IllinoisTimes - Band Spotlight http://illinoistimes.com/articles.sec-71-1-band-spotlight.html Thu, 22 Jun 17 00:00:00 -0500 en hourly 1 Blacktop South http://illinoistimes.com/article-18809-blacktop-south.html Blacktop South
Hailing from the river town of Quincy, this blues, country, Southern rock and classic rock quintet takes on songs familiar to average Midwest music lovers, then gives the tunes a slight twist to make...]]>
Greg Finger Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-18783-greg-finger-band.html Greg Finger Band
 Growing up in the suburbs of Cincinnati, a young Greg Finger became fascinated by the sounds he created on an old, out-of-tune upright piano his parents purchased for him while he was still in g...]]>
Rays http://illinoistimes.com/article-18754-rays.html Rays
 Hailing from Oakland, California, bandmates Stanley Martinez (guitar, vocals, violin), Eve Hannan (bass, vocals), Alexa Pantalone (drums, synth) and Troy Hewitt (guitar, organ, piano, synth) are...]]>
Aileeah Colgan http://illinoistimes.com/article-18742-aileeah-colgan.html Aileeah Colgan
 Hailing from Peoria and recently signed to Green Show Records in East Peoria, Ms. Colgan is making waves in the regional music scene and heading for bigger things. She’s performed VIP pre-show...]]>
Creole Stomp http://illinoistimes.com/article-18704-creole-stomp.html Creole Stomp
 You won’t find a better band replicating the sounds of Cajun and Zydeco through original songs and traditional tunes, but these dashing and daring musicians of high caliber cheerfully toss in...]]>
Chris Antonik http://illinoistimes.com/article-18671-chris-antonik.html Chris Antonik
 Considered one of Canada’s most acclaimed blues artists since being nominated for the “Best New Artist” award in 2011 at the Maple Blues Awards, guitar-playing and songwriting bluesman Chr...]]>
Chris Vallillo http://illinoistimes.com/article-18645-chris-vallillo.html Chris Vallillo
 A nationally-acclaimed singer-songwriter, folklorist, musician and producer, Chris Vallillo has cultivated a status as the go-to guy for original and traditional folk-based song-playing during h...]]>
Alec James http://illinoistimes.com/article-18625-alec-james.html Alec James
 Sometimes the best descriptions come from the artists themselves, and in this case we get: “Alec James is a musician and songwriter in the central Illinois area. He plays guitar, harmonica and...]]>
JC Brooks http://illinoistimes.com/article-18582-jc-brooks.html JC Brooks
 A force on the national scene for several years now, what started as a lark with a band called Uptown Sound has morphed into a major career of increasing proportions for JC Brooks. Based out of...]]>
Kofi Baker’s Cream Experience http://illinoistimes.com/article-18558-kofi-baker%25E2%2580%2599s-cream-experience.html Kofi Baker’s Cream Experience
 What does the son of legendary, iconic drummer Ginger Baker do with the drumming gene? He plays music on the drums, and that’s what Kofi Baker does. Beginning with a drumming debut TV experien...]]>
Baaad Boyz http://illinoistimes.com/article-18530-baaad-boyz.html Baaad Boyz
 When music works, it works, and when these bad boys play, they are truly Baaad Boyz. Bandmates Tony Young (vocals), Marcus Taylor (drums), Charles Foxx (bass), Jerry Cole (keyboards) and John Vi...]]>
The Good Companions http://illinoistimes.com/article-18484-the-good-companions.html The Good Companions
 Founded in 2014 “out of a mutual love of good songcraft and honest live performance,” bandmates Colin Helton (guitar, vocals) and Danny Kerwin (bass, vocals) started out, as all good musical...]]>
Andy Logan and the O.C. 75s http://illinoistimes.com/article-18457-andy-logan-and-the-oc-75s.html Andy Logan and the O.C. 75s
If you’ve got a hankering for some electric blues, rock or psychedelic, guitar-based music, look no further than Andy Logan and the O.C. 75s. Mr. Logan, along with John Hussey, his comrade in the 80...]]>
Fireside Relics http://illinoistimes.com/article-18432-fireside-relics.html Fireside Relics
 With the release of Shot Out the Saddle, the second, full-length recording of original material from Fireside Relics, the band looks to “establish themselves as heavy hitters” within the Spr...]]>
Lyman Ellerman and the Cause http://illinoistimes.com/article-18403-lyman-ellerman-and-the-cause.html Lyman Ellerman and the Cause
 Whenever Lyman Ellerman returns to the home turf from his songwriter life in Nashville, Tennessee, be prepared for a full onslaught of original Southern rock tunes done Ellerman-style with an at...]]>
