IllinoisTimes - Band Spotlight https://illinoistimes.com/articles.sec-71-1-band-spotlight.html Fri, 15 Feb 19 00:00:00 -0500 en hourly 1 Josh Morningstar https://illinoistimes.com/article-20942-josh-morningstar.html Josh Morningstar
 This Maryland native has done well in Nashville as a songwriter’s songwriter and burns up the road playing all over the U.S., especially in the Midwest. You may not know his name, but you like...]]>
Isaiah Christian and the Rebel Saints https://illinoistimes.com/article-20905-isaiah-christian-and-the-rebel-saints.html Isaiah Christian and the Rebel Saints
Early performances in theater gave this young whippersnapper a taste of the stage at age six, and soon after, he discovered a real affinity for classic country music.  By 15, Isaiah found himself...]]>
Captain Quirk https://illinoistimes.com/article-20881-captain-quirk.html Captain Quirk
 Formed in 2014 by a group of well-seasoned Peoria-area musicians, Captain Quirk (the moniker comes from a nickname for William Shatner, the actor who portrayed Captain Kirk in the original “St...]]>
Brushville https://illinoistimes.com/article-20863-brushville.html Brushville
 When they came out of the pack of new area bands like a supercharged rocket on fire some five years ago, this group of talented musicians became one of the hottest acts around. From winning the...]]>
James Neary and the Bevy Blue https://illinoistimes.com/article-20844-james-neary-and-the-bevy-blue.html James Neary and the Bevy Blue
 Hailing from the Northwest Indiana/Southwest Michigan area and claiming La Porte, Indiana, as a home base, these up-and-coming soulful rockers are laying it on the line with all they got every t...]]>
Thornhill https://illinoistimes.com/article-20813-thornhill.html Thornhill
 Fans of local music happenings should be quite familiar with the name Thornhill and the consistently fine music made by the band led by singer, songwriter, guitarist and performer, Tina Thornhil...]]>
Adam Maletich https://illinoistimes.com/article-20802-adam-maletich.html Adam Maletich
 Interested in and exposed to live music since he was young, Springfield native Adam Maletich steered things to another level by studying guitar and piano at Millikin University in Decatur, gradu...]]>
The Mud Bugs https://illinoistimes.com/article-20744-the-mud-bugs.html The Mud Bugs
 Originating in southern Illinois as a band of hometown friends in 2000 playing “hard-edged blues rock,” The Mud Bugs were a thing. When Kit Jones relocated to the capital city a few years la...]]>
Chris Camp & His Blues Ambassadors https://illinoistimes.com/article-20726-chris-camp-his-blues-ambassadors.html Chris Camp & His Blues Ambassadors
 Formed as an outlet for the musical talents of a guy you may know better as The Whip Guy, this group can play those swinging sounds to bridge any diplomatic impasse on the dance floor or barroom...]]>
Ultraviolet https://illinoistimes.com/article-20708-ultraviolet.html Ultraviolet
 In 2003 Suzie Stephens formed a musical enterprise that would give her the outlet necessary to best use her music inspirations and aspirations. Now 15 years into the project, Ultraviolet is stil...]]>
Reed Brothers https://illinoistimes.com/article-20671-reed-brothers.html Reed Brothers
 Up from the Lone Star State, San Antonio brothers Kyle and Keegan bring a mashup of Americana, blues and Southern rock styles into a mixture that is all Reed Brothers, all the time. They hit Tal...]]>
Broseph https://illinoistimes.com/article-20643-broseph.html Broseph
 Originating from the river city of Beardstown, this group began as a couple of pals getting together to play some songs at the local pub in 2011. The country-rocking band relocated to Nashville...]]>
Jeremy Johnson Band https://illinoistimes.com/article-20623-jeremy-johnson-band.html Jeremy Johnson Band
 Roaring up from St. Louis and out into the world, the Jeremiah Johnson Band is poised to set the world on fire with a burning passion for the hot rockin’ Americana blues. Jeremiah, born and ra...]]>
Bruce Katz Band https://illinoistimes.com/article-20612-bruce-katz-band.html Bruce Katz Band
 Generally considered one of the premier roots/blues keyboardists in the whole wide world, Bruce Katz has played with most everyone, including Delbert McClinton, Butch Trucks, Gregg Allman and Ro...]]>
California Jeff https://illinoistimes.com/article-20582-california-jeff.html California Jeff
There’s no Jeff like California Jeff, and we say that with the full confidence he’s a one-of-a-kind folk-singing, storytelling and entertaining performer who says it like it is and is as he does....]]>
