IllinoisTimes - Band Spotlight http://illinoistimes.com/articles.sec-71-1-band-spotlight.html Wed, 21 Feb 18 00:00:00 -0600 en hourly 1 Ryman's Way http://illinoistimes.com/article-19685-rymans-way.html Ryman's Way
Relatively new on the Springfield band scene, Ryman’s Way takes their name from the Ryman Auditorium, the renowned building in Nashville that housed the Grand Ole Opry for decades during the heyday...]]>
The Chickadee Sermon http://illinoistimes.com/article-19661-the-chickadee-sermon.html The Chickadee Sermon
 What’s a chickadee have to do with a sermon? Well, one way to find out is to check out the acoustic folk act named The Chickadee Sermon, appearing downtown at Tacology 101 on Friday. The resta...]]>
Porter Union http://illinoistimes.com/article-19648-porter-union.html Porter Union
 This wife-and-husband music duo of Cole Michael Porter and Kendra Porter hails from Springfield, Missouri, with a startup history that reads like a country music fairy tale. The two met a decade...]]>
ZXO http://illinoistimes.com/article-19617-zxo.html ZXO
 This Saturday, ZXO comes strolling over from Champaign to the lower level Radon Lounge (contact info at radonlounge@gmail.com) with several other fine music acts from around the area. Bandmates...]]>
Astrofix http://illinoistimes.com/article-19588-astrofix.html Astrofix
 Hailing from towns in central Illinois, friends and bandmates Jamie Merideth (vocals, keys), Phil Cooper (rhythm guitar), Dave Primeaux (lead guitar), Aaron Kaufmann (bass) and Jake McNamara (dr...]]>
Jared Grabb http://illinoistimes.com/article-19568-jared-grabb.html Jared Grabb
 This Peoria native is making a splash in the folk-indie-Americana mold by breaking the mold and simply playing good, original music in a sensible and poetic way. Not much on hype and hyperbole,...]]>
Dylan Scott http://illinoistimes.com/article-19541-dylan-scott.html Dylan Scott
This Louisiana native headed for Nashville with a dream in mind, and he’s chasing it, reaching it, and becoming a major force in the country music business. Dylan spent his early days hanging around...]]>
Devin Williams Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-19526-devin-williams-band.html Devin Williams Band
 Known for his easygoing blues music and hopped-up reggae beats, this young, singing guitarist brings on the music with a style and confidence that belies his age and experience. With Devin playi...]]>
James Armstrong http://illinoistimes.com/article-19491-james-armstrong.html James Armstrong
 Known the world over (well, practically) as the “Ambassador of the Blues,” Springfield is proud to claim James Armstrong as a resident. With a jazz guitarist for a father and a blues singer...]]>
The Meerkat Mobsters http://illinoistimes.com/article-19455-the-meerkat-mobsters.html The Meerkat Mobsters
 When the pumped up, high-rockin, rockabilly trio The Meerkat Mobsters, featuring Springfield resident Mark Mills (guitar, vocals), Ray Biagioni (drums) from Oglesby and Rick Topolski (stand-up b...]]>
Textbook http://illinoistimes.com/article-19428-textbook.html Textbook
Based out of Chicago, this quartet of possible punks (the musical kind) formed in 1998 using “’90s alternative and ’80s punk with a dash of midwestern roots-rock” to create a modern, American...]]>
Christian Lopez http://illinoistimes.com/article-19406-christian-lopez.html Christian Lopez
 This West Virginia native now resides in Nashville, Tennessee, and uses the Music City for a home base to bring his particular style of Americana music to the masses. Lopez recorded his debut al...]]>
Craig Gerdes http://illinoistimes.com/article-19355-craig-gerdes.html Craig Gerdes
 Part of the burgeoning, modern, underground, outlaw, country music field, Craig Gerdes is makin’ tracks and on the move. His latest release, Smokin’, Drinkin’ & Gamblin’ (Sol records...]]>
Kyle Nachtigal http://illinoistimes.com/article-19281-kyle-nachtigal.html Kyle Nachtigal
Originally from another Springfield, specifically that one in Missouri, this talented guitarist, singer and songwriter has lived in Nashville, Tennessee, since 2009. He studied at Belmont University i...]]>
James Armstrong http://illinoistimes.com/article-19249-james-armstrong.html James Armstrong
 Known as the “Ambassador of the Blues” and also as a resident of Springfield, Mr. Armstrong gets all the credit for being an excellent and constantly touring guitar player with sharp songwri...]]>
