IllinoisTimes - Band Spotlight http://illinoistimes.com/articles.sec-71-1-band-spotlight.html Wed, 23 Aug 17 00:00:00 -0500 en hourly 1 The Lucky Losers http://illinoistimes.com/article-19023-the-lucky-losers.html The Lucky Losers
Heads up, folks! Here comes the best from the west, as Cathy Lemons (vocals) and Phil Berkowitz (vocals, harmonica) bring The Lucky Losers in from San Francisco by way of a Midwest tour. Known as the...]]>
New City Road http://illinoistimes.com/article-18983-new-city-road.html New City Road
 Named after a country blacktop heading south out of town that could tell some tales if it could, this band is full of authentic local country musicians that could (and do) tell some tales of the...]]>
Midnight River Choir http://illinoistimes.com/article-18953-midnight-river-choir.html Midnight River Choir
 This Texas quartet (they’re really from New Braunfels, but people just say Austin) got their name from an incident on the first night they met. While floating together down the Guadalupe River...]]>
Joshua Reilly http://illinoistimes.com/article-18929-joshua-reilly.html Joshua Reilly
 A Springfield-area native and now Clearwater, Florida, resident, this talented and engaging guitarist, singer and songwriter in the Americana vein released his first full-length album on July 5....]]>
The Brotherhood http://illinoistimes.com/article-18906-the-brotherhood.html The Brotherhood
 Although The Brotherhood originally started out as the same blues band under various names, members eventually evolved into their current group, playing music that covers many genres, all reflec...]]>
Joel DaSilva http://illinoistimes.com/article-18884-joel-dasilva.html Joel DaSilva
 This nationally renowned blues/roots musician is hitting the road as part of his “Fire and the Fury Tour” and preparing for the latest release of a new album that’s the follow-up to his ac...]]>
Mr. Opporknockity http://illinoistimes.com/article-18858-mr-opporknockity.html Mr. Opporknockity
 It seems just like yesteryear! In 1997, Troy Roark and Doug Gholson broke on the scene as Mr. Opporknockity with “Lisa’s Shirt,” a bona fide, local hit song on WDBR-FM from the acoustic gu...]]>
Sarah Shook & the Disarmers http://illinoistimes.com/article-18835-sarah-shook-the-disarmers.html Sarah Shook & the Disarmers
 Hell-bent on being about as rough and tumble as a gal can be, while simultaneously coming across as a contemporary country cat out to even the score with every lowdown dog around, Sarah Shook se...]]>
Blacktop South http://illinoistimes.com/article-18809-blacktop-south.html Blacktop South
Hailing from the river town of Quincy, this blues, country, Southern rock and classic rock quintet takes on songs familiar to average Midwest music lovers, then gives the tunes a slight twist to make...]]>
Greg Finger Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-18783-greg-finger-band.html Greg Finger Band
 Growing up in the suburbs of Cincinnati, a young Greg Finger became fascinated by the sounds he created on an old, out-of-tune upright piano his parents purchased for him while he was still in g...]]>
Rays http://illinoistimes.com/article-18754-rays.html Rays
 Hailing from Oakland, California, bandmates Stanley Martinez (guitar, vocals, violin), Eve Hannan (bass, vocals), Alexa Pantalone (drums, synth) and Troy Hewitt (guitar, organ, piano, synth) are...]]>
Aileeah Colgan http://illinoistimes.com/article-18742-aileeah-colgan.html Aileeah Colgan
 Hailing from Peoria and recently signed to Green Show Records in East Peoria, Ms. Colgan is making waves in the regional music scene and heading for bigger things. She’s performed VIP pre-show...]]>
Creole Stomp http://illinoistimes.com/article-18704-creole-stomp.html Creole Stomp
 You won’t find a better band replicating the sounds of Cajun and Zydeco through original songs and traditional tunes, but these dashing and daring musicians of high caliber cheerfully toss in...]]>
Chris Antonik http://illinoistimes.com/article-18671-chris-antonik.html Chris Antonik
 Considered one of Canada’s most acclaimed blues artists since being nominated for the “Best New Artist” award in 2011 at the Maple Blues Awards, guitar-playing and songwriting bluesman Chr...]]>
Chris Vallillo http://illinoistimes.com/article-18645-chris-vallillo.html Chris Vallillo
 A nationally-acclaimed singer-songwriter, folklorist, musician and producer, Chris Vallillo has cultivated a status as the go-to guy for original and traditional folk-based song-playing during h...]]>
