IllinoisTimes - Cinemascoping https://illinoistimes.com/articles.sec-141-1-cinemascoping.html Sun, 20 Jan 19 00:00:00 -0500 en hourly 1 Barry Jenkins Brings Intimacy, Sincerity to “Beale Street” https://illinoistimes.com/article-20848-barry-jenkins-brings-intimacy-sincerity-to-%25E2%2580%259Cbeale-street%25E2%2580%259D.html Barry Jenkins Brings Intimacy, Sincerity to “Beale Street”
There’s a calmness about director Barry Jenkins that belies his enthusiastic approach to his work.  Upon arriving in the lobby of the Waldorf-Astoria in Chicago, he nearly gets lost in the crow...]]>
Unexpected Depths Drives “Widows” https://illinoistimes.com/article-20664-unexpected-depths-drives-%25E2%2580%259Cwidows%25E2%2580%259D.html Unexpected Depths Drives “Widows”
After having examined the dehumanizing effects of prison (Hunger), the inescapable quality of sexual addiction (Shame) and the heinous nature of American slavery (12 Years a Slave), tackling a heist f...]]>
Newly Restored "Fog" Still Manages to Chill https://illinoistimes.com/article-20574-newly-restored-fog-still-manages-to-chill.html Newly Restored "Fog" Still Manages to Chill
Having shocked the movie world with the success of Halloween in 1978, John Carpenter’s big-screen follow-up was a relatively exorbitant production by comparison. With $1 million at his disposal – ...]]>
Divided Siblings Drive "Sisters" https://illinoistimes.com/article-20552-divided-siblings-drive-sisters.html Divided Siblings Drive "Sisters"
While reports of the death of the western have been exaggerated, there’s no question that the genre has been on life support for some time.  For a while it seemed as though Clint Eastwood,...]]>
Gosling, Chazelle Tackle the Neil Armstrong Story with “First Man” https://illinoistimes.com/article-20532-gosling-chazelle-tackle-the-neil-armstrong-story-with-%25E2%2580%259Cfirst-man%25E2%2580%259D.html Gosling, Chazelle Tackle the Neil Armstrong Story with “First Man”
 The piece of advice that actor Ryan Gosling and director Damien Chazelle must be following is, “Make no small plans.” It seems fitting as their second collaboration, after coming off the Aca...]]>
“Happytime” an Embarrassing Display of Immaturity https://illinoistimes.com/article-20384-%25E2%2580%259Chappytime%25E2%2580%259D-an-embarrassing-display-of-immaturity.html “Happytime” an Embarrassing Display of Immaturity
There’s something very interesting at play in Brian Henson’s The Happytime Murders, which is really more a temper tantrum than a movie.  The son of the beloved Jim Henson, the trailblazer who...]]>
“Alpha” A Surprisingly Effective Dog’s Tale https://illinoistimes.com/article-20360-%25E2%2580%259Calpha%25E2%2580%259D-a-surprisingly-effective-dog%25E2%2580%2599s-tale.html “Alpha” A Surprisingly Effective Dog’s Tale
I’ve seen my share of dog-and-his-boy stories and Albert Hughes is worse than some but better than most.  Taking place some 20,000 years ago during the last Ice Age, this unique setting helps d...]]>
“The Meg’s” Animated Beast its Undoing https://illinoistimes.com/article-20332-%25E2%2580%259Cthe-meg%25E2%2580%2599s%25E2%2580%259D-animated-beast-its-undoing.html “The Meg’s” Animated Beast its Undoing
One sign of a good salesman is the ability to take something old and sell it as something new.  If you’re able apply a little bit of razzle dazzle, some misdirection and some shiny ribbon per s...]]>
Predictable “Dog Days” a Bland Comfort https://illinoistimes.com/article-20305-predictable-%25E2%2580%259Cdog-days%25E2%2580%259D-a-bland-comfort.html Predictable “Dog Days” a Bland Comfort
If you haven’t gotten your fill of the Hallmark Channel – and really, could anyone ever sate their craving for the banal – “Dog Days” is for you. Sweet, predictable and just so, so cute, thi...]]>
