IllinoisTimes - Band Spotlight https://illinoistimes.com/articles.sec-71-1-band-spotlight.html Thu, 13 Dec 18 00:00:00 -0500 en hourly 1 Chris Camp & His Blues Ambassadors https://illinoistimes.com/article-20726-chris-camp-his-blues-ambassadors.html Chris Camp & His Blues Ambassadors
 Formed as an outlet for the musical talents of a guy you may know better as The Whip Guy, this group can play those swinging sounds to bridge any diplomatic impasse on the dance floor or barroom...]]>
Ultraviolet https://illinoistimes.com/article-20708-ultraviolet.html Ultraviolet
 In 2003 Suzie Stephens formed a musical enterprise that would give her the outlet necessary to best use her music inspirations and aspirations. Now 15 years into the project, Ultraviolet is stil...]]>
Reed Brothers https://illinoistimes.com/article-20671-reed-brothers.html Reed Brothers
 Up from the Lone Star State, San Antonio brothers Kyle and Keegan bring a mashup of Americana, blues and Southern rock styles into a mixture that is all Reed Brothers, all the time. They hit Tal...]]>
Broseph https://illinoistimes.com/article-20643-broseph.html Broseph
 Originating from the river city of Beardstown, this group began as a couple of pals getting together to play some songs at the local pub in 2011. The country-rocking band relocated to Nashville...]]>
Jeremy Johnson Band https://illinoistimes.com/article-20623-jeremy-johnson-band.html Jeremy Johnson Band
 Roaring up from St. Louis and out into the world, the Jeremiah Johnson Band is poised to set the world on fire with a burning passion for the hot rockin’ Americana blues. Jeremiah, born and ra...]]>
Bruce Katz Band https://illinoistimes.com/article-20612-bruce-katz-band.html Bruce Katz Band
 Generally considered one of the premier roots/blues keyboardists in the whole wide world, Bruce Katz has played with most everyone, including Delbert McClinton, Butch Trucks, Gregg Allman and Ro...]]>
California Jeff https://illinoistimes.com/article-20582-california-jeff.html California Jeff
There’s no Jeff like California Jeff, and we say that with the full confidence he’s a one-of-a-kind folk-singing, storytelling and entertaining performer who says it like it is and is as he does....]]>
Rogers & Nienhaus https://illinoistimes.com/article-20556-rogers-nienhaus.html Rogers & Nienhaus
 A true classic rock duo that really rocks and really played with some of the classic performers from back in the 70s, these St. Louis-based musicians are among the select few of the real deal...]]>
Stuart Smith https://illinoistimes.com/article-20546-stuart-smith.html Stuart Smith
 Give a guy a guitar, let him learn to play it, then watch as he knocks out some songs as a singer-songwriter. Next thing you know, he’s got a killer recording out on CD and LP. That would be t...]]>
The Mazed https://illinoistimes.com/article-20528-the-mazed.html The Mazed
 Conceived in the fall of 2016, organized as a band in 2017 and releasing their first CD in 2018, The Mazed is on the move and playing all-original music all the time. Originating as a collaborat...]]>
Los Injectors https://illinoistimes.com/article-20510-los-injectors.html Los Injectors
 There’s nothing in the world quite like this trio of “HeavyMetalPunkPsychobilly” music-mayhem makers, and more than likely, there never will be. Blessed with monstrous music chops and curs...]]>
Joel DaSilva (and band) https://illinoistimes.com/article-20473-joel-dasilva-%2528and-band%2529.html Joel DaSilva (and band)
 This award-winning, hard rockin’, busy, traveling blues man calls his stuff “Americana, roots rock and blues soul” to cover a wide range of an intense area of American music. Joel also add...]]>
The Black Lillies https://illinoistimes.com/article-20450-the-black-lillies.html The Black Lillies
 With a hometown base of Knoxville, Tennessee, this group of experienced musicians, hailing from all walks of the Americana landscape, puts out a new album (their fifth studio release) on Sept. 2...]]>
Laura Rain and the Caesars https://illinoistimes.com/article-20434-laura-rain-and-the-caesars.html Laura Rain and the Caesars
 Currently traveling all around the Midwest, West Coast and Canada from their music-soaked hometown of Detroit, Michigan, this soul-infused, funky blues band is making sounds while making the rou...]]>
Eddie Korosa & the Boys from Illinois https://illinoistimes.com/article-20390-eddie-korosa-the-boys-from-illinois.html Eddie Korosa & the Boys from Illinois
 As the son of “America’s Prince of Polkas,” 7-year-old Eddie Jr. began playing drums for his dad’s world-renowned polka band and on his Emmy-nominated television show. By the time young...]]>
Ivas John Band https://illinoistimes.com/article-20378-ivas-john-band.html Ivas John Band
 Born in Chicago to first generation Lithuanian immigrants, young Ivas first learned music through his family’s folk sensibilities, then as a teenager, felt the powerful pull of Chicago blues....]]>
Barrence Whitfield and the Savages https://illinoistimes.com/article-20345-barrence-whitfield-and-the-savages.html Barrence Whitfield and the Savages
 Just when you thought it was safe to go out to bars and quietly listen to contemplative acoustic sounds, along comes Barrence Whitfield and the Savages to knock your socks off and stick them in...]]>
Offwhyte https://illinoistimes.com/article-20326-offwhyte.html Offwhyte
 Offwhyte, born as Ryan Fernandez on Aug. 22, 1977, in Pell City, Alabama, now resides in Springfield as his music is heard around the world. He defines himself an “American rapper, vocalist, d...]]>
N.C.R. https://illinoistimes.com/article-20295-ncr.html N.C.R.
