IllinoisTimes - Band Spotlight https://illinoistimes.com/articles.sec-71-1-band-spotlight.html Mon, 14 Oct 19 00:00:00 -0400 en hourly 1 Fairly Odd Duo https://illinoistimes.com/article-21693-fairly-odd-duo.html Fairly Odd Duo
 This husband and wife combo of J.B. and Michelle Faires keeps the sounds fresh and energetic, pulling from the folk/Americana/pop vein while concentrating on familiar songs not often covered by...]]>
Jesse Dayton https://illinoistimes.com/article-21665-jesse-dayton.html Jesse Dayton
 Talk about some guy who has done it all and keeps doing more, Jesse Dayton has lived the life of a bad-ass, guitar slingin’, rock ‘n’ roll, country singin’, gettin’ ‘round the town d...]]>
Shonen Knife https://illinoistimes.com/article-21650-shonen-knife.html Shonen Knife
 From humble beginnings in their hometown of Osaka, Japan, as a DIY, punk-pop-rock band back in 1981, this group of two sisters, Naoko (vocals, guitar) and Atsuko (bass, vocals), along with Risa...]]>
Dexter Anodyne and Greenhouse Opera https://illinoistimes.com/article-21620-dexter-anodyne-and-greenhouse-opera.html Dexter Anodyne and Greenhouse Opera
 A self-taught, artistically driven musician, proficient on several instruments, as well as an accomplished vocalist and songwriter, Dexter Anodyne gives it her all as she gives it all to produce...]]>
Samba Llamas https://illinoistimes.com/article-21611-samba-llamas.html Samba Llamas
From the desire to simply have fun making a local version of a Brazilian carnival street rhythm percussion ensemble back in 1997, this group has expanded to become a highly respected and appreciated c...]]>
Relativity https://illinoistimes.com/article-21576-relativity.html Relativity
 There’s nothing like making music with close relatives, an experience relished by Relativity, the Hofstrand family cover band from Rochester. With dad Damon on the drums and his sons Reese and...]]>
Doc Hollow https://illinoistimes.com/article-21568-doc-hollow.html Doc Hollow
 The original “Hollow” band around town, these guys started up in 2001 and played around the area for several years. Now about a decade after disbanding, fast friends and fellow musicians Ant...]]>
Tyler Daniel https://illinoistimes.com/article-21546-tyler-daniel.html Tyler Daniel
 This independent singer-songwriter in the rock and Americana field hails from some crazy, faraway place called Springfield, Illinois. Tyler has amassed a regular area following, commonly known a...]]>
Kasey Burton https://illinoistimes.com/article-21519-kasey-burton.html Kasey Burton
 This 20-year-old singer-songwriter and performing artist hails from Crawfordsville, Indiana, but she’s traveled far and wide on a wonderful and unfolding musical adventure. She decided at the...]]>
NCR https://illinoistimes.com/article-21481-ncr.html NCR
 This band lineup of Jessica Dooley (vocals, guitar), Chris Harris (bass, vocals), Allan Harris (guitar, vocals), Josh Hutchison (guitar, vocals) and Tim Lynn (drums) is tearing up the place wher...]]>
Johnny Burgin https://illinoistimes.com/article-21472-johnny-burgin.html Johnny Burgin
 Our blues friend, Johnny Burgin (he recently dropped the Rockin’), stops by for a one-night only local show on Friday, and we point that out because in the past, the artist formerly known as R...]]>
Live Wire https://illinoistimes.com/article-21445-live-wire.html Live Wire
 Originally formed by band mates Denny Lucas (guitars, keys, vocals) and Mike “Mouse” Bearup (guitars, vocals) in 1992 with Brian Smith, the latest members of the group, Bill Ward (bass, voca...]]>
Ross Sermons https://illinoistimes.com/article-21417-ross-sermons.html Ross Sermons
 A native of North Carolina, this rock-solid, deep-roots musician of the finest degree travels far and wide to make his music matter. Ross spent time in Nashville touring and recording with some...]]>
John Clifton Blues Band https://illinoistimes.com/article-21399-john-clifton-blues-band.html John Clifton Blues Band
 Where does one start to list the accomplishments of John Clifton in the world of blues music? During a career spanning 40 years of making music his life’s work, the vocalist, harmonica player,...]]>
Emily Hope https://illinoistimes.com/article-21389-emily-hope.html Emily Hope
 A true believer in the healing power of music, singer-songwriter Emily Hope feels her musical mission is to “inspire, encourage and enact change.” Armed with a ukulele and Martin guitar, as...]]>