The Emerald Underground http://illinoistimes.com/article-18377-the-emerald-underground.html The Emerald Underground
 Our longest-running Celtic-influenced band continues performing like nobody’s business during the St. Patrick’s Day celebration in Springfield, albeit with a new lineup in action. Though the...]]>
Galen Weston Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-18347-galen-weston-band.html Galen Weston Band
 Blazing a trail from Toronto across the world in the jazz-fusion-blues crossroads of music, Galen Weston is the guy who gets quotes like “a guitar tour de force, the kind they just don’t mak...]]>
Rockin’ Johnny Burgin http://illinoistimes.com/article-18323-rockin%25E2%2580%2599-johnny-burgin.html Rockin’ Johnny Burgin
 A man on the move, Rockin’ Johnny has really been rocking in the past year. He relocated to California from Chicago, toured mainland Europe between Halloween and Christmas, promoted a CD, reco...]]>
Ty Brando http://illinoistimes.com/article-18307-ty-brando.html Ty Brando
 Originally from the Taylorville area, Ty took off for Nashville about 10 years ago with dreams of becoming a songwriter in Music City, U.S.A. By that time, he’d been a writer and performer sin...]]>
Great American Taxi http://illinoistimes.com/article-18275-great-american-taxi.html Great American Taxi
 With a new album out (Dr. Feelgood’s Traveling Medicine Show released on Feb. 3) featuring production work by Tim Carbone of Railroad Earth and new member Arthur Lee Land (guitar, banjo, vocal...]]>
The Loops http://illinoistimes.com/article-18230-the-loops.html The Loops
 After a year of working out the kinks and playing “sparingly” around town, The Loops are now ready to roll onto the local scene in full force. With names you’ll recognize as familiar faces...]]>
Switchback http://illinoistimes.com/article-18202-switchback.html Switchback
 Since 1993, Martin McCormack (bass, vocals) and Brian FitzGerald (guitar, mandolin, vocals), known as the duo Switchback, have released several CDs of Celtic and Americana music and traveled a g...]]>
Ultraviolet http://illinoistimes.com/article-18173-ultraviolet.html Ultraviolet
 Back in 2003, Suzie Stephens decided to get a group together to expand and expose her love of music and performance, creating Ultraviolet in the process. Born a fourth cousin (really) to Bill Mo...]]>
Last Call http://illinoistimes.com/article-18147-last-call.html Last Call
 Filled with years of experience of rocking bars all night long while playing in local bands such as Kicked to the Curb, Zack Fedor and the Backseat Drivers, Piston Broke, Porkpie and the Northen...]]>
Barry Cloyd http://illinoistimes.com/article-18128-barry-cloyd.html Barry Cloyd
 A talented, hardworking artist of stature, this Peoria native plays steady all year, making a living making music, and he does it by making people feel good. A versatile, multi-instrumentalist o...]]>
Hipbone Sam Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-18096-hipbone-sam-band.html Hipbone Sam Band
 After nearly eight years of playing and racking up almost 1,000 shows, the Hipbone Sam Band is ceasing their seemingly ceaseless touring schedule with a final performance on New Year’s Day. Du...]]>
Attic Salt http://illinoistimes.com/article-18068-attic-salt.html Attic Salt
 Emerging from the remnants of several Springfield punk-pop-rock bands comes Andy Harmon, Alyssa Currie, Fred Malcom and Cory VanMeter to become a group self-described as, “pop, dusty, indie ro...]]>
Juke House http://illinoistimes.com/article-18040-juke-house.html Juke House
 Five longtime, local musicians by the names of Brian Moore (lead vocals, sax), Tim Bahn (piano, vocals), Mark Sanders (drums), Mike Lang (bass) and Manley Mallard (guitar) got together after Bri...]]>
Paul Barrere and Fred Tackett http://illinoistimes.com/article-17997-paul-barrere-and-fred-tackett.html Paul Barrere and Fred Tackett
 As their promo blurb says, these guys “are guitar players. In fact, they are guitar players with the legendary band Little Feat,” and from there, the blurb goes on describing the incredible...]]>
Big Bad Blues Machine featuring Hurricane Ruth LaMaster http://illinoistimes.com/article-17951-big-bad-blues-machine-featuring-hurricane-ruth-lamaster.html Big Bad Blues Machine featuring Hurricane Ruth LaMaster
This marks the second annual reunion show with Hurricane Ruth and the Big Bad Blues Machine, but this one is special. Last January the BBBM lost “our brother in music” Tom Poludniak, a Springfield...]]>