IllinoisTimes - Band Spotlight http://illinoistimes.com/articles.sec-71-1-band-spotlight.html Sun, 20 Apr 14 00:00:00 -0500 en hourly 1 Wicked Walls http://illinoistimes.com/article-13762-wicked-walls.html Wicked Walls
 After eight years of many record releases and live performances, the highly respected and much appreciated, Champaign-Urbana based group, New Ruins, split up back in 2012. From the ashes, co-fou...]]>
The Todd Henry and Stan Kupish Show http://illinoistimes.com/article-13722-the-todd-henry-and-stan-kupish-show.html The Todd Henry and Stan Kupish Show
 If you notice a couple guys sporting goofy glasses, wacky wigs, Elvis suits complete with sideburns, jumbo jackets, silly shirts, hilarious hats, all picked and paired at a moment’s notice to...]]>
Hooten Hallers http://illinoistimes.com/article-13691-hooten-hallers.html Hooten Hallers
 Formed in Columbia, Mo., circa 2006, as a duo of John Randall on gunslinger guitar and Andy Rehm on destroyer drums, The Hooten Hallers toured the country espousing the glories of modern hillbil...]]>
Billy Don Burns http://illinoistimes.com/article-13660-billy-don-burns.html Billy Don Burns
 Every review about the music of Billy Don Burns compares him with the greats of country music such as Merle Haggard, Willie Nelson, Johnny Cash and Waylon Jennings. Indeed, Burns has rubbed shou...]]>
Stoney LaRue http://illinoistimes.com/article-13641-stoney-larue.html Stoney LaRue
An integral member of the “Red Dirt” music movement that shot out of southeastern Oklahoma several years ago to set the rock-country-roots world on fire, Stoney LaRue is well known for his fiery a...]]>
The Emerald Underground http://illinoistimes.com/article-13615-the-emerald-underground.html The Emerald Underground
 From origins as one of the first groups in central Illinois to play Celtic music with a rock feel, The Emerald Underground has evolved for over a decade, continuing to be a steady and vibrant fo...]]>
Charlie King http://illinoistimes.com/article-13559-charlie-king.html Charlie King
 After 50 years of performing and 40 years of songwriting, the quite well known and extremely well traveled, Charlie King celebrates by releasing another record and making a Midwest March tour. T...]]>
After Sunset http://illinoistimes.com/article-13533-after-sunset.html After Sunset
 An advantage of bringing together experienced members to form a new band is the immediate set list gained from finding a common ground through previously learned music. The combination of Rod Gr...]]>
Sally Barris http://illinoistimes.com/article-13504-sally-barris.html Sally Barris
 Recognized as one of the finest of the many singer-songwriters in the folky, Americana genre today, Sally Barris holds her own as both an evocative singer and striking songwriter. Ever since she...]]>
John Corbett http://illinoistimes.com/article-13471-john-corbett.html John Corbett
 Yes, it’s the same John Corbett from “Northern Exposure,” “Sex in the City,” My Big Fat Greek Wedding and Walgreen’s commercial voice-overs. He also happens to live with longtime par...]]>
Sunshine Daydream http://illinoistimes.com/article-13446-sunshine-daydream.html Sunshine Daydream
 If you are a Deadhead, that is a fan of all things Grateful Dead related, this is a show for you. With more than 50 Dead songs in the repertoire, along with a few additions from the Jerry Garcia...]]>
The Strumbellas http://illinoistimes.com/article-13416-the-strumbellas.html The Strumbellas
 Rolling in from the Great White North, to tour through the U.S. Midwest, The Strumbellas hail from Lindsay, Ontario (that’s in Canada, folks), bringing a brand new album, We Still Move on...]]>
Moot Davis http://illinoistimes.com/article-13404-moot-davis.html Moot Davis
 With 22 show dates in 23 days, Moot Davis is on the move. Leaving his home state of New Jersey on Jan. 20, the country-crooner, singer-songwriter travels cross country playing duo dates with his...]]>
Ras Kass and Copywrite http://illinoistimes.com/article-13366-ras-kass-and-copywrite.html Ras Kass and Copywrite
 On the road for their Writer’s Block Tour, national rap stars Ras Kass and Copywrite started in Yuma, Ariz., last week and continue to travel the country making a stop at Bar None during Torch...]]>
Juke House http://illinoistimes.com/article-13339-juke-house.html Juke House
 Taking a cue and a name from the old “juke joints” of the 40s and 50s that hosted wild and crazy dance nights with groups doing the jump band style, Juke House revives the good-time music wi...]]>
