IllinoisTimes - Band Spotlight https://illinoistimes.com/articles.sec-71-1-band-spotlight.html Sun, 16 Jun 19 00:00:00 -0400 en hourly 1 Jamie and Lilly Merideth https://illinoistimes.com/article-21318-jamie-and-lilly-merideth.html Jamie and Lilly Merideth
 This father and daughter duo from the local music community are both gifted musicians and singers, blessed with powerful and emotive voices that blend with a special harmony reserved for family...]]>
Dan Hubbard https://illinoistimes.com/article-21303-dan-hubbard.html Dan Hubbard
 Hailing from Central Illinois and based up Bloomington-Normal way, singer-songwriter Dan Hubbard continues on his chosen path of a life in song with a new record called Attention. This one feeds...]]>
Secret Society ReUnion https://illinoistimes.com/article-21276-secret-society-reunion.html Secret Society ReUnion
 Plenty of previously popular local bands have reunited, but it’s hard to imagine a more anticipated and requested reunion than this one from Secret Society. The group started out bucking conte...]]>
Tav Falco’s Panther Burns https://illinoistimes.com/article-21253-tav-falco%25E2%2580%2599s-panther-burns.html Tav Falco’s Panther Burns
 Sometimes the word “legendary” gets tossed around a bit too lightly, but in the case of Tav Falco, no other word would do him justice. From the septuagenarian’s association with Alex Chilt...]]>
Wild Ponies with Doug and Telisha Williams https://illinoistimes.com/article-21227-wild-ponies-with-doug-and-telisha-williams.html Wild Ponies with Doug and Telisha Williams
 This engaging, married duo, long steeped in old-timey music with a rock ‘n’ roll attitude, put out Galax in 2017 to meld their Appalachian roots to a contemporary concept of happening music....]]>
Ghost Town Blues Band https://illinoistimes.com/article-21198-ghost-town-blues-band.html Ghost Town Blues Band
 On the move and in the groove since their inception, this “not your grandpa’s blues band” combines elements of funk, rock, New Orleans jazz, Memphis R & B and more to a solid blues-bas...]]>
Georgia Rae https://illinoistimes.com/article-21181-georgia-rae.html Georgia Rae
This young woman, who won seven state fiddle championship titles (Wisconsin, Illinois and Minnesota), five state twin fiddle champion titles (Minnesota and Colorado) and is the 2016 National Twin Fidd...]]>
Sushi Roll https://illinoistimes.com/article-21172-sushi-roll.html Sushi Roll
 Formed in Chicago in early 2012, this dance-pop-rock cover band is known for fun gigs and top-notch performances, all combined with theatrical costumes and musical characterizations. In other wo...]]>
Koe Wetzel https://illinoistimes.com/article-21147-koe-wetzel.html Koe Wetzel
 When this fiery group gets to kickin’ out the jams, look out below as the songs come crashing down like fallin’ rain on a hard-baked highway, Texas country style. Hailing from Stephenville i...]]>
Flatland Cavalry https://illinoistimes.com/article-21136-flatland-cavalry.html Flatland Cavalry
 Coming up from their hometown of Lubbock, Texas, home to several greats in the music business through the years, the Flatland Cavalry are rolling into town to take no prisoners as they proceed t...]]>
Kyle Glass Band https://illinoistimes.com/article-21100-kyle-glass-band.html Kyle Glass Band
 Raised on a hog farm outside of Springfield with classic country music as a life soundtrack, and now a retired U.S. Marine back home, Kyle Gass got into the performance side of music not that lo...]]>
Scott H. Biram https://illinoistimes.com/article-21088-scott-h-biram.html Scott H. Biram
Known as the Dirty Old One Man Band, Scott H. Biram plays by himself for anyone who will listen, and that’s been a lot of folks during his nearly two decades in professional music. From humble begin...]]>
Folk Family Revival https://illinoistimes.com/article-21058-folk-family-revival.html Folk Family Revival
 Around since 2010, this Houston-based quartet has taken their mix of a “rootsy stomp of the Southern states with the trippy swoon of the West Coast” across the country and back. They cite Bo...]]>
The Emerald Underground https://illinoistimes.com/article-21020-the-emerald-underground.html The Emerald Underground
 Springfield’s best-known and longest-running Celtic-fusion band still has the green going on with plans to keep it growing for years to come. Once upon a time, before becoming TEU, group origi...]]>
Brandon Santini https://illinoistimes.com/article-21002-brandon-santini.html Brandon Santini
 Some say the future of blues harmonica is in the hands (and mouth) of this St. Louis-based, Memphis-taught, North Carolina-raised, trailblazing, hard-working and particularly charming, harmonica...]]>
