IllinoisTimes - Band Spotlight http://illinoistimes.com/articles.sec-71-1-band-spotlight.html Thu, 23 Oct 14 00:00:00 -0500 en hourly 1 Charlie Parr  http://illinoistimes.com/article-14611-charlie-parr%25C2%25A0.html Charlie Parr 
 Often musicians who emulate a sound from the past are destined to succumb to the public perception of revivalist or tribute artist, but Charlie Parr consistently rises above such notions while p...]]>
Icon for Hire  http://illinoistimes.com/article-14585-icon-for-hire%25C2%25A0.html Icon for Hire 
 Originally from Decatur, our neighbor city to the east, this ambitious and inventive combo creates pop-punk, near-rap, electronic-alternative rock music that reaches into the collective consciou...]]>
Jarekus Singleton Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-14556-jarekus-singleton-band.html Jarekus Singleton Band
 Brand new is not a term often associated with the blues, a genre steeped in tradition and rooted in form, but the talent and energy of Jarekus Singleton is challenging that conception. Combining...]]>
Kris Bell Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-14526-kris-bell-band.html Kris Bell Band
 Billed as an “American Rock” band with “rockin’ your ass and meltin’ your face!” as a motto, the Kris Bell Band makes powerful rock with a groove, laden with melodic hooks and blazin...]]>
Koffin Kats http://illinoistimes.com/article-14498-koffin-kats.html Koffin Kats
 The hole was dug for the Koffin Kats back in 2003 near Detroit, Michigan, when Vic Victor (lead vocals, upright bass) hooked up with longtime friend Tommy Koffin (guitar), then added Damian Detr...]]>
Jukebox Casanova http://illinoistimes.com/article-14486-jukebox-casanova.html Jukebox Casanova
 Any telling of the story of this band comes drenched in sadness with the recent loss of founding member Ben Underwood (mandolin, vocals, occasional drums). But as co-founder Bernie Flesch (vocal...]]>
The Whistle Pigs http://illinoistimes.com/article-14433-the-whistle-pigs.html The Whistle Pigs
 Named after a large rodent otherwise known as a groundhog or sometimes as a woodchuck, these fellers are a trio of dyed-in-the-wool, hillbilly honky-tonkers out to have fun and make music. Haili...]]>
John Byrne Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-14405-john-byrne-band.html John Byrne Band
 John Byrne grew up listening to and playing the most traditional of old Irish songs in his homeland hometown of Dublin, Ireland, but also fell under the influence of American and British rock an...]]>
Ocean State http://illinoistimes.com/article-14377-ocean-state.html Ocean State
 Formed in early 2014, Ocean State performs a classic selection of American country, blues and jazz standards along with a good splash of Brazilian-based, samba-influenced compositions. The can�...]]>
Micah Walk http://illinoistimes.com/article-14346-micah-walk.html Micah Walk
 From his prolific recording output to consistent live music performances in an array of combos, singer-songwriter, guitarist and bandleader Micah Walk is an integral part of making music around ...]]>
Mike Miller http://illinoistimes.com/article-14312-mike-miller.html Mike Miller
 As a founder and longtime member of the popular “trop rock” band Boat Drunks, Mike Miller spends his time making music. He retired from the BDs in 2008 after several successful years, then r...]]>
Clare Dunn http://illinoistimes.com/article-14283-clare-dunn.html Clare Dunn
From her rural raisings in southeast Colorado, farm girl Clare Dunn came out from behind the plow to plant seeds into country music’s field of opportunity. Once, she spent her time driving trucks an...]]>
Captain Geech and the Shrimp Shack Shooters http://illinoistimes.com/article-14252-captain-geech-and-the-shrimp-shack-shooters.html Captain Geech and the Shrimp Shack Shooters
 Born in 2001 from an epiphany reached by J Bird (drums, lead vocals) after watching the 1996 Tom Hanks’ film That Thing You Do!, and raised with the consciousness to please a crowd, especially...]]>
Marina V http://illinoistimes.com/article-14220-marina-v.html Marina V
 From Russia with love comes the irrepressible Marina V (short for Verenikina) dashing across the U.S. with her “C Minor to Shining Sea” summer tour in full swing. Some years ago, the Russian...]]>
Cats on Holiday http://illinoistimes.com/article-14189-cats-on-holiday.html Cats on Holiday