 Around since 2012, this band has gone through a few personnel changes, but now “the artist formerly known as New City Road” is officially called N.C.R., and with the name change comes a slig...]]>
Kim Richey https://illinoistimes.com/article-20261-kim-richey.html Kim Richey
Kim Richey is, by all standards, a gifted singer and songwriter who carries herself with the presence of the artist supreme. Her life has been one of singular commitment to song but without pretension...]]>
Jimmy Riemer https://illinoistimes.com/article-20238-jimmy-riemer.html Jimmy Riemer
 As our young troubadour completes his “summer tour” of acoustic venues in central Illinois and heads back to college, we salute Jimmy Riemer in a job well-done of entertaining and performing...]]>
Rockford https://illinoistimes.com/article-20227-rockford.html Rockford
 First off, the band is not from Rockford, Illinois, or any Rockford anywhere. The indie-rock quartet consists of high school students from Springfield (class of 2019) who named the band in honor...]]>
Kevin Gordon https://illinoistimes.com/article-20205-kevin-gordon.html Kevin Gordon
 This northern Louisiana native and current East Nashville resident gets around and has done so for a couple decades now. Kevin Gordon duets with Lucinda Williams, has been reviewed on NPR and in...]]>
Cody Canada & the Departed https://illinoistimes.com/article-20170-cody-canada-the-departed.html Cody Canada & the Departed
 Cody Canada has been playing guitar and dreaming music since he was 8 years old, and he shows no signs of stopping anytime soon as he heads into a quarter century of professional playing. The fo...]]>
Chris Duarte https://illinoistimes.com/article-20143-chris-duarte.html Chris Duarte
 This Austin-based guitarist, songwriter and singer gets welcomed and warranted comparisons to the late, great Stevie Ray Vaughan and combines other flavors of electric Texas-blues players as wel...]]>
Kayla Brown https://illinoistimes.com/article-20130-kayla-brown.html Kayla Brown
 Champaign-Urbana native Kayla Brown can count many achievements in her career in music performance and composition. Kayla started on her musical adventure professionally in 1997 and since then h...]]>
The 44’s https://illinoistimes.com/article-20090-the-44%25E2%2580%2599s.html The 44’s
 This Los Angeles-based blues/roots/rock band winds and climbs through the greasy and grand world of gut-bucket blues like nobody’s business. Since they first made a splash in 2007 with a credi...]]>
John Byrne Band https://illinoistimes.com/article-20078-john-byrne-band.html John Byrne Band
 Originally from Dublin, Ireland, this highly-regarded American-Celtic folk musician spent his formative years in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and his career spans both areas. From an acclaimed CD...]]>
Lee Bains III and the Glory Fires https://illinoistimes.com/article-20041-lee-bains-iii-and-the-glory-fires.html Lee Bains III and the Glory Fires
 These hard-hittin’, fire-spittin’, go-gittin’ cool cats come from Birmingham, Alabama, on a mission from the land of the Deep South to set the record straight on Southern ways and means. O...]]>
Stuart Smith https://illinoistimes.com/article-20032-stuart-smith.html Stuart Smith
 Hailing from the west central Illinois town of Winchester, Mr. Smith’s been performing in Springfield for some time now, and the gifted singer, songwriter and versatile guitarist recently expa...]]>