd-chance-band.html 2nd Chance Band
 When you get a second chance you best make the most of it, and longtime local musicians Doug Bernet (drums), Marc Camp (vocals), Ralph Carbonell (guitar, vocals), Tom Jackson (bass, vocals) and...]]>
The Shunpikers http://illinoistimes.com/article-15993-the-shunpikers.html The Shunpikers
 Originally formed in late 2013 as a one-time get-together of friends to play a benefit show, The Shunpikers hit it off so well they just kept going. Current bandmates include area stalwarts of t...]]>
Broseph E. Lee http://illinoistimes.com/article-15967-broseph-e-lee.html Broseph E. Lee
 On the move and in the groove, this six-piece, self-proclaimed “country-rock” band covers contemporary and country classics, but what really sets Broseph E. Lee apart is their catchy songwri...]]>
The Cadillac Three http://illinoistimes.com/article-15934-the-cadillac-three.html The Cadillac Three
Hailing from the other side of the tracks in Nashville, the long-haired trio of Jaren Johnston (lead vocals, guitar), Kelby Ray (bass guitar, Dobro, acoustic guitar, vocals) and Neil Mason (drums, voc...]]>
The Way Down Wanderers http://illinoistimes.com/article-15900-the-way-down-wanderers.html The Way Down Wanderers
 Originally from Peoria and now based out of Chicago, this active and alternative folk quintet is on the move. Bandmates Austin Thompson (vocals, guitar), Collin Krause (vocals, mandolin, violin,...]]>