IllinoisTimes - Band Spotlight https://illinoistimes.com/articles.sec-71-1-band-spotlight.html Sun, 23 Sep 18 00:00:00 -0400 en hourly 1 The Black Lillies https://illinoistimes.com/article-20450-the-black-lillies.html The Black Lillies
 With a hometown base of Knoxville, Tennessee, this group of experienced musicians, hailing from all walks of the Americana landscape, puts out a new album (their fifth studio release) on Sept. 2...]]>
Laura Rain and the Caesars https://illinoistimes.com/article-20434-laura-rain-and-the-caesars.html Laura Rain and the Caesars
 Currently traveling all around the Midwest, West Coast and Canada from their music-soaked hometown of Detroit, Michigan, this soul-infused, funky blues band is making sounds while making the rou...]]>
Eddie Korosa & the Boys from Illinois https://illinoistimes.com/article-20390-eddie-korosa-the-boys-from-illinois.html Eddie Korosa & the Boys from Illinois
 As the son of “America’s Prince of Polkas,” 7-year-old Eddie Jr. began playing drums for his dad’s world-renowned polka band and on his Emmy-nominated television show. By the time young...]]>
Ivas John Band https://illinoistimes.com/article-20378-ivas-john-band.html Ivas John Band
 Born in Chicago to first generation Lithuanian immigrants, young Ivas first learned music through his family’s folk sensibilities, then as a teenager, felt the powerful pull of Chicago blues....]]>
Barrence Whitfield and the Savages https://illinoistimes.com/article-20345-barrence-whitfield-and-the-savages.html Barrence Whitfield and the Savages
 Just when you thought it was safe to go out to bars and quietly listen to contemplative acoustic sounds, along comes Barrence Whitfield and the Savages to knock your socks off and stick them in...]]>
Offwhyte https://illinoistimes.com/article-20326-offwhyte.html Offwhyte
 Offwhyte, born as Ryan Fernandez on Aug. 22, 1977, in Pell City, Alabama, now resides in Springfield as his music is heard around the world. He defines himself an “American rapper, vocalist, d...]]>
N.C.R. https://illinoistimes.com/article-20295-ncr.html N.C.R.
 Around since 2012, this band has gone through a few personnel changes, but now “the artist formerly known as New City Road” is officially called N.C.R., and with the name change comes a slig...]]>
Kim Richey https://illinoistimes.com/article-20261-kim-richey.html Kim Richey
Kim Richey is, by all standards, a gifted singer and songwriter who carries herself with the presence of the artist supreme. Her life has been one of singular commitment to song but without pretension...]]>
Jimmy Riemer https://illinoistimes.com/article-20238-jimmy-riemer.html Jimmy Riemer
 As our young troubadour completes his “summer tour” of acoustic venues in central Illinois and heads back to college, we salute Jimmy Riemer in a job well-done of entertaining and performing...]]>
Rockford https://illinoistimes.com/article-20227-rockford.html Rockford
 First off, the band is not from Rockford, Illinois, or any Rockford anywhere. The indie-rock quartet consists of high school students from Springfield (class of 2019) who named the band in honor...]]>
Kevin Gordon https://illinoistimes.com/article-20205-kevin-gordon.html Kevin Gordon
 This northern Louisiana native and current East Nashville resident gets around and has done so for a couple decades now. Kevin Gordon duets with Lucinda Williams, has been reviewed on NPR and in...]]>
Cody Canada & the Departed https://illinoistimes.com/article-20170-cody-canada-the-departed.html Cody Canada & the Departed
 Cody Canada has been playing guitar and dreaming music since he was 8 years old, and he shows no signs of stopping anytime soon as he heads into a quarter century of professional playing. The fo...]]>
Chris Duarte https://illinoistimes.com/article-20143-chris-duarte.html Chris Duarte
 This Austin-based guitarist, songwriter and singer gets welcomed and warranted comparisons to the late, great Stevie Ray Vaughan and combines other flavors of electric Texas-blues players as wel...]]>
Kayla Brown https://illinoistimes.com/article-20130-kayla-brown.html Kayla Brown
 Champaign-Urbana native Kayla Brown can count many achievements in her career in music performance and composition. Kayla started on her musical adventure professionally in 1997 and since then h...]]>
The 44’s https://illinoistimes.com/article-20090-the-44%25E2%2580%2599s.html The 44’s
 This Los Angeles-based blues/roots/rock band winds and climbs through the greasy and grand world of gut-bucket blues like nobody’s business. Since they first made a splash in 2007 with a credi...]]>