Alec James http://illinoistimes.com/article-18625-alec-james.html Alec James
 Sometimes the best descriptions come from the artists themselves, and in this case we get: “Alec James is a musician and songwriter in the central Illinois area. He plays guitar, harmonica and...]]>
JC Brooks http://illinoistimes.com/article-18582-jc-brooks.html JC Brooks
 A force on the national scene for several years now, what started as a lark with a band called Uptown Sound has morphed into a major career of increasing proportions for JC Brooks. Based out of...]]>
Kofi Baker’s Cream Experience http://illinoistimes.com/article-18558-kofi-baker%25E2%2580%2599s-cream-experience.html Kofi Baker’s Cream Experience
 What does the son of legendary, iconic drummer Ginger Baker do with the drumming gene? He plays music on the drums, and that’s what Kofi Baker does. Beginning with a drumming debut TV experien...]]>
Baaad Boyz http://illinoistimes.com/article-18530-baaad-boyz.html Baaad Boyz
 When music works, it works, and when these bad boys play, they are truly Baaad Boyz. Bandmates Tony Young (vocals), Marcus Taylor (drums), Charles Foxx (bass), Jerry Cole (keyboards) and John Vi...]]>
The Good Companions http://illinoistimes.com/article-18484-the-good-companions.html The Good Companions
 Founded in 2014 “out of a mutual love of good songcraft and honest live performance,” bandmates Colin Helton (guitar, vocals) and Danny Kerwin (bass, vocals) started out, as all good musical...]]>
Andy Logan and the O.C. 75s http://illinoistimes.com/article-18457-andy-logan-and-the-oc-75s.html Andy Logan and the O.C. 75s
If you’ve got a hankering for some electric blues, rock or psychedelic, guitar-based music, look no further than Andy Logan and the O.C. 75s. Mr. Logan, along with John Hussey, his comrade in the 80...]]>
Fireside Relics http://illinoistimes.com/article-18432-fireside-relics.html Fireside Relics
 With the release of Shot Out the Saddle, the second, full-length recording of original material from Fireside Relics, the band looks to “establish themselves as heavy hitters” within the Spr...]]>
Lyman Ellerman and the Cause http://illinoistimes.com/article-18403-lyman-ellerman-and-the-cause.html Lyman Ellerman and the Cause
 Whenever Lyman Ellerman returns to the home turf from his songwriter life in Nashville, Tennessee, be prepared for a full onslaught of original Southern rock tunes done Ellerman-style with an at...]]>
The Emerald Underground http://illinoistimes.com/article-18377-the-emerald-underground.html The Emerald Underground
 Our longest-running Celtic-influenced band continues performing like nobody’s business during the St. Patrick’s Day celebration in Springfield, albeit with a new lineup in action. Though the...]]>
Galen Weston Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-18347-galen-weston-band.html Galen Weston Band
 Blazing a trail from Toronto across the world in the jazz-fusion-blues crossroads of music, Galen Weston is the guy who gets quotes like “a guitar tour de force, the kind they just don’t mak...]]>
Rockin’ Johnny Burgin http://illinoistimes.com/article-18323-rockin%25E2%2580%2599-johnny-burgin.html Rockin’ Johnny Burgin
 A man on the move, Rockin’ Johnny has really been rocking in the past year. He relocated to California from Chicago, toured mainland Europe between Halloween and Christmas, promoted a CD, reco...]]>
Ty Brando http://illinoistimes.com/article-18307-ty-brando.html Ty Brando
 Originally from the Taylorville area, Ty took off for Nashville about 10 years ago with dreams of becoming a songwriter in Music City, U.S.A. By that time, he’d been a writer and performer sin...]]>
Great American Taxi http://illinoistimes.com/article-18275-great-american-taxi.html Great American Taxi
 With a new album out (Dr. Feelgood’s Traveling Medicine Show released on Feb. 3) featuring production work by Tim Carbone of Railroad Earth and new member Arthur Lee Land (guitar, banjo, vocal...]]>
The Loops http://illinoistimes.com/article-18230-the-loops.html The Loops
 After a year of working out the kinks and playing “sparingly” around town, The Loops are now ready to roll onto the local scene in full force. With names you’ll recognize as familiar faces...]]>
Switchback http://illinoistimes.com/article-18202-switchback.html Switchback
 Since 1993, Martin McCormack (bass, vocals) and Brian FitzGerald (guitar, mandolin, vocals), known as the duo Switchback, have released several CDs of Celtic and Americana music and traveled a g...]]>