Wir Können - Tuesday, Jan. 7, 7pm http://illinoistimes.com/article-13306-wir%25C2%25A0k%25C3%25B6nnen.html Wir Können - Tuesday, Jan. 7, 7pm
 Direct from somewhere around here comes “three guys who play music, sometimes sad, sometimes not,” with a name in German that means, “We Can,” complete with Germanic-styled umlaut and ev...]]>
This Must Be the Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-13293-this-must-be-the-band.html This Must Be the Band
 Coming from Chicago and claiming to be best, and incidentally, the only Talking Heads tribute band from the Windy City, This Must Be the Band likes being faux T-Heads a lot. How they best like t...]]>
Tim Easton http://illinoistimes.com/article-13245-tim-easton.html Tim Easton
 Nashville-based singer-songwriter, guitarist Tim Easton gets around. His 2013 itinerary included Europe, Japan, Alaska, Texas, the East Coast and now a nine day run through the Midwest. The accl...]]>
Lowder and Manning http://illinoistimes.com/article-13213-lowder-and-manning.html Lowder and Manning
 If there was ever a dynamic duo in the performing singer-songwriter world, these two seasoned performers and musicians could most certainly fit the bill. The combination of Jill Manning’s roug...]]>
Whiskey Medicine http://illinoistimes.com/article-13154-whiskey-medicine.html Whiskey Medicine
 Ready for a shot of good music that will knock you for a loop like a good blast of decent whiskey? Welcome the high-energy sounds of Whiskey Medicine to the Springfield scene as band mates Heath...]]>
Off the Wall http://illinoistimes.com/article-13135-off-the-wall.html Off the Wall
 What do you call a bunch of Springfield musicians who’ve played in bands for years, who like to get a little crazy and who love to push the musical envelope? How about Off the Wall with the ki...]]>
Smile Empty Soul http://illinoistimes.com/article-13096-smile-empty-soul.html Smile Empty Soul
 Here comes a Southern California alternative rock trio in support of a new record headlining a traveling rock show at Catch. Sean Danielsen (guitar, vocals), Ryan Martin (bass) and Jake Kilmer (...]]>
Studebaker John http://illinoistimes.com/article-13024-studebaker-john.html Studebaker John
 Young John Grimaldi was born and raised in an Italian-American neighborhood in Chicago. His first taste of music came in the form of a harmonica at age 7. Soon he visited the famed Maxwell Stree...]]>
Terri Clark http://illinoistimes.com/article-12995-terri-clark.html Terri Clark
PHOTO COURTESY CHEEKY MONKEY Terri Clark joined the prestigious Grand Ole Opry in 2004 as the only female Canadian on the show. She grew up in Montreal, where her maternal grandparents were well ...]]>
Kentucky Knife Fight http://illinoistimes.com/article-12961-kentucky-knife-fight.html Kentucky Knife Fight
 From a raucous beginning during an open mic night at the Stagger Inn Again in Edwardsville, Kentucky Knife Fight has grown through the years into a formidable, well-respected, award-winning grou...]]>
Ezra Furman and the Harpoons http://illinoistimes.com/article-12928-ezra-furman-and-the-harpoons.html Ezra Furman and the Harpoons
 A performing songwriter since 2006, Ezra Furman hangs out in the indie-rock, folk-rock, original music land and calls Chicago home. With the Harpoons, the group delivers ferociously friendly sou...]]>
Groundhog Day http://illinoistimes.com/article-12904-groundhog-day.html Groundhog Day
When bassist Brian Phillips (from Wonder Why) and lead guitarist Danny “The Kid” Schroeder (from the Outnumbered) were forming a new band, Phillips mentioned the process was just like band beginni...]]>
Hat Trick http://illinoistimes.com/article-12879-hat-trick.html Hat Trick
Founded in 2010 by Barry Woodworth (drums, vocals) and Gene Bennett (guitar, vocals), in 2013 Hat Trick added former member of The Backliners, Steve Harvey (bass, vocals) to complete the rock power tr...]]>
Herman Astro http://illinoistimes.com/article-12854-herman-astro.html Herman Astro
A solidified, totally on it and in it band back in 2009, Milwaukee-based quartet Herman Astro shows up ready to rock, bringing a funky attitude with a soulful edge all wrapped up in gritty guitars and...]]>
Last Chance http://illinoistimes.com/article-12821-last-chance.html Last Chance
A local private space since 1991, the Last Chance Bar and Lab hosted several outstanding musicians and concerts through the years, while also being a band practice place. The Last Chance Blues Band, a...]]>