 No doubt one of the most popular hometown bands (if not the one) in Springfield rock history, Cats on Holiday continue to draw big time, some 30 years after conception. The core group...]]>
The Driftaways http://illinoistimes.com/article-14162-the-driftaways.html The Driftaways
 Music travels beyond the boundaries of regions, allowing for things like this: One of the best reggae-influenced bands in the Midwest comes from the St. Louis area. Mixing up a whole bunch of Ja...]]>
Albert Castiglia http://illinoistimes.com/article-14135-albert-castiglia.html Albert Castiglia
 When your break in the blues world comes from being discovered by an iconic character such as the great harmonica man Junior Wells (with Buddy Guy for years), things are just going your way. &nb...]]>
Young Luck http://illinoistimes.com/article-14109-young-luck.html Young Luck
 How lucky it is to be young and in a band! Young Luck began in mid-November of 2012 when Fedor and the Power Trio morphed into a kicking band blowing down the road like a rock ’n’ roll freig...]]>
Tom Keifer http://illinoistimes.com/article-14083-tom-keifer.html Tom Keifer
 Best known as the voice of blues-rock band Cinderella, famed for such cuts as “Nobody’s Fool” and “Don’t Know What You Got,” Tom Keifer began working on his solo album right after th...]]>
Big Guy and the Mob http://illinoistimes.com/article-14055-big-guy-and-the-mob.html Big Guy and the Mob
 What could be more fitting for a Father’s Day weekend show than a band formed by a father and stepson? Mark Bott (lead vocals) and Danny “the Kid” Schroeder (lead guitar), seasoned musicia...]]>
New City Road http://illinoistimes.com/article-13997-new-city-road.html New City Road
 Named after a blacktop south of town, New City Road plays country music of the hot and modern type, keeping the traditions alive while still rockin’. Originally formed a year or so ago, the ba...]]>
Tok http://illinoistimes.com/article-13965-tok.html Tok
 Coming to rock Springfield for the first time, brothers Bryan and Matt Basler make a “power-duo” unlike any other. Voted the best rock band in St. Louis for 2013 by readers of the Riverfront...]]>
Dog of Panic http://illinoistimes.com/article-13931-dog-of-panic.html Dog of Panic
 For five years running, Dan Rohde (guitar, lead vocals), Josh Begue (bass, vocals) and Jesse Miller (drums, vocals) made Dog of Panic one of the area’s most interesting bands. Playing original...]]>
Fallen Angel http://illinoistimes.com/article-13901-fallen-angel.html Fallen Angel
 For the last two years Fallen Angel fell out of sight, but now they’re back, brandishing their proud and proper tribute to the incredibly popular 80’s band Poison for public perusal. Origina...]]>
Pimpin Henry http://illinoistimes.com/article-13819-pimpin-henry.html Pimpin Henry
 Fresh from a refreshing outing at last weekend’s Crowe Fest, Brad Jamison (vocals, bass), Doug Shannon (drums), Dustin Strother (guitar, vocals) and newest member Mike Tash (keys) are on a rol...]]>
Rosie Flores http://illinoistimes.com/article-13794-rosie-flores.html Rosie Flores
 A frequent visitor to Springfield since her appearance at The Alley in the early days of the Sangamon Valley Roots Revival, Rosie Flores never makes it back soon enough. The “Rockabilly Filly�...]]>
Wicked Walls http://illinoistimes.com/article-13762-wicked-walls.html Wicked Walls
 After eight years of many record releases and live performances, the highly respected and much appreciated, Champaign-Urbana based group, New Ruins, split up back in 2012. From the ashes, co-fou...]]>
The Todd Henry and Stan Kupish Show http://illinoistimes.com/article-13722-the-todd-henry-and-stan-kupish-show.html The Todd Henry and Stan Kupish Show
 If you notice a couple guys sporting goofy glasses, wacky wigs, Elvis suits complete with sideburns, jumbo jackets, silly shirts, hilarious hats, all picked and paired at a moment’s notice to...]]>
Hooten Hallers http://illinoistimes.com/article-13691-hooten-hallers.html Hooten Hallers
 Formed in Columbia, Mo., circa 2006, as a duo of John Randall on gunslinger guitar and Andy Rehm on destroyer drums, The Hooten Hallers toured the country espousing the glories of modern hillbil...]]>
Billy Don Burns http://illinoistimes.com/article-13660-billy-don-burns.html Billy Don Burns
 Every review about the music of Billy Don Burns compares him with the greats of country music such as Merle Haggard, Willie Nelson, Johnny Cash and Waylon Jennings. Indeed, Burns has rubbed shou...]]>