Sarah Borges and the Broken Singles https://illinoistimes.com/article-20983-sarah-borges-and-the-broken-singles.html Sarah Borges and the Broken Singles
 This Boston-based musician is a singer, songwriter, guitarist, mother, band leader and recording artist, releasing albums on a regular basis and playing the cool clubs in the Americana-circuit w...]]>
Masked Intruder https://illinoistimes.com/article-20955-masked-intruder.html Masked Intruder
Yes, Virginia, there really is a band that wears ski masks, where each musician dons one of a specific color and they designate themselves as color-coded by instrument and vocal job. Hence, per the Ma...]]>
Josh Morningstar https://illinoistimes.com/article-20942-josh-morningstar.html Josh Morningstar
 This Maryland native has done well in Nashville as a songwriter’s songwriter and burns up the road playing all over the U.S., especially in the Midwest. You may not know his name, but you like...]]>
Isaiah Christian and the Rebel Saints https://illinoistimes.com/article-20905-isaiah-christian-and-the-rebel-saints.html Isaiah Christian and the Rebel Saints
Early performances in theater gave this young whippersnapper a taste of the stage at age six, and soon after, he discovered a real affinity for classic country music.  By 15, Isaiah found himself...]]>
Captain Quirk https://illinoistimes.com/article-20881-captain-quirk.html Captain Quirk
 Formed in 2014 by a group of well-seasoned Peoria-area musicians, Captain Quirk (the moniker comes from a nickname for William Shatner, the actor who portrayed Captain Kirk in the original “St...]]>
Brushville https://illinoistimes.com/article-20863-brushville.html Brushville
 When they came out of the pack of new area bands like a supercharged rocket on fire some five years ago, this group of talented musicians became one of the hottest acts around. From winning the...]]>
James Neary and the Bevy Blue https://illinoistimes.com/article-20844-james-neary-and-the-bevy-blue.html James Neary and the Bevy Blue
 Hailing from the Northwest Indiana/Southwest Michigan area and claiming La Porte, Indiana, as a home base, these up-and-coming soulful rockers are laying it on the line with all they got every t...]]>
Thornhill https://illinoistimes.com/article-20813-thornhill.html Thornhill
 Fans of local music happenings should be quite familiar with the name Thornhill and the consistently fine music made by the band led by singer, songwriter, guitarist and performer, Tina Thornhil...]]>
Adam Maletich https://illinoistimes.com/article-20802-adam-maletich.html Adam Maletich
 Interested in and exposed to live music since he was young, Springfield native Adam Maletich steered things to another level by studying guitar and piano at Millikin University in Decatur, gradu...]]>
The Mud Bugs https://illinoistimes.com/article-20744-the-mud-bugs.html The Mud Bugs
 Originating in southern Illinois as a band of hometown friends in 2000 playing “hard-edged blues rock,” The Mud Bugs were a thing. When Kit Jones relocated to the capital city a few years la...]]>
Chris Camp & His Blues Ambassadors https://illinoistimes.com/article-20726-chris-camp-his-blues-ambassadors.html Chris Camp & His Blues Ambassadors
 Formed as an outlet for the musical talents of a guy you may know better as The Whip Guy, this group can play those swinging sounds to bridge any diplomatic impasse on the dance floor or barroom...]]>
Ultraviolet https://illinoistimes.com/article-20708-ultraviolet.html Ultraviolet
 In 2003 Suzie Stephens formed a musical enterprise that would give her the outlet necessary to best use her music inspirations and aspirations. Now 15 years into the project, Ultraviolet is stil...]]>
Reed Brothers https://illinoistimes.com/article-20671-reed-brothers.html Reed Brothers
 Up from the Lone Star State, San Antonio brothers Kyle and Keegan bring a mashup of Americana, blues and Southern rock styles into a mixture that is all Reed Brothers, all the time. They hit Tal...]]>
Broseph https://illinoistimes.com/article-20643-broseph.html Broseph
 Originating from the river city of Beardstown, this group began as a couple of pals getting together to play some songs at the local pub in 2011. The country-rocking band relocated to Nashville...]]>
Jeremy Johnson Band https://illinoistimes.com/article-20623-jeremy-johnson-band.html Jeremy Johnson Band
 Roaring up from St. Louis and out into the world, the Jeremiah Johnson Band is poised to set the world on fire with a burning passion for the hot rockin’ Americana blues. Jeremiah, born and ra...]]>