Rogers & Nienhaus https://illinoistimes.com/article-20556-rogers-nienhaus.html Rogers & Nienhaus
 A true classic rock duo that really rocks and really played with some of the classic performers from back in the 70s, these St. Louis-based musicians are among the select few of the real deal...]]>
Stuart Smith https://illinoistimes.com/article-20546-stuart-smith.html Stuart Smith
 Give a guy a guitar, let him learn to play it, then watch as he knocks out some songs as a singer-songwriter. Next thing you know, he’s got a killer recording out on CD and LP. That would be t...]]>
The Mazed https://illinoistimes.com/article-20528-the-mazed.html The Mazed
 Conceived in the fall of 2016, organized as a band in 2017 and releasing their first CD in 2018, The Mazed is on the move and playing all-original music all the time. Originating as a collaborat...]]>
Los Injectors https://illinoistimes.com/article-20510-los-injectors.html Los Injectors
 There’s nothing in the world quite like this trio of “HeavyMetalPunkPsychobilly” music-mayhem makers, and more than likely, there never will be. Blessed with monstrous music chops and curs...]]>
Joel DaSilva (and band) https://illinoistimes.com/article-20473-joel-dasilva-%2528and-band%2529.html Joel DaSilva (and band)
 This award-winning, hard rockin’, busy, traveling blues man calls his stuff “Americana, roots rock and blues soul” to cover a wide range of an intense area of American music. Joel also add...]]>
The Black Lillies https://illinoistimes.com/article-20450-the-black-lillies.html The Black Lillies
 With a hometown base of Knoxville, Tennessee, this group of experienced musicians, hailing from all walks of the Americana landscape, puts out a new album (their fifth studio release) on Sept. 2...]]>
Laura Rain and the Caesars https://illinoistimes.com/article-20434-laura-rain-and-the-caesars.html Laura Rain and the Caesars
 Currently traveling all around the Midwest, West Coast and Canada from their music-soaked hometown of Detroit, Michigan, this soul-infused, funky blues band is making sounds while making the rou...]]>
Eddie Korosa & the Boys from Illinois https://illinoistimes.com/article-20390-eddie-korosa-the-boys-from-illinois.html Eddie Korosa & the Boys from Illinois
 As the son of “America’s Prince of Polkas,” 7-year-old Eddie Jr. began playing drums for his dad’s world-renowned polka band and on his Emmy-nominated television show. By the time young...]]>
Ivas John Band https://illinoistimes.com/article-20378-ivas-john-band.html Ivas John Band
 Born in Chicago to first generation Lithuanian immigrants, young Ivas first learned music through his family’s folk sensibilities, then as a teenager, felt the powerful pull of Chicago blues....]]>
Barrence Whitfield and the Savages https://illinoistimes.com/article-20345-barrence-whitfield-and-the-savages.html Barrence Whitfield and the Savages
 Just when you thought it was safe to go out to bars and quietly listen to contemplative acoustic sounds, along comes Barrence Whitfield and the Savages to knock your socks off and stick them in...]]>
Offwhyte https://illinoistimes.com/article-20326-offwhyte.html Offwhyte
 Offwhyte, born as Ryan Fernandez on Aug. 22, 1977, in Pell City, Alabama, now resides in Springfield as his music is heard around the world. He defines himself an “American rapper, vocalist, d...]]>
N.C.R. https://illinoistimes.com/article-20295-ncr.html N.C.R.
 Around since 2012, this band has gone through a few personnel changes, but now “the artist formerly known as New City Road” is officially called N.C.R., and with the name change comes a slig...]]>
Kim Richey https://illinoistimes.com/article-20261-kim-richey.html Kim Richey
Kim Richey is, by all standards, a gifted singer and songwriter who carries herself with the presence of the artist supreme. Her life has been one of singular commitment to song but without pretension...]]>
Jimmy Riemer https://illinoistimes.com/article-20238-jimmy-riemer.html Jimmy Riemer
 As our young troubadour completes his “summer tour” of acoustic venues in central Illinois and heads back to college, we salute Jimmy Riemer in a job well-done of entertaining and performing...]]>
Rockford https://illinoistimes.com/article-20227-rockford.html Rockford
 First off, the band is not from Rockford, Illinois, or any Rockford anywhere. The indie-rock quartet consists of high school students from Springfield (class of 2019) who named the band in honor...]]>