IllinoisTimes - Band Spotlight http://illinoistimes.com/articles.sec-71-1-band-spotlight.html Fri, 25 May 18 00:00:00 -0500 en hourly 1 Stuart Smith http://illinoistimes.com/article-20032-stuart-smith.html Stuart Smith
 Hailing from the west central Illinois town of Winchester, Mr. Smith’s been performing in Springfield for some time now, and the gifted singer, songwriter and versatile guitarist recently expa...]]>
Jesse W. Johnson Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-19998-jesse-w-johnson-band.html Jesse W. Johnson Band
Originally a resident of Springfield before relocating to Champaign, Jesse W. Johnson then moved to Chicago, where he made a splash as the frontman and songwriter in Jet W. Lee, a band that successful...]]>
The Pine Mountain Logs http://illinoistimes.com/article-19976-the-pine-mountain-logs.html The Pine Mountain Logs
 When they say “you’re not bragging if it’s a fact,” those “theys” could be talking about The Pine Mountain Logs, who claim to be “The World’s Best Cover Band with International F...]]>
Live Wire http://illinoistimes.com/article-19946-live-wire.html Live Wire
There’s a good chance you’ll recognize this band name, as this group has been around town for some 25 years now, with Denny Lucas (guitars, keys, vocals) being the beating heart and caring soul of...]]>
The Blue Lotus Soul Revue http://illinoistimes.com/article-19938-the-blue-lotus-soul-revue.html The Blue Lotus Soul Revue
 Roland Johnson and Gene Jackson spent their adults lives involved in the soul and rhythm and blues live music scenes in the St. Louis area – Jackson since the mid 70s and Johnson since the lat...]]>
Mr. Opporknockity http://illinoistimes.com/article-19903-mr-opporknockity.html Mr. Opporknockity
 Back for one more reunion show that celebrates 21 years of togetherness, Mr. O still rules the roost in the local “original music with a few covers” category. After a strong showing in the l...]]>
Six Rows Back http://illinoistimes.com/article-19891-six-rows-back.html Six Rows Back
 Started in 2016 as a group of friends who enjoy playing music together, the story of Six Rows Back remains the same, just with more songs on the set list. When Caprice Ciota-Hardin (guitar, voca...]]>
Bruce Katz Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-19851-bruce-katz-band.html Bruce Katz Band
 When so many blues cats play guitar while the blues master is on keyboards, the music is that much more special. When the dude on the keys is Bruce Katz, you are indeed in for a very special, sp...]]>
Midnight River Choir http://illinoistimes.com/article-19828-midnight-river-choir.html Midnight River Choir
 Folks around these parts sure like these Texas-groove band dudes who met while singing songs as they floated down the Guadalupe River some years ago. The mysterious “Midnight River Choir” he...]]>
Corey Dennison Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-19805-corey-dennison-band.html Corey Dennison Band
 Chattanooga-born, Chicago-based and award-winning blues guitarist Corey Dennison is on a roll in the big-time blues world. After a decade-long run with Carl Weathersby, Dennison created a “dyn...]]>
The Emerald Underground http://illinoistimes.com/article-19790-the-emerald-underground.html The Emerald Underground
 Springfield’s original Celtic fusion band has evolved more than a few times and ways since hitting the scene as Stone Ring Circle in the early 21st century. They’ve travelled many roads and...]]>
Susan Williams & Wright Groove http://illinoistimes.com/article-19753-susan-williams-wright-groove.html Susan Williams & Wright Groove
 A recent competitor at the 2018 International Blues Challenge in Memphis, this Chicago-based quartet delivers a funky, dual bass player approach to the world of blues. Susan Williams, known to S...]]>
Jim Scott http://illinoistimes.com/article-19730-jim-scott.html Jim Scott
 Jim Scott has added much to our human consciousness in terms of song and substance, very possibly influencing your life without you knowing it. From his work as guitarist with the Paul Winter Co...]]>
Mike Zabrin’s Funktastic http://illinoistimes.com/article-19710-mike-zabrin%25E2%2580%2599s-funktastic.html Mike Zabrin’s Funktastic
 You fans of funk are in for a treat, as Mike Zabrin, a young, modern master of the bass guitar, brings his entourage known as Funktastic to town. Zabrin, still in his mid-twenties, has toured th...]]>
Ryman's Way http://illinoistimes.com/article-19685-rymans-way.html Ryman's Way
