Home / Tag: Illinois State Museum
Thursday, Sept. 24, 2015 12:20 am

Address at the reopening of Dickson Mounds

 Rich Miller is on vacation.Eleven thousand years ago no human beings yet lived in the central Illinois river valley. The climate was cool and glaciers from the last great ice age still covered p...
Thursday, July 30, 2015 12:01 am
 “This is incredible,” I said to Lindsay Record. Record has long been a driving force in the Illinois Stewardship Alliance (ISA), a primary proponent of local, sustainable farming. I’d call...
Thursday, April 2, 2015 12:01 am

Contemplating antique glass paperweights

 In a climate in which open windows are as rare as an honest tax return, I don’t need paperweights on my desk. I have one anyway. It’s a segment of a plexiglass cylinder in which seem to floa...
Wednesday, Dec. 24, 2014 12:01 am
 Get the kids out of the house and keep their brains sharp this winter break with the Illinois State Museum’s Winter Holiday Search. The free activity is available for pickup at the museum’s...
Thursday, Nov. 13, 2014 12:01 am
 Come on down to Sangamon Auditorium on Monday, Nov. 17, at 7:30 p.m. for The Price is Right Live, an interactive production of the hit TV game show by the same name. This high-energy stage show...
Thursday, June 26, 2014 12:01 am
 Families will have the opportunity to discover where food from their dinner plates comes from during Amazing Agriculture at the Illinois State Museum Saturday, June 28. Activities planned includ...
Thursday, May 1, 2014 12:01 am
 We’re excited about these new Friday night shindigs at the Illinois State Museum. This Friday, May 2, is another good time to explore the museum when they present a Latin-themed evening called...
Thursday, April 3, 2014 12:01 am
 Illinois State Museum joins downtown First Fridays with an event for science, art, history, music and beer lovers. Art + Science Craft Beer is set from 5-8 p.m. Find curators and scientists who...
Thursday, Feb. 20, 2014 12:01 am
Illinois State Museum is planning a fun and educational Saturday for families and individuals on Feb. 22. Learn about the heritage and traditions of various world cultures through hands-on crafts, int...
Thursday, Nov. 14, 2013 12:01 am

Nov. 16, 11am, 1pm and 3pm

 Rob Mies, TV personality, conservation biologist, bat expert, author and executive director of Organization for Bat Conservation, will speak about traveling the world to discover the truly uniqu...



  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
Get "IT" in your inbox