John Byrne Band https://illinoistimes.com/article-20078-john-byrne-band.html John Byrne Band
 Originally from Dublin, Ireland, this highly-regarded American-Celtic folk musician spent his formative years in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and his career spans both areas. From an acclaimed CD...]]>
Lee Bains III and the Glory Fires https://illinoistimes.com/article-20041-lee-bains-iii-and-the-glory-fires.html Lee Bains III and the Glory Fires
 These hard-hittin’, fire-spittin’, go-gittin’ cool cats come from Birmingham, Alabama, on a mission from the land of the Deep South to set the record straight on Southern ways and means. O...]]>
Stuart Smith https://illinoistimes.com/article-20032-stuart-smith.html Stuart Smith
 Hailing from the west central Illinois town of Winchester, Mr. Smith’s been performing in Springfield for some time now, and the gifted singer, songwriter and versatile guitarist recently expa...]]>
Jesse W. Johnson Band https://illinoistimes.com/article-19998-jesse-w-johnson-band.html Jesse W. Johnson Band
Originally a resident of Springfield before relocating to Champaign, Jesse W. Johnson then moved to Chicago, where he made a splash as the frontman and songwriter in Jet W. Lee, a band that successful...]]>
The Pine Mountain Logs https://illinoistimes.com/article-19976-the-pine-mountain-logs.html The Pine Mountain Logs
 When they say “you’re not bragging if it’s a fact,” those “theys” could be talking about The Pine Mountain Logs, who claim to be “The World’s Best Cover Band with International F...]]>
Live Wire https://illinoistimes.com/article-19946-live-wire.html Live Wire
There’s a good chance you’ll recognize this band name, as this group has been around town for some 25 years now, with Denny Lucas (guitars, keys, vocals) being the beating heart and caring soul of...]]>
The Blue Lotus Soul Revue https://illinoistimes.com/article-19938-the-blue-lotus-soul-revue.html The Blue Lotus Soul Revue
 Roland Johnson and Gene Jackson spent their adults lives involved in the soul and rhythm and blues live music scenes in the St. Louis area – Jackson since the mid 70s and Johnson since the lat...]]>
Mr. Opporknockity https://illinoistimes.com/article-19903-mr-opporknockity.html Mr. Opporknockity
 Back for one more reunion show that celebrates 21 years of togetherness, Mr. O still rules the roost in the local “original music with a few covers” category. After a strong showing in the l...]]>
Six Rows Back https://illinoistimes.com/article-19891-six-rows-back.html Six Rows Back
 Started in 2016 as a group of friends who enjoy playing music together, the story of Six Rows Back remains the same, just with more songs on the set list. When Caprice Ciota-Hardin (guitar, voca...]]>
Bruce Katz Band https://illinoistimes.com/article-19851-bruce-katz-band.html Bruce Katz Band
 When so many blues cats play guitar while the blues master is on keyboards, the music is that much more special. When the dude on the keys is Bruce Katz, you are indeed in for a very special, sp...]]>
Midnight River Choir https://illinoistimes.com/article-19828-midnight-river-choir.html Midnight River Choir
 Folks around these parts sure like these Texas-groove band dudes who met while singing songs as they floated down the Guadalupe River some years ago. The mysterious “Midnight River Choir” he...]]>
Corey Dennison Band https://illinoistimes.com/article-19805-corey-dennison-band.html Corey Dennison Band
 Chattanooga-born, Chicago-based and award-winning blues guitarist Corey Dennison is on a roll in the big-time blues world. After a decade-long run with Carl Weathersby, Dennison created a “dyn...]]>
The Emerald Underground https://illinoistimes.com/article-19790-the-emerald-underground.html The Emerald Underground
 Springfield’s original Celtic fusion band has evolved more than a few times and ways since hitting the scene as Stone Ring Circle in the early 21st century. They’ve travelled many roads and...]]>
Susan Williams & Wright Groove https://illinoistimes.com/article-19753-susan-williams-wright-groove.html Susan Williams & Wright Groove
 A recent competitor at the 2018 International Blues Challenge in Memphis, this Chicago-based quartet delivers a funky, dual bass player approach to the world of blues. Susan Williams, known to S...]]>
Jim Scott https://illinoistimes.com/article-19730-jim-scott.html Jim Scott
 Jim Scott has added much to our human consciousness in terms of song and substance, very possibly influencing your life without you knowing it. From his work as guitarist with the Paul Winter Co...]]>