Relatively new on the Springfield band scene, Ryman’s Way takes their name from the Ryman Auditorium, the renowned building in Nashville that housed the Grand Ole Opry for decades during the heyday...]]>
The Chickadee Sermon http://illinoistimes.com/article-19661-the-chickadee-sermon.html The Chickadee Sermon
 What’s a chickadee have to do with a sermon? Well, one way to find out is to check out the acoustic folk act named The Chickadee Sermon, appearing downtown at Tacology 101 on Friday. The resta...]]>
Porter Union http://illinoistimes.com/article-19648-porter-union.html Porter Union
 This wife-and-husband music duo of Cole Michael Porter and Kendra Porter hails from Springfield, Missouri, with a startup history that reads like a country music fairy tale. The two met a decade...]]>
ZXO http://illinoistimes.com/article-19617-zxo.html ZXO
 This Saturday, ZXO comes strolling over from Champaign to the lower level Radon Lounge (contact info at radonlounge@gmail.com) with several other fine music acts from around the area. Bandmates...]]>
Astrofix http://illinoistimes.com/article-19588-astrofix.html Astrofix
 Hailing from towns in central Illinois, friends and bandmates Jamie Merideth (vocals, keys), Phil Cooper (rhythm guitar), Dave Primeaux (lead guitar), Aaron Kaufmann (bass) and Jake McNamara (dr...]]>
Jared Grabb http://illinoistimes.com/article-19568-jared-grabb.html Jared Grabb
 This Peoria native is making a splash in the folk-indie-Americana mold by breaking the mold and simply playing good, original music in a sensible and poetic way. Not much on hype and hyperbole,...]]>
Dylan Scott http://illinoistimes.com/article-19541-dylan-scott.html Dylan Scott
This Louisiana native headed for Nashville with a dream in mind, and he’s chasing it, reaching it, and becoming a major force in the country music business. Dylan spent his early days hanging around...]]>
Devin Williams Band http://illinoistimes.com/article-19526-devin-williams-band.html Devin Williams Band
 Known for his easygoing blues music and hopped-up reggae beats, this young, singing guitarist brings on the music with a style and confidence that belies his age and experience. With Devin playi...]]>
James Armstrong http://illinoistimes.com/article-19491-james-armstrong.html James Armstrong
 Known the world over (well, practically) as the “Ambassador of the Blues,” Springfield is proud to claim James Armstrong as a resident. With a jazz guitarist for a father and a blues singer...]]>
The Meerkat Mobsters http://illinoistimes.com/article-19455-the-meerkat-mobsters.html The Meerkat Mobsters
 When the pumped up, high-rockin, rockabilly trio The Meerkat Mobsters, featuring Springfield resident Mark Mills (guitar, vocals), Ray Biagioni (drums) from Oglesby and Rick Topolski (stand-up b...]]>
Textbook http://illinoistimes.com/article-19428-textbook.html Textbook
Based out of Chicago, this quartet of possible punks (the musical kind) formed in 1998 using “’90s alternative and ’80s punk with a dash of midwestern roots-rock” to create a modern, American...]]>
Christian Lopez http://illinoistimes.com/article-19406-christian-lopez.html Christian Lopez
 This West Virginia native now resides in Nashville, Tennessee, and uses the Music City for a home base to bring his particular style of Americana music to the masses. Lopez recorded his debut al...]]>
Craig Gerdes http://illinoistimes.com/article-19355-craig-gerdes.html Craig Gerdes
 Part of the burgeoning, modern, underground, outlaw, country music field, Craig Gerdes is makin’ tracks and on the move. His latest release, Smokin’, Drinkin’ & Gamblin’ (Sol records...]]>
Kyle Nachtigal http://illinoistimes.com/article-19281-kyle-nachtigal.html Kyle Nachtigal
Originally from another Springfield, specifically that one in Missouri, this talented guitarist, singer and songwriter has lived in Nashville, Tennessee, since 2009. He studied at Belmont University i...]]>
James Armstrong http://illinoistimes.com/article-19249-james-armstrong.html James Armstrong
 Known as the “Ambassador of the Blues” and also as a resident of Springfield, Mr. Armstrong gets all the credit for being an excellent and constantly touring guitar player with sharp songwri...]]>
Spicy Pickles http://illinoistimes.com/article-19182-spicy-pickles.html Spicy Pickles
 Based out of Denver, Colorado, these guys get around while spreading the great sounds of swing music and traditional jazz. Bandleader Joe Smith has a couple more groups in Denver (the Joe Smith...]]>