Spicy Pickles http://illinoistimes.com/article-19182-spicy-pickles.html Spicy Pickles
 Based out of Denver, Colorado, these guys get around while spreading the great sounds of swing music and traditional jazz. Bandleader Joe Smith has a couple more groups in Denver (the Joe Smith...]]>
Marina V http://illinoistimes.com/article-19172-marina-v.html Marina V
 Our Moscow-born, central Illinois-college educated and Los Angeles-residing singer-songwriter friend has a new album out. And with Nick Baker along to join in making music, Marina V is heading c...]]>
The Blue G’s http://illinoistimes.com/article-19131-the-blue-g%25E2%2580%2599s.html The Blue G’s
 Hey, these guys were good when they started and just keep getting better and better in live performance and on record. The celebration on Sunday presents both sides of the band with a live perfo...]]>
Tom Irwin’s Hayburners http://illinoistimes.com/article-19107-tom-irwin%25E2%2580%2599s-hayburners.html Tom Irwin’s Hayburners
 From local awards (including decades worth of “Best of Springfield” honors in Illinois Times) to opening for Willie Nelson at the Illinois State Fair, Tom Irwin has been around for a while b...]]>
Gracia Harrison http://illinoistimes.com/article-19070-gracia-harrison.html Gracia Harrison
 Gracia Harrison vaulted to national prominence with her astounding appearance on the third season of “The Voice.” Although she didn’t win it all, her relationship with Blake Shelton and th...]]>
Harpeth Rising http://illinoistimes.com/article-19042-harpeth-rising.html Harpeth Rising
 A delightfully talented trio of young women, Harpeth Rising is an amazing string band with intensely good harmonies, intricate instrumental work and singer-songwriter songs. Jordana Greenberg (v...]]>
The Lucky Losers http://illinoistimes.com/article-19023-the-lucky-losers.html The Lucky Losers
Heads up, folks! Here comes the best from the west, as Cathy Lemons (vocals) and Phil Berkowitz (vocals, harmonica) bring The Lucky Losers in from San Francisco by way of a Midwest tour. Known as the...]]>
New City Road http://illinoistimes.com/article-18983-new-city-road.html New City Road
 Named after a country blacktop heading south out of town that could tell some tales if it could, this band is full of authentic local country musicians that could (and do) tell some tales of the...]]>
Midnight River Choir http://illinoistimes.com/article-18953-midnight-river-choir.html Midnight River Choir
 This Texas quartet (they’re really from New Braunfels, but people just say Austin) got their name from an incident on the first night they met. While floating together down the Guadalupe River...]]>
Joshua Reilly http://illinoistimes.com/article-18929-joshua-reilly.html Joshua Reilly
 A Springfield-area native and now Clearwater, Florida, resident, this talented and engaging guitarist, singer and songwriter in the Americana vein released his first full-length album on July 5....]]>
The Brotherhood http://illinoistimes.com/article-18906-the-brotherhood.html The Brotherhood
 Although The Brotherhood originally started out as the same blues band under various names, members eventually evolved into their current group, playing music that covers many genres, all reflec...]]>
Joel DaSilva http://illinoistimes.com/article-18884-joel-dasilva.html Joel DaSilva
 This nationally renowned blues/roots musician is hitting the road as part of his “Fire and the Fury Tour” and preparing for the latest release of a new album that’s the follow-up to his ac...]]>
Mr. Opporknockity http://illinoistimes.com/article-18858-mr-opporknockity.html Mr. Opporknockity
 It seems just like yesteryear! In 1997, Troy Roark and Doug Gholson broke on the scene as Mr. Opporknockity with “Lisa’s Shirt,” a bona fide, local hit song on WDBR-FM from the acoustic gu...]]>
Sarah Shook & the Disarmers http://illinoistimes.com/article-18835-sarah-shook-the-disarmers.html Sarah Shook & the Disarmers
 Hell-bent on being about as rough and tumble as a gal can be, while simultaneously coming across as a contemporary country cat out to even the score with every lowdown dog around, Sarah Shook se...]]>
Blacktop South http://illinoistimes.com/article-18809-blacktop-south.html Blacktop South
Hailing from the river town of Quincy, this blues, country, Southern rock and classic rock quintet takes on songs familiar to average Midwest music lovers, then gives the tunes a slight twist to make...]]>