JukeRox https://illinoistimes.com/article-21357-jukerox.html JukeRox
Calling themselves a “party rock cover band,” JukeRox indeed lives up to that calling with a striking set list of your favorite hits covering the genres of “rock, pop, hip-hop, country or heavy...]]>
Austin Meade https://illinoistimes.com/article-21347-austin-meade.html Austin Meade
This 25-year-old songwriting, guitar-slinger native of Austin from near the Texas Hill Country (now based in College Station, Texas), surely plays beyond his years. With a prescribed presence from the...]]>
Jamie and Lilly Merideth https://illinoistimes.com/article-21318-jamie-and-lilly-merideth.html Jamie and Lilly Merideth
 This father and daughter duo from the local music community are both gifted musicians and singers, blessed with powerful and emotive voices that blend with a special harmony reserved for family...]]>
Dan Hubbard https://illinoistimes.com/article-21303-dan-hubbard.html Dan Hubbard
 Hailing from Central Illinois and based up Bloomington-Normal way, singer-songwriter Dan Hubbard continues on his chosen path of a life in song with a new record called Attention. This one feeds...]]>
Secret Society ReUnion https://illinoistimes.com/article-21276-secret-society-reunion.html Secret Society ReUnion
 Plenty of previously popular local bands have reunited, but it’s hard to imagine a more anticipated and requested reunion than this one from Secret Society. The group started out bucking conte...]]>
Tav Falco’s Panther Burns https://illinoistimes.com/article-21253-tav-falco%25E2%2580%2599s-panther-burns.html Tav Falco’s Panther Burns
 Sometimes the word “legendary” gets tossed around a bit too lightly, but in the case of Tav Falco, no other word would do him justice. From the septuagenarian’s association with Alex Chilt...]]>
Wild Ponies with Doug and Telisha Williams https://illinoistimes.com/article-21227-wild-ponies-with-doug-and-telisha-williams.html Wild Ponies with Doug and Telisha Williams
 This engaging, married duo, long steeped in old-timey music with a rock ‘n’ roll attitude, put out Galax in 2017 to meld their Appalachian roots to a contemporary concept of happening music....]]>
Ghost Town Blues Band https://illinoistimes.com/article-21198-ghost-town-blues-band.html Ghost Town Blues Band
 On the move and in the groove since their inception, this “not your grandpa’s blues band” combines elements of funk, rock, New Orleans jazz, Memphis R & B and more to a solid blues-bas...]]>
Georgia Rae https://illinoistimes.com/article-21181-georgia-rae.html Georgia Rae
This young woman, who won seven state fiddle championship titles (Wisconsin, Illinois and Minnesota), five state twin fiddle champion titles (Minnesota and Colorado) and is the 2016 National Twin Fidd...]]>
Sushi Roll https://illinoistimes.com/article-21172-sushi-roll.html Sushi Roll
 Formed in Chicago in early 2012, this dance-pop-rock cover band is known for fun gigs and top-notch performances, all combined with theatrical costumes and musical characterizations. In other wo...]]>
Koe Wetzel https://illinoistimes.com/article-21147-koe-wetzel.html Koe Wetzel
 When this fiery group gets to kickin’ out the jams, look out below as the songs come crashing down like fallin’ rain on a hard-baked highway, Texas country style. Hailing from Stephenville i...]]>
Flatland Cavalry https://illinoistimes.com/article-21136-flatland-cavalry.html Flatland Cavalry
 Coming up from their hometown of Lubbock, Texas, home to several greats in the music business through the years, the Flatland Cavalry are rolling into town to take no prisoners as they proceed t...]]>
Kyle Glass Band https://illinoistimes.com/article-21100-kyle-glass-band.html Kyle Glass Band
 Raised on a hog farm outside of Springfield with classic country music as a life soundtrack, and now a retired U.S. Marine back home, Kyle Gass got into the performance side of music not that lo...]]>
Scott H. Biram https://illinoistimes.com/article-21088-scott-h-biram.html Scott H. Biram
Known as the Dirty Old One Man Band, Scott H. Biram plays by himself for anyone who will listen, and that’s been a lot of folks during his nearly two decades in professional music. From humble begin...]]>
Folk Family Revival https://illinoistimes.com/article-21058-folk-family-revival.html Folk Family Revival
 Around since 2010, this Houston-based quartet has taken their mix of a “rootsy stomp of the Southern states with the trippy swoon of the West Coast” across the country and back. They cite Bo...]]>