Nature vs. Nurture in Haunting Strangers https://illinoistimes.com/article-20276-nature-vs-nurture-in-haunting-strangers.html Nature vs. Nurture in Haunting Strangers
It was Mark Twain who pointed out that truth is stranger than fiction and were he alive today, he would point to Tim Wardle’s compelling documentary Three Identical Strangers as proof. What begins a...]]>
Riley’s “Sorry” an Audacious Look at Race https://illinoistimes.com/article-20253-riley%25E2%2580%2599s-%25E2%2580%259Csorry%25E2%2580%259D-an-audacious-look-at-race.html Riley’s “Sorry” an Audacious Look at Race
Boots Riley’s Sorry to Bother You has been compared to last year’s lighting rod examination of modern race, Jordan Peele’s Get Out and it’s easy to see why.  The protagonists in each...]]>
Touching “Neighbor” a Vital Reminder https://illinoistimes.com/article-20188-touching-%25E2%2580%259Cneighbor%25E2%2580%259D-a-vital-reminder.html Touching “Neighbor” a Vital Reminder
After seeing Morgan Neville’s wonderful new documentary about children’s television host Fred Rogers, Won’t You Be My Neighbor, I was left with a great many conflicting emotions.  I regret ...]]>
"Uncle Drew" Hits More Shots Than it Misses https://illinoistimes.com/article-20173-uncle-drew-hits-more-shots-than-it-misses.html "Uncle Drew" Hits More Shots Than it Misses
Some films have no purpose other than to entertain. There’s no intent to make a grand political or social statement, the whole goal is to put smiles on faces.  Charles Stone III’s Uncle ...]]>
“RBG” A Revelatory Work of the Modern Icon https://illinoistimes.com/article-20084-%25E2%2580%259Crbg%25E2%2580%259D-a-revelatory-work-of-the-modern-icon.html “RBG” A Revelatory Work of the Modern Icon
“Witch” – “Evildoer”- “Monster” – “Disgrace”- “Vile Human Being” – “Anti-American”All of these words are heard describing Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg at the...]]>
"8" a Dim Echo of "11" https://illinoistimes.com/article-20083-8-a-dim-echo-of-11.html "8" a Dim Echo of "11"
 8 a Dim Echo of 11One of the reasons Stephen Soderbergh’s Ocean’s 11 was such a success is that it contains am effortless sense of cool from a bygone era.  Perfectly cast, George Cloone...]]>
"Infinity War" Rights Itself After Awkward Start https://illinoistimes.com/article-19941-infinity-war-rights-itself-after-awkward-start.html "Infinity War" Rights Itself After Awkward Start
Let’s be honest, directors Anthony and Joe Russo as well as producer Kevin Feige have painted themselves into a corner where Avengers: Infinity War is concerned.  What with an 18 movie run...]]>
Schumer and Bryant Define “Pretty” https://illinoistimes.com/article-19908-schumer-and-bryant-define-%25E2%2580%259Cpretty%25E2%2580%259D.html Schumer and Bryant Define “Pretty”
Abby Kohn and Marc Silverstein’s I Feel Pretty couldn’t be more timely.  Dealing with the issues of body shaming and low self-esteem, both perpetuated by the constant parading of unreali...]]>
Hamm, Script Drive “Beirut” https://illinoistimes.com/article-19909-hamm-script-drive-%25E2%2580%259Cbeirut%25E2%2580%259D.html Hamm, Script Drive “Beirut”
I missed out on the whole Mad Men thing (Yes, I know, shame on me; its on the massive list of things I should watch), so I was unprepared for everything that is Jon Hamm. While I have seen him do...]]>
Ponderous Tone, Pace Sinks "Chappaquiddick" https://illinoistimes.com/article-19866-ponderous-tone-pace-sinks-chappaquiddick.html Ponderous Tone, Pace Sinks "Chappaquiddick"
John Cullen’s Chappaquiddick is a film that’s long overdue.  This recounting of the tragic death of Mary Jo Kopechne and Senator Ted Kennedy’s involvement in it couldn’t be...]]>
Intense Foy Salvages “Unsane” https://illinoistimes.com/article-19822-intense-foy-salvages-%25E2%2580%259Cunsane%25E2%2580%259D.html Intense Foy Salvages “Unsane”
Steven Soderbergh is our most restless director. He’s done all-star epics (Ocean’s 11), socially relevant dramas (Traffic), Oscar-winning features (“Erin Brockovich), experimental films (“Bu...]]>
Tantalizing "Annihilation" Fails to Come Together https://illinoistimes.com/article-19725-tantalizing-annihilation-fails-to-come-together.html Tantalizing "Annihilation" Fails to Come Together
With two films under his belt, it’s obvious that director Alex Garland has a keen eye, is able to create a slowly developing sense of doom and is eager to tackle intriguing sci-fi material.  ...]]>
“15:17” a Well-Intended Misfire https://illinoistimes.com/article-19703-%25E2%2580%259C1517%25E2%2580%259D-a-well-intended-misfire.html “15:17” a Well-Intended Misfire
If good intentions were all that were needed to craft a successful motion picture, Clint Eastwood’s The 15:17 to Paris, would be one of the finest films in the director’s long and storied career. ...]]>
Nonsensical "Paradox" a "Cloverfield" Reject https://illinoistimes.com/article-19675-nonsensical-paradox-a-cloverfield-reject.html Nonsensical "Paradox" a "Cloverfield" Reject
 A funny thing happened amidst the hoopla that was Super Bowl LII.  Netflix ran the first trailer for The Cloverfield Paradox, the next entry in J.J. Abrams unorthodox sci-fi franchise…a...]]>
Runner Goes Nowhere Fast with Cure https://illinoistimes.com/article-19653-runner-goes-nowhere-fast-with-cure.html Runner Goes Nowhere Fast with Cure
While the film adaptations of The Hunger Games took full advantage of the dystopian adventure craze that swept through the youth literature sector, the similarly-plotted Divergent movies petered out...]]>
Robbie Skates for Gold in “I, Tonya” https://illinoistimes.com/article-19606-robbie-skates-for-gold-in-%25E2%2580%259Ci-tonya%25E2%2580%259D.html Robbie Skates for Gold in “I, Tonya”
The saga of Tonya Harding was reality television before the term even existed. As a college student, I remember turning on the news each night as the attack of her rival Nancy Kerrigan was investigate...]]>
Ponderous "Last Key" Crawls Towards Scares https://illinoistimes.com/article-19559-ponderous-last-key-crawls-towards-scares.html Ponderous "Last Key" Crawls Towards Scares
Defying the notion that crisp pacing is essential to the success of any movie, particularly a horror film, Insidious: The Last Key meanders along without a care in the world, seemingly caring not a ...]]>
Compelling "Molly’s Game" Seems Incomplete https://illinoistimes.com/article-19560-compelling-molly%25E2%2580%2599s-game-seems-incomplete.html Compelling "Molly’s Game" Seems Incomplete
More martyr than manipulator, Molly Bloom comes off as a fall gal for the rich and famous in Aaron Sorkin’s directorial debut Molly’s Game, a true-life tale of high rollers, lowlifes, movie star...]]>
“All the Money” Worth All the Trouble https://illinoistimes.com/article-19498-%25E2%2580%259Call-the-money%25E2%2580%259D-worth-all-the-trouble.html “All the Money” Worth All the Trouble
The notion in public relations is that there’s no such thing as bad publicity.  That certainly has been disproven this year what with the many accusations of sexual assault leveled at many i...]]>
"Showman" an Empty Spectacle https://illinoistimes.com/article-19497-showman-an-empty-spectacle.html "Showman" an Empty Spectacle
Director Cecil B. DeMille, amassed a fortune, entertained millions and skewed their perception history with his historical epics.  With King of Kings, The Plainsman, The Buccaneer and many othe...]]>
Veteran Cast Saves Jumanji Redux https://illinoistimes.com/article-19495-veteran-cast-saves-jumanji-redux.html Veteran Cast Saves Jumanji Redux
Reboot, remake, homage, rip-off, call them what you will, films that recycle old ideas have been with us since the early days of cinema.  If it’s successful once on the silver